We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our holiday in sandown”
Review of Malvern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malvern Hotel
Ranked #28 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“our holiday in sandown”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

just returned from the malvern and found former reviews a little harsh our room room 6 was very clean the bedding spotless plenty of beverages in room the owners and staff were very helpful and friendly couldnt ask for more hotel in good location the food was hot and served promptly and was very nice full english to die for yum yum will be returning sorry to leave from ann and christine a big thank you for an enjoyable experience

Room Tip: our room was in the back and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mammyevans2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    37
    17
    16
    15
See reviews for
10
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

just returned from this hotel and after reading some of the reviews i was a bit apprehensive. when we got there the staff were there to greets us and took our cases to our rooms. the rooms were very clean and presentable.the food was very nice and always hot and served quickly to us. nothing was to much trouble for the staff..although the bar only sold cans of beer they were only 1.50 each.i would defiantly book to go again. mr mrs thomas swansea.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

just returned from The Malvern after a long weekend. We were a little worried by the reviews but we always take things with a pinch of salt anyway...
The Hotel - ok so it's not my cup of tea decor wise...so what! it's their home/business and they can decorate it how they like... our room was clean and the bed was comfy...all you need really.
The breakfast and dinner room and all communal areas were clean although it is a bit dated...again...who cares? I have stayed in the Hilton before and can honestly say it was cleaner at the Malvern!
The Food - dinners were hot and filling, more than adequate. Its not a restaurant, youre paying a good cheap price for meals...youre not going to get fillet steak. I had a chicken salad one day which was delicious and HUGE! Breakfast was great...lots of choice. we also had a packed lunch for £3...bargain! fruit, sandwich, drink, cake, choc bar and crisps. The bar is VERY cheap...they dont try to rip you off as I find in most hotels :)
The staff - We found the staff very friendly and helpful as well as the lady owner...didnt see/speak to her husband so cant comment on him.

we were more than happy with everything particularly as it is so cheap...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aslkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

more fresh food staff hardly around in daytime staff fast at taking pots away at mealtimes having to use cuterly for more than 1 course not hygenic no wifi nice room you get what you pay for not good on entertaiment

Room Tip: 2 on groud floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neilsmedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A have just returned from was supposed to be a nice little break between Christmas and new year, but really disgusted and shocked my upsetting experience while at the Malvern Hotel in Sandown, I.O.W. It started ok, after checking in and going to your room to find twin beds instead of a double no problem just pull them together, there was black mould behind the bed down to the floor, in the morning there was condensation on the windows which were double glazed but aren't any more.

I suppose the only good thing about the place was the bar, It was very cheap a Gin & Tonic £2.00 the bottle of Bud £1.50 as an example, but cluttered far to many ornaments all over the place, too many pictures, carpets worn and very old furniture, there are china nick knacks everywhere, every piece of furniture in the room was different, nothing matched & it looked like it had all come from charity shops, also plastic /silk flowers that are covered in dust - why???.
The Malvern is in need of a good clear-out there's loads of ornaments that are just catching dust. Clearing these would make the place look so much nicer. Overall the hotel is desperately in need of a compete overall, it is tired, very dated & in need of a deep clean from top to bottom.

In the dinning room when did anybody serve just one knife & fork for starters and main course and staff taking food to tables wore green nail varnish (which could chip and contaminate food).

In a more serious issue was the fact that a high number of guests over the few days tripped on a slopping floor, (it was an accident waiting to happen) and on the last day it happened. resulting in one female guest going though a glass door and need of urgent medical attention!! But all the staff just froze, no one knew what to do first. eventually an Ambulance was called. (Almost for certain the door was not fitted with the legal requirement of Toughened Glass/safety Glass BS56206) that should be in all "Critical Locations" (i.e. glass doors and windows lower than 800mm from floor level).
Under RIDDOR the reporting of injuries, Dangerous occurrences Regulations they have report this to HSE within 3 days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cricketman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just had a 3 day New Years break at Malvern hotel, while we knew the hotel was tired, our ground floor room was very clean with a comfortable bed... The shower was a bit pathetic . The staff were very nice. The food was terrible, we were asked what choice of dinner we wanted in the morning and I think they went to a local supermarket and raided the freezer cabinets, as we had frozen potatoes, frozen mixed veg 3 nights New Year's Eve gala meal was a choice of salad ,cottage pie ( from the freezer) or a piece of chicken with frozen veg.... And jam rolly-poly for sweet. Must say at this point breakfast was ok, a choice of toast and cereal, orange juice and full English, which was lovely.
Entertainment was ok on 30th and 31st dec, but newyears day was none existent . Would not reccommend ...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My sister and her husband having just spent a few days at the Malvern Hotel Sandown I.O.W.were shocked and disgusted by the following: Room 12 mould behind the bed down to the floor,inadequate warm bedding,very old furniture not fit for use,1 knife & fork for starter and main course,Staff taking food to tables wore Green Nail varnish(which could chip and contaminate food) Chipped and badly worn unhygienic table mats.
More serious issue was the fact that a high number of guests tripped on a sloping floor,resulting in one female guest going through a glass door and in need of urgent medical attention! Almost for certain door was not fitted with the legal requirement of Toughened Glass/Safety glass BS56206 that should be in all `Critical Locations' (ie glass doors and windows lower than800mm from floor level).
They have comlplained to the coach company who use this hotel and to I.O.W.Enviromental Agency today 31.12.13 and awaiting a reply.
This Hotel (of sorts) is not fit for purpose.

Room Tip: Not Applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sandown
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Hotel

Property: Malvern Hotel
Address: 18-20 Leed Street, Sandown PO36 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Malvern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Malvern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvern Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing