We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caprera Hotel

Caprera Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caprera Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I'd say this was a large B and B rather than a hotel but saying that it was lovely. The lady that greeted us was great, wasn't bothered by the mud we brought in and helped our friend with bus times. She offered us breakfast at a time to suit us and it was really nice. The room was big and very comfy. The furnishing were not modern but that isn't what matters to me. It was clean tidy and had everything we needed. Would defiantly say there again as made to feel very welcome. Thank you.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed there for a weekend in October. Very pleased with our choice. Very charming place, with a 2-3 min walk to the seafront. Our room was clean, comfortable, cosy, with a bit of a seaview in a distance. The lady was very friendly.
The parking could be tricky during high season, the hotel only has 2 parking spaces unless you block the other 2 cars in front.
The breakfast was nice, however a few healthy options like a salad would be a welcome addition.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay in the Caprera hotel and feel that it’s good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is what good service and hospitality is all about. Lovely friendly proprietors providing an excellent service. Clean and comfortable rooms. Good variety of well cooked breakfast items. Go here. You will enjoy it!

Room Tip: Just ask for advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

... more like a B&B, and a very nice one at that.
No complaints, it was clean, the friendly lady owner was very helpful, the room was clean, etc.
We had a family room - not huge huge in size, with a smallish shower, but perfectly adequate with plenty of pllows, a nice bunk bed for the kids and tea/coffee with biscuits.
The sash windows were a bit difficult to open, the curtains were not blackout curtains, but these are all minor details.
Breakfast was totally fine too - I had my 4 cups of coffee and there was a reasonably good sellection of cereals, some fruits, yoghurt etc. as well as a properly cooked English breakfast selection (with some good choices, such as scrambled egg with salmon).
Would highly recommend this place and would definitely stay again if on the IOW in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doistujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We booked this Hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Our first impressions from the outside were rather mixed as the gardens are slightly overgrown and parking looked to be limited. These impressions continued as we were ushered into the lounge with its huge jukebox in one corner together with a life size pot great dane. Here the negatives ended. The welcome was very warm, keys were given out and we were shown to our room. The cleanliness was absolutely excellent, the bed was big and comfortable. A flat screen tv with FreeView and small fridge were provided as was coffee/tea making equipment. The shower room was also extremely clean (if rather small) and the shower was efficient and simple to use. There were fresh towels every day.
The Hotel is close to the beach, town centre and bus routes and in spite of our initial reservations parking was not a problem.
Two other commendations: the breakfasts were superbly cooked and featured free range eggs and locally produced bacon, sausages etc. Smoked salmon was offered as an option. Secondly the hosts made you feel at home and were friendly without being obtrusive.
A final point: although the establishment is billed as a hotel we felt it more suited to be classified as a guest house.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

For our trip to the Isle of Wight last month my wife pre-selected several hotels as possible place to stay. The first that we came to was the Caprera “Hotel” - plaase note the use of quote marks. We arrived outside, looked inside, then left to look elsewhere.

May I immediately say that in no way, particularly as not having stayed there, am I able to comment let alone judge the standards of food and service – but I can definitely say that the Caprera is not in any stretch of the imagination a HOTEL as it obviously lacks not only in size but also in the facilities that are expected by that term.

If you want a Bed & Breakfast or a Guest House then the Caprera is in all probability as good, maybe even better, than most of it’s competitors – but to term itself a HOTEL is not fair even to itself let alone it’s potential customers! As a B&B it quite possible deserves high marks, but as it is said to be a hotel my marking is as a hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We received a warm welcome, were very comfortable in our extremely clean rooms, and had a great breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach, and with private parking at the hotel we were free to explore the area at our leisure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprera Hotel

Property: Caprera Hotel
Address: 9 Melville Street, Sandown PO36 8LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
Hotel Class:4 star — Caprera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Caprera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing