We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malvern Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wight(Sandown)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wight Bay Hotel(Sandown)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Caprera Hotel(Sandown)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
23
39
18
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
39
18
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree choicesbreakfast and dinnersandown high streetclean hotellovely beachsea frontfirst floorentertainmentobliginglyryde
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

the hotel is really in need of a makover, it is so old fashioned with ornaments and pictures everywhere mis match of old cheap furniture. The food is plentiful but not of a good quality but served hot and by plesant staff. The bar prices are very cheap for a hotel (bottle of Bud £1.50 gin & tonic £2). We stayed Mon-Fri and never had our room cleaned or towels changed (the hotel operates with minimum staff) if you want a clean towel it is a £1 charge which I found a bit bizarre. There isn't a lift and some rooms are up 4 flights of quite steep stairs, I suppose if it was refurbished and had more staff and quality food it would no longer be £15 a night.

Room Tip: if you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor room as no lift in the hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Just returned from a 5 day coach trip staying at the Malvern Hotel.Had read reviews prior to our visit and to be honest I do not know what those complaining are going on about. Its a nice family run hotel.You get very good value for money.Some have said the food is basic. Well we were offered choices of Roast beef,Gammon,,Roast Chicken,Cottage Pie,Steak Pie and Fish and Chips. All good size portions and choice of 3 for each course. Someone mouned about having to order meals in advance. Can not see a problem.Just marked down at breakfast meal for evening and vice versa. This took seconds and service was quick due to waiters knowing exactly everyones requirements.Drinks from the Bar were very reasonable. Beer 1.50 and wine 5.00 a bottle. If you want 5 Star service go elsewhere and pay a great deal more.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertDNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is low cost
If you want a basic clean hotel with helpful and friendly staff The Malvern is ideal
The bar prices are excellent value
A bottle of house wine for £5 and spirits for £2. The food is also very good
It is family run and the staff go the extra mile

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blacklockjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Spent a weekend aat the Malven hotel,ignore the horrible reviews its great.The owners and staff,were all friend;y,owe room was clean,the beds comfortable.The food was very good with plenty of choice and large potions.The entertainment was great. we all had a fab weekend,go there and try it. Mrs P.Sussex

Room Tip: IDon't go there excepting five stars for budget money ,its a very nice hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Anyone reading the previous review would rightly feel uncertain about this hotel---IGNORE IT--this is a lovely hotel--old fashioned-yes but it feels nice and homely---the food is exceptional both in quality,quantity and choice. The Mrs's Patels are very welcoming and we found no problems whatsoever---My biggest compliment would be that they have a hotel that is as the title suggests--a little piece of England---there are an amazing range of ornaments and pictures on display which is "quirky" in a really nice way--there is a statue of Ganesh, the Hindu elepant God near the reception which adds to the quirkiness--This is not a 5 star hotel on paper but the quality we found was of 5 star standard.
The only "disappointment " was entertainment on only one night--saying that however that entertainment was super--we saw Andrew Van Day--he is a gem---if you get a chance to see him-do so--he is a great entertainer.
It is true that the majority of the guests are older--myself and my partner are both 49 and were the youngest by some 5-10 years, but this didn't matter--they were a great bunch.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor room as no lift --we were in room 3--absolutely fine for our needs---i have mobility issues and this room was perfect for me
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews