We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WARM, FRIENDLY & PROFESSIONAL SERVICE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caprera Hotel

Caprera Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caprera Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WARM, FRIENDLY & PROFESSIONAL SERVICE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived and were welcomed by the owner Sally, who immediately put us at ease and showed us a fantastic , well presented, clean and spacious room with ensuite. Her husband helped with carrying our luggage (I am six foot four and not lacking) even though I said it wasn't a problem. They were there if you needed them otherwise they were pleasantly away giving you a sense of space and freedom.
Breakfast was plentiful and served in a lavish room with all the trimmings and a very pleasant and welcoming lady who assisted the owners.
We will definitely be going back and also highly recommend it.
Thank you.
The Davies Family
(Northamptonshire)

Room Tip: It is a Victorian property and hence all the rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAROLD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just spent a few days at the caprera, i have to say say its a great place, the staff are fab, they cannot do enough for you, the room we had was very spacious , although the ensuite was a little small but ok, our room was made up everyday, including fresh towels, very comfy bed, flat screen tv and a kettle in the room,
Breakfast was fantastic, loads of choice and you don't leave hungry.
Cannot fault it.

Room Tip: We had room 3 it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We have just had 4 nights here and we were very well looked after, warm and comfortable rooms, really friendly and helpful owners. The breakfasts were top quality and plenty of choice. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vsdallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous stay here last weekend. Close to local amenities and right by a bus stop (we were travelling on public transport for our weekend away...). Comfy room and bed, friendly hosts, lovely breakfast - what more could you want? Will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of the border
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Family run hotel, with friendly and helpful staff, clean throughout and serving a good breakfast.
Handy for the 10 min walk to the beach, plenty of parking, several on the property.
Would revisit.
Enjoy the jukebox!!

Room Tip: We were happy with what we were given, diferent people have different needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This Guest House has a very good rating and having stayed there for a short break I can understand why so many have posted favourable reviews. The owners are extremely helpful and the breakfasts that they serve are excellent. The coffee is as good as others that I have tasted in European cities. The en-suite bedroom is relatively small but well equipped with coffee and tea and a small fridge available. The Guest House is a 5 minute walk from the beach and has free car parking. Therefore on balance, this is a great 'Value for Money' Guest House

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

stayed for three nights over the august bank holiday lovely clean room with comfy bed . excellent freshly cooked breakfast each morning . the guesthouse is in a fab location near to the sea side , shops and places to eat . the bus stop is just down the road .thank you sally we had a lovely time . would we stay again yyyyyyyeeeeeeessssssssss

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wes h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprera Hotel

Property: Caprera Hotel
Address: 9 Melville Street, Sandown PO36 8LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
Hotel Class:4 star — Caprera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caprera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing