We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place for a lone traveller....in the middle of DSS central..”
Review of Friends Hotel

Friends Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friends Hotel
Ranked #27 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a place for a lone traveller....in the middle of DSS central..”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

On arrival you are greeted by Paul. He seemed nice enough although this was the last time I saw him throughout my stay, in fact it was the last time I saw anyone. Despite it being peak season, I was the only person staying there over a 3 day period. The bar was closed. It was creepy and felt like I was in isolation. I did not feel safe going outside for a cigarette in the evening. There was NO staff around any of the evenings I stayed. Absolute hell. Plastic sheets on the beds???? Why??? Very dated. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Our five day stay at the friends Hotel was a very pleasant experience at a good value for money price. We were part of a coach party joining from many different pick up points and though arriving after a long journey, we were received in a very friendly manner and dinner was first class. This theme continued throughout our stay. We would be prepared to use this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidpagdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The four of us really enjoyed our stay, our rooms were on the ground floor near the bar but this was not a problem. The food was good, and was catered for well (i'm a vegi) the location is ideal away from the narrow streets of the seafront but near enough to walk to the pier and seafront bars.The train station is practically on the doorstep if you want to explore. Last but not least the Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble " thanks for the roast potatoes" Would love to come here again

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobirkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed with a group of 30 people as part of our Cricket Club tour of the island. We travelled with 11 teenage boys, 2 toddlers, mums, dads & a grandmother and finding hotels to suit everyone can be difficult. After last year's experience at the Tarvic 2 Hotel in Sandown, some of us were a bit wary of staying at another budget hotel and a poor review on this site did put one or two off.
However, the hotel proved to be perfect for us. The manager was friendly, welcoming and bent over backwards to help us out. Entertainment was provided to suit our needs and the bar / dancefloor was a great size to accomodate our group. Meals were simple, hot and tasty. Rooms were a good size, clean and airy. Decor and furniture were a little outdated, but we rarely spent any time in the bedrooms and everything worked OK. Location was quiet and peaceful and only 10 minutes stroll to the beach. We shall be back next summer for another cricket tour and look forward to staying with Paul and his family again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Des W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My 2 sisters and i stayed at this hotel 19/07/10 and really enjoyed our stay.The manager and staff worked really hard and nothing was too much trouble.We had a brilliant room at the front of the hotel that was huge for 3 of us.
The food we reaceived was of a simple nature but pleanty of choice and the acompanying vegetables were delicious.
The hotel was about ten minutes to get to the beach and an easy stroll

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara50Warrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2010

second holiday on the isle of wight, first stay at the friends hotel, wish we'd stayed here last year, brilliant family run hotel safe enviroment for children. nothing to much trouble,meals all large portions all fresh good quality food, loads of choices, loved the accomadation .comfy big rooms with comfy beds,en-suite with lovely shower, cleaned daily great not to have to make mine and the kids beds. had great weather loads to do on the island,cant wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hands33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This review is in response to a previous one describing the hotel as 'Run down, outdated and unclean.'
I too was part of the school trip and having had experience of taking school children away for several years, compared to other accommodation that we have used the hotel was perfectly adequate for our purpose. There were a few concerns that needed addressing but these were dealt with straight away. The shower problem was solved by staggering the amount of children showering and showing them how to find the required temperature. Slot machines were in the bar area only and were not for the general use of the children or adults during our visit. Televisions and fridges were stored in a room at the front of the hotel and were only vissible during meal times because there was a lack of storage elsewhere; this was not a concern and certainly not a threat to the general safety of the children. We found that a few of the bunk beds needed tightening up; again these were dealt with immediately. There were no complaints from the children as they had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. In fact
some of their diaries state that they found the food absolutely delicious. On our last night the proprietor of the hotel held a disco. The children had so much fun that they are still talking about it today. This disco was not a profit making exercise for the hotel and the selling of sweets was a little bonus - a treat at the end of a memorable time.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emlc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
Cygnet Hotel
Cygnet Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sandown
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 52 in Shanklin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Hotel

Property: Friends Hotel
Address: 8 Hill Street, Sandown PO36 9DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Friends Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Friends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friends Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing