We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good cheapy 5 days.”
Review of Malvern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malvern Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2013

we spent a good cheapy 5 days at the Malvern was not the Hilton but the bed linen beds and room were clean and comfortable. cleaned daily with tea and coffee milk included, breakfast was a very good assorted cereals, toast, fresh orange. full English, very good, evening meal was always a choice a very good chef they have and a variety of homemade puddings ranging from jam roly poly apple pie etc, all served with fresh custard or cheese and biscuits, a choice of salads were always an option. the staff very helpful courteous and very friendly service amazing the two waitresses were very hard workers, so all in all comparing the price I could not give the Malvern less than 10 out of 10, for the price paid and always has to be taken and considered,

Room Tip: any room is quite and comfortable again don't expect the Hilton at these very reasonable prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

the malvern hotel is situated in a great place as it isn't too far from the local amenities, the staff were friendly enough, but on some occasions the bar was closed at night, the place needed a good makeover but nether the less was clean, the meals were basic but very nice

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We have just return from a five day break at The Malvern and would just like to say what a lovely place to stay, the room was clean and the service very good. There was entertainment on two nights, a comedian/vocalist was really good had a great time. The food was very good and plentiful bar prices were excellent. We would almost certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have just returned from the malvern hotel sandown iow and would like to say what a great place to stay. Good value for money, spotlessly clean and very good service. The staff were brilliant, very accomodating, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and plenty of choice at evening meal times, breakfast was very good and the waitresses were really nice. We travelled with ' travel style' and our driver and courier baz and julie were great they were very good and again nothing was too much trouble. All in all the whole trip was good value for money.

Lynn and dave(room 15)brid east yorks

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandlsheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Had five days holiday with travelstyle enjoyed this break, staff very helpful,food good enjoyed trips,the price was excellent would go there again.Thanks to Baz and Julie our travelstyle driver and tour guide.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnb1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Me and my husband have just returned from a 5 day break to this hotel which was booked through Travelstyle coaches. Having read a few negative reviews prior to going we were a bit anxious but we were very pleased at the treatment we recieved. The beds were clean and comfy. The room was tidied every day. The tea and coffee was replenished daily as well. Although you had to do your own toast in the mornings which was no hardship,you had a choice of a full english breakfast plus cereals and fruit juice. The 3 course evening meal was plentiful,you never went away hungry and the food was always hot. Also the bar prices were very good and well stocked. We had 2 nights of entertainment including a very good comedian who had us in stitches. For what the holiday cost us it was very good value for money and we would readily go back again. For the people who always find something to moan about if you are not paying 5 star money dont expect 5 star accommadation.

Room Tip: We were in room 18 and although the room is at the front of the hotel we wasnt disturbed by traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camper5nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

the hotel is really in need of a makover, it is so old fashioned with ornaments and pictures everywhere mis match of old cheap furniture. The food is plentiful but not of a good quality but served hot and by plesant staff. The bar prices are very cheap for a hotel (bottle of Bud £1.50 gin & tonic £2). We stayed Mon-Fri and never had our room cleaned or towels changed (the hotel operates with minimum staff) if you want a clean towel it is a £1 charge which I found a bit bizarre. There isn't a lift and some rooms are up 4 flights of quite steep stairs, I suppose if it was refurbished and had more staff and quality food it would no longer be £15 a night.

Room Tip: if you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor room as no lift in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Hotel

Address: 18-20 Leed Street, Sandown PO36 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: £28 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Malvern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Malvern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvern Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing