We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Malvern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malvern Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2014

just arrived back from a 2 night weekend stay an at the price we paid could not have asked for more.a good english brek evening meal pleasant staff and bar prices of 10yrs ago :).ok so its dated as some have said but its clean friendly and when u leave u still have money in your pocket after a great break.yes this is no hilton but if you want a budget get away you will not go far wrong with the malvern :)

Room Tip: no lifts if your elderly if not its not a problem
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 40robert40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Malvern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

The husband and I enjoyed a 4 night Travelstyle break at the Malvern. Check in was quick and easy. (1 key for room & 1 key for main entrance) No lift but we were told to leave baggage at the foot of the stairs if we needed it carrying up to our rooms. Our room was small with a double bed, wardrobe, draws, hair dryer, ceiling fan, bed side tables, kettle, mugs and dining chair. The bathroom had a loo, shower cubical, wash basin & door hooks. The room was in bad need of modernization and reminded me of Granny's house but was clean and the bed comfortable. Two bath towels, one hand towel & bath mat provided. Towels not replaced threw the week. The bed was made and bins emptied daily.
My greedy husband thought the cooked breakfast was small but you can help your self to toast and cereal if you are still hungry. We enjoyed most of the 3 coarse meals that were served by friendly helpful staff even though they were from the freezer department in the local supermarket. Leek soup = happy husband (Do not order the cottage pie). We left the dining area full and satisfied. Well stocked cheap bar with a great variety of cans, Guinness £2 a can = Happy wife.
The hotel is a short walk away from the shops (Sainsburys, CO-OP and Boots etc), pier & beach. The walls are thin and the bloke next door could be heard snoring as his head board was behind ours.
Good value for money but needs bringing int the 21st century

(Thanks for taking our anniversary photo Jan D)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank chocolatetiger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just returned having stayed 4 nights at the Malvern hotel. My daughter and I stayed with my 2 granddaughters 7 and 9. We had 2 rooms both were clean and roomy. On arrival keys were all ready and took 2 mins to check in. Evening meal was served 30 mins later. Soup, roast Beef, ice cream for desert. All piping hot. Every mealtime food was tasty and hot. Always 3 choices. Every meal arrived with a smile. The bar is good value. The owners really left you to enjoy your stay. This is a traditional seaside hotel, if you want the Hilton don't book this. If you are happy to stay somewhere clean and close to the beach and centre then you can't go wrong. A little note to the owners a little offer of assistance in taking bags would have helped some guests. The hotel is old fashioned yet relaxed don't let poor reviews stop you visiting

Room Tip: No lifts at the hotel so low f No lifts at the hotel some people may wish to request low floors...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at The Malvern for the bank holiday weekend and were pleasantly surprised. For the price we paid this hotel had everything we needed, a little bit dated decorative wise but very clean and comfortable. Remember this is a budget hotel so don't expect 5 star! This family run hotel is very good in many respects, the family themselves went out of their way to helping us out, even the son gave me a lift to meet friends I needed to meet up with when I could not get a taxi ! There's a very cheap bar here and is situated around the corner from Sandown high street.We can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't eat in but overall we had a great stay and would definitely go back again!:)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this place as part of a coach trip. There is no disabled ramp at the entrance so had to be assisted in and out. This is embarrassing to say the least. Food quality bordered on average but choice was poor sort of A or B, The dining room was uncomfortably hot despite three ceiling fans. We asked for some ice in the water jugs but were told that such was not part of the deal. How penny pinching can you get. There was no breakfast staff available on our last day so no cooked food, toast and cereal only.

The benches outside are used at night by local drunks and the noise goes on until some 0300. Its ok if your room is at the back but intolerable should you be in a front sited room. The Hotel is some way from the sea front and it is all very much uphill getting back. Entertainment is poor by any standard. Bar prices are reasonable. Bed linen and towels were well worn but clean. Extra tea, coffee milk etc. was always available.

Overall this is not a nice hotel. The staff try hard but it needs a serious face lift, more imagination re food choice and quality better all round service and a solution to the late night noise problem is imperative.

Overall rating 6 out of 10.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyrowming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for a midweek break with my daughter, travelling with Travelstyle.
Overall we were happy with the hotel, the rooms were clean, the food was of a good standard considering the price and the bar prices were cheap (although the beer was sold in the can/bottle-no draught).
The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of the seafront/shops, the owners and staff were always there when we needed their assistance and were always cheerful and went about their duties professionally.
My only concerns were the water pressure in our bathroom and not having hot water at all times.
The entertainment was also limited and only on twice a week, but didn't bother us personally as we prefer to be out anyway

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stevenjess2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I live across the road from this horrible hotel and the dj that works there sounds like a cat that has been drowned the staff are horrible the ones ive seen always out smoking and look gruby the decore looks like it gruby and outdated

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike12124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sandown
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Hotel

Address: 18-20 Leed Street, Sandown PO36 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: £32 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Malvern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malvern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvern Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing