We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after”
Review of Friends Hotel

Friends Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friends Hotel
Ranked #27 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

was well looked after during my stay but rooms feeling dated and could do with updating

about a ten minute walk from the beach, two minute taxi ride, bar in the hotel, well stocked, perfect

would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Coach driver had to take our dinner order because we would be arriving after 6.00pm.
Room was small but clean. Likewise the bathroom was small but adequate. If you are of a slightly large build, I think you would have trouble actually getting into the shower cubicle. The food was very good and plentiful. Breakfast was ordered the night before and dinner was ordered at breakfast. It seemed to work very well! Apart from a couple of Basil Fawlty moments, we had a good time. Beer selection in the bar was not very good. O.K. if you drink lager or are not a real ale person. Although bearing in mind the size of the bar I suppose it wasn't too bad at all. Our room looked out over the courtyard where smokers could go and sit in comfort and have a ciggy, but could get a bit noisy late evening when bed time comes around. The ornamental pond was a lovely shade of green (slime). All in all you get what you pay for and I think we got a bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

When arriving at the Friends Hotel after a very long day travelling on coach we was greeted by Paul and staff (who was very welcoming). The room was very spacious and very clean. The food was ok very well cooked not always to my liking. The evening entertainment was definately good with virtual horse racing and bingo. There was an issue with my shower when i was there however i was able to ask Paul to sort this and he was very attentive and sorted the problem out almost straight away. I would definately recommend staying here as i would definately go again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tezney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed for one night made very welcome by Paul when we arrived.
Room was comfortable and clean.
Breakfast order taken on arrival which certainly speeded things up in the morning.
Would most certainly stay again and would certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

went to isle of wight on a coach holiday with a friend from work, stayed at the friends hotel,had a fab time, staff, food, and entertainment were just brill,met a great crowd and had a good laugh.hope to go back next year, thanks to Dave the DJ for the kareoke and race night ( i won twice) and to paul for pulling the pints, we went on the 12 september and the weather was lovely too from michelle and wendy, sheffield and chesterfield.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was damp with wallpaper coming away from the wall in the bedroom and black mould on the bathroom ceiling - the shower didn't work until the 3rd day we were there and there was no heating on for anyone. Mould around window frames as the condensation was appalling- we were cold all the time and the beds felt damp.We sat in semi darkness for 3 hours the first night as the mananger wouldn't come and put a new light bulb in until he had finished washing up he said and then it was done with such bad grace as if we were being a nuisance for bothering him. My sister and I are vegetarians and their idea of veggie food was a quiche with gravy poured over it -yuk. Breakfast was the only decent meal although all meals were generous portions. The bar was loud and they kept the fire door between the bedrooms and the bar open playing loud music which kept us awake until nearly 1 o'clock in the morning one night. It was also further than advertised to walk to the seafront. We spent all of our time out so as not to be cold and we even ate out sometime to avoid dinner. It was like a time warp as it was so dated - like a fifties holiday camp. I have always been prepared to make do on holiday as you can't expect it to be like home but this was truly awful and I would not stay there again if it was free and I was driven there in a rolls royce.

Room Tip: Believe bedrooms upstairs were cold but not damp
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
6  Thank mazcure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It started as soon as we walked through the door,
owner Paul and his staff carried our bags up to our room,nice and comfy they were.
nice view over the garden,the rooms were on suite,food and entertainment fantastic bingo horse racing music music music...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dereklcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Hotel

Address: 8 Hill Street, Sandown PO36 9DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Friends Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Friends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friends Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing