We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A Home from Home"”
Review of Denewood Hotel

Denewood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denewood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed at the Denewood Hotel over several years and would not hesitate to recommend it, or indeed stay there again. Our stay is usually around two weeks at a time and we find it an ideal base to tour the island from, whilst also being handy for the beach and shops. It is family run and the food is excellent with ample choices. Our hosts could not be more helpful with nothing being much trouble and we certainly felt very much at home.

Room Tip: We have stayed both in Family and Double rooms,all being excellent, although situated close to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank M1056HFWilliam_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here recently on a short break to the isle of Wight and would highly recommend we stayed in a family room which was clean, spacious and very reasonable, the owner's are very friendly and could not have been more acconodating , and breakfast was very tasty with an excellent selection to choose from

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pembles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My first visit to the Island and I hope to return soon to this friendly and very clean hotel. The breakfasts are amazing - lovely bacon :))
It was hot during my stay and a roof/wall/table fan would have helped the stuffy nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for the IOW festival. Lovely clean hotel, very quiet yet one minute away from sea, high street shops and buses. Excellent service from friendly owners and the most delicious breakfast! Would bring my kids here next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Only stayed one night but wish it could have been longer. Very quiet room looking over the garden and fish pond. Room perfectly clean and good size. Breakfast was good and the welcome was very nice too. Great hotel at a good price

Room Tip: We had room 15 - 4 poster bed very comfortable and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrieswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

the people running it are very friendly, only problem I have with the hotel is breakfast being very early and restricted. it's available from 8:30 to 9 even during weekends, I do have to point out that I was 20 minutes late one of the days and they waited for us.

location is good, I didn't find nearby beach that nice, Ventnor is much nicer and it's not too far away by car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Denewood for two nights and enjoyed our stay. Rate was reasonable, bed was comfortable and breakfast was plentiful but just lacked that special B&B personal touch...

The room: Small but comfortable for the most part. At the end of the day, the room had full sun which made the room very hot and uncomfortable, otherwise just fine. Else: good tv with many channel options, good coffee/tea set up, free wireless internet. Shower: water pressure rather weak and stall small.

Breakfast: Served during a limited window (8:30 - 9AM I think). Multiple menu options and ordered the night before. Good, hot and cooked to order. Full English breakfast was good and VERY filling. Also had selected serve yourself cereals.

Hospitality: Unexpected at a B&B, the owners were just not very friendly or overtly hospitable. We were loaned a phone (since our US phone did not work) to call some local pals which was VERY nice. However, the hosts/owners never introduced themselves or told us their names. After checkin, we realized we were never told about the times for breakfast so had to hunt that down. When asked questions or when we would engage them, the hosts were very nice and responded pleasantly, etc but for the most part they were quiet and distant. They are hosting lots of school children every week and we suspect the owners are just burnt out and need a break from being so busy! I hope they get some time to "refresh and re-energize" before the summer season!

Other parts of the hotel: The advertised bar area and outside patio were closed both days we were there -- no explanation. There was a lovely front room where we hung out one night waiting for the sun to go down (and bed room to cool off) which was very nice. Convenient parking area in front.

Location: convenient to the buses, close to the beach and downtown Sandown.

All in all, a good stay but not really memorable or particularly "special". Would recommend Shanklin hands down over Sandown...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westfield
The Westfield
#4 of 31 in Sandown
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denewood Hotel

Address: 7 Victoria Road, Sandown PO36 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: £73 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denewood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denewood is located moments away from Sandown’s beautiful blue flag beach, bustling esplanade and pier.This family run hotel extends a warm and friendly welcome to all our guests. We have excellent standards of customer care with comfortable surroundings & home cooked meals. Our licensed bar provides the ideal meeting place for family and friends and leads on to the court yard garden, where you can enjoy your drinks while the sun goes down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Denewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denewood Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing