We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Caprera Hotel

Caprera Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caprera Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We received a warm welcome, were very comfortable in our extremely clean rooms, and had a great breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach, and with private parking at the hotel we were free to explore the area at our leisure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Good location, 5mins away to the beach and train station. The funitures are old but very clean, beautiful rooms! I like the staffs, thay are very very friendly. The breakfast was nice

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Seafood S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Caprera for a one night mini break. We felt really comfortable, the double room was bright and big enough for the two of us, and breakfast was delicious (and made to order)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavnorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed at the Caprera for a week for our honeymoon. Warm welcome, and very nice spacious room, with a view of the sea in the distance. Having a mini fridge in our room was a useful extra as it was very hot weather and it was good to have somewhere to chill drinks. We were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. I had very specific dietary requirements which they were able to cater for very well, even giving me alternative choices for the evening meal that were not offered to everyone else. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2005webble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed in the family room, It was myself, my mum and my 3 year old daughter. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and were very pleased with our room, it was clean spacious and we were provided with towels shampoo and tea, coffee and biscuits... which made it feel that little bit more homely.
Amazing breakfast with a wide choice of cereal fruit juice and toast and cooked. My daughter was made to feel very welcome and was very taken with the owner Sally.
It is definately the only place I will be staying when I plan to return next year :)
Thank you for making our trip that bit more.....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We first stayed here three years ago and have been comming back time after time, we love the b & b, very friendly staff and the food is marvelous

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leon_crewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We booked late so wern't sure what to expect. Pleasantly surprised - lovely welcome and friendly hosts. Breakfast was very good and a good choice of food which was good quality. The room was very small but as we had booked late and only wanted it for one night this worked out fine. Only difficulty was a very small bathroom and shower which both required some logical thinking to be able to use and close doors - all in all would stay here again

Room Tip: Not room 2 - quiet but tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprera Hotel

Property: Caprera Hotel
Address: 9 Melville Street, Sandown PO36 8LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
Hotel Class:4 star — Caprera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Caprera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing