We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place near the sea front, friendl and welcoming”
Review of Caprera Hotel

Caprera Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caprera Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent place near the sea front, friendl and welcoming”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I came not really know what to expect and just hoped for a nice place to relax and recuperate from a busy life and I found it here in this tidy, welcoming guest house. It has everything needed at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToffeeMan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Six of us stayed for three nights using 4 rooms. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming, the rooms lovely and comfortable and clean and the breakfasts excellent. The B&B is very well situated for rail and bus and only a short walk to the High St, pier and beach. Everything was as advertised and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and will certainly stay there again should we return to the IOW.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carijoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The Caprera is very clean with a spacious dining room, pleasant lounge and very convenient to Sandown beach. We were warmly welcomed by the proprietors and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and evening meals were available if ordered in advance. Our room was very comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay there, so would recomend the Caprera to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 92Kingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed at the Caprera last weekend. It's a brilliant B&B in a perfect location only 2-3 mins to Sandown beach and the high street. You can catch the local buses to anywhere on the island, at the end of the road so it's great for none drivers. The accommodation was very clean-(changed towels everyday) you had everything you could ever need in your room t.v,fridge,tea & coffee facilites. If required a hairdryer and an iron plus the accommodation has parking which is great as you are so close to town. The owners are very friendly and helpful on giving tips on places to visit. The breakfast you receive is above and beyond the normal " Fantastic" is the only way to discribe it. The Caperera also gives you the opition of staying half board if you want. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here, our only regret was we didn't stay for longer.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powellsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

ground floor, windows locked closed, therefore no air at all, crack in [dirty] window , all mismatched furniture stained with cup rings, tacky paper doileys, not clean, one chair,[2 people] bedside light too dim to read by, discovered one 'bayonet' on the light bulb was missing, after ringing for attention 5 times in 2 hours, went out and bought a bulb.beds reasonably comfortable. Bathroom awful, you would have to be a size 4/6 to use the shower easily, nowhere to put sponge bags, tried to have a shower at 6.30, freezing cold water, no lavatory brush. No comment about the food as we were farmed out due to overbooking at the Riviera, so had all our meals and entertainment there, it just accentend what a dump the Caprera was. Never ever again!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank disappointedvisi2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

A lovely break to a super island, Sally and Graham get top marks from us for comfort, food and friendliness. Impressed by a great breakfast, the town and its shops a short walk and the beach very near, parking and great advice. Even got my Bongo checked for a rattle by the talented chef Graham for which many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerbird021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The Caprera is a brilliant B&B with an excellent service and warm and friendly welcome. The room was perfect with clean towels, only a minutes walk to town and the beach. The breakfast was delicious. This was our 3rd year staying with Sally and Graham and we will be returning next year for our annual break. There is nothing bad to say about the Caprera.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam_danter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprera Hotel

Property: Caprera Hotel
Address: 9 Melville Street, Sandown PO36 8LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
Hotel Class:4 star — Caprera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Caprera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing