We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good honest hotel”
Review of Malvern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malvern Hotel
Ranked #28 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good honest hotel”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you are looking for a a good clean hotel ,nice staff ,a comfortable very clean bed with top of the range pillows ,a home cooked meal with very high standards ,and choice ,give this hotel a try ,alright the decor perhaps needs sorting out but the food and bed are more important to me than the decoration .it was with just go holidays last weekend that we found ourselves in the Malvern Hotel ,a cheap and cheerful break ,we did get our moneys worth at this hotel I must say we had a lovely break thanks to the Malvern ,we have had a lot worse service in many other hotels ,so give them a try

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EB1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    37
    17
    16
    14
See reviews for
10
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
needingworth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

First impressions weren't good, but after settling in we found that we prejudged the hotel, yes it needs some refurbishing, too many pictures, too many ornaments, carpets worn but the bedrooms were warm, bed linen spotless as was the bathroom food was excellent and plentiful staff were more than helpful and very obliging and the entertainment was first class. I think that after some positive refurbishment this could be a nice hotel to which I would return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Don't expect to much from this hotel although the food in general was acceptable our coach driver ate out every night but in all honestly it was not that bad. there is no lift and the stairs are rather steep and the décor needed doing from top to bottom but everywhere was clean. the bar was very cheap but you had to ring a bell to get service that was annoying, the waitresses were polite and pleasant but the owners were never seen. We had three different prices for the same holiday so I suggest you shop around.

Room Tip: three floors with no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canveyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked this as a long weekend through Just go Holidays. On arrival we were greeted by a happy friendly member of staff, The rooms were clean and comfortable, the décor i would say was a bit tired and needs a coat of revamp but like i said before it was clean and comfortable, the bar was very cheap, the meals were good for the price we paid. We were offered a packed lunch at a cost of £3, very good value . a drink, sandwich, crisps, kit kat, banana and small sponge cake. On departure the manager was at the door to wave us goodbye.( nice old fashioned touch )We would go back to this Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The rooms were of average standard and the whole hotel is a little old fashioned. It has a bar and snooker table but apart from that he entertainment was bland. Going with travelstyle the coach driver Barry was not very useful and was quite rude when we were asking questions. The family who run the hotel too did not seem that friendly although the kitchen service staff were great. Overall, would not visit this hotel again, five days was enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

we spent a good cheapy 5 days at the Malvern was not the Hilton but the bed linen beds and room were clean and comfortable. cleaned daily with tea and coffee milk included, breakfast was a very good assorted cereals, toast, fresh orange. full English, very good, evening meal was always a choice a very good chef they have and a variety of homemade puddings ranging from jam roly poly apple pie etc, all served with fresh custard or cheese and biscuits, a choice of salads were always an option. the staff very helpful courteous and very friendly service amazing the two waitresses were very hard workers, so all in all comparing the price I could not give the Malvern less than 10 out of 10, for the price paid and always has to be taken and considered,

Room Tip: any room is quite and comfortable again don't expect the Hilton at these very reasonable prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

the malvern hotel is situated in a great place as it isn't too far from the local amenities, the staff were friendly enough, but on some occasions the bar was closed at night, the place needed a good makeover but nether the less was clean, the meals were basic but very nice

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sandown
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Hotel

Property: Malvern Hotel
Address: 18-20 Leed Street, Sandown PO36 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Malvern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Malvern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvern Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing