We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little getaway!”
Review of Caprera Hotel

Caprera Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caprera Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely little getaway!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, as part of a little birthday get away to the IOW. We picked Caprera for it's location - really close to the train station and bus stops to all the other towns near by, so it was super easy to get to.
On arrival - the rooms were really bright and clean and the greeting from Sally very warm and welcoming. The showers are piping hot and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Sally and Graham also cook up a mean breakfast for you each morning, making anything you fancy. The full english is the perfect cure to a hangover!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Caprera. The owners, Sally and Graham were very friendly and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed with a flat screen TV, hairdryer and generous Tea & Coffee making facilities, including biscuits every day. Fresh towels were provided daily. As others have commented the breakfast was superb with a good range of juices, yogurts, fresh fruit, cereals and a variety of cooked breakfasts which could be tailored to your dietary needs. Plenty of real coffee and tea available too along with toast and preserves. The rail station, sea front and bus stops were all within a few minutes walk and the hotel is located in a quiet street. We would certainly return again and would have no hesitation in recommending this to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Sally and Graham are so very friendly and helpful that you know as soon as you arrive you have made a very good choice. Close proximity to walks, beach, restaurants and entertainment. For the start of the day you are offered a breakfast that is the best we have had even from 5 star establishments - unfortunately Graham never did reveal his secrets on eggs!! We will certainly be returning. A big thankyou to both of you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddy2Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiO
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last minute, booked through hotels.com. The room was bright and clean. The owners are very nice and welcoming. Great breakfast! It's just a good B&B!
I would certainly stay here again! The only problem is that everywhere closes early and there is a lack of choice for food.. Be prepared!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We have enjoyed our stay very much. The owners of this guest house are very kind and did take the time for a chat. The room is neat with good fascilities like a flatscreen TV and free WIFI. The bathroom was good, but a little small.
We appreciated the freshly cooked breakfast. We got the choice for fried egg, scrambled egg or boiled egg and were able to order a full English breakfast every day. It was all in the price, which was very acceptable.
We liked the beautiful old house and it is very well situated: close to the railway station and 3 minutes to walk to the beach.
I hardly have negative things about this guest house. Maybe some hints to make this the most perfect place to stay: the bed were a bit rigid and we missed a good towel rack in the bathroom. That's all!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 232Janneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We only stayed for one night but found the owners friendly but intrusive. The bedroom was small and the shower/toilet room very small but perfectly adequate!
Everything was absolutely spotless, the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was good!
Overall good value, comfortable and we would happily recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0brussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have just returned from Isle of Wight, where I spent three nights at Caprera. The location is good, close to the beach, three bus-stops are nearby and the High Street is also on walking distance.

The owners were very kind and helpful. Our breakfasts there were excellent. The house itself seems to be from the Thirties but maintained in excellent condition and the original style has been preserved.

Our room was spacious and there was a fridge. Every evening when we returned we saw the room spotlessly clean and new towels were provided. We also got a hairdryer.

I recommend Caprera to everyone planning to visit the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Branimir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
756 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprera Hotel

Property: Caprera Hotel
Address: 9 Melville Street, Sandown PO36 8LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
Hotel Class:4 star — Caprera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Caprera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing