We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”
Review of Tarvic 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Tarvic 2 hotel with a coach party. We found the public rooms of a decent standard and our twin bedded room was basic but clean, though the beds were on the hard side.
The staff are great. They are friendly and helpful and made us very welcome.
The food was excellent. We had a choice of dishes at both breakfast and dinner. The bar prices were very reasonable and there was entertainment provided most evenings.
The hotel is in a good location. It is in the process of being refurbished but we did not find this bothered us at all.
Thank you to all the staff. You made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J0hn_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

we visited the tarvic for easter weekend. although the building from the outside looks a little tired and in need of a good refurb, inside the rooms are very basic but very clean and comfortable perhaps some of the rooms havent got particularly nice views but end of the day all you need is a room to rest your head for the night. the food was really really good and nothing was too much trouble to ask for. the manager came in to the dining room every day to update us on anything we needed to know. very very warm and friendly atmosphere, a credit to all the management and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Right on the beach - very close to the Esplanade and High Street. Decent accommodation, okay heating, decent toilets - quite clean. I had a sea view room, although a building on the beach kind of obstructed the proper view from my room. The beds were a little creaky, but the duvets were very comfortable (we visited at a very cold time of the year).

The clean lobby and nice small garden in the front with sea view is very soothing. The owner made a very nice Coffee with Tia Maria for us. As mentioned in many reviews before the awesome friendly staff are the best feature of this hotel - could not have been better in hospitality.

Room Tip: Stayed at V101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndranilSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We visited this hotel with a coach party on the very cold weekend in March when much of the country was getting snow. The hotel was a warm refuge from the biting wind coming down Channel. The food was excellent plentiful and varied with plenty of options for all tastes and diets. The room was clean. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I would willingly return to this hotel again. It has wonderful sea views and close to Sandown's High Street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torfrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

On the sea front at end of Sandown the hotel looks a bit shabby from the outside but has reasonable garden out front that won awards in previous years. generally quite clean probably due to the lack of carpets throughout the building making cleaning easier.(wood flooring)
bedrooms clean of reasonable size. bathrooms good nice shower pressure and no mould in shower.
beds were of concern even thou nice carved head and feet the mattress was solid but not lumpy so must quite new.
the wood flooring did not cause noise from above.
Food was acceptable . served quickly and was hot . breakfast was good.
overall for a budget hotel used a lot by coaches I found this one to be okay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Dispite the somewhat mixed reviews here, we found this hotel to be excellent! Staff were friendly, very attentive, nothing too much trouble!

The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint would be it was very hot, but I managed to turn off radiator and open window, so no great deal.

Breakfast was served fast and efficiently, was hot and fresh, as a chef, this is an important point for me!

I asked for them to order a taxi to the station as it was raining, this was no problem and one was promptly ordered. I would happily return here without any hesitation!!

Thanks to the management and staff for making our first stay on the IOW a great one! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesAub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is a budget hotel. The hotel is average but quite clean and quite attractive in parts, however to be asked when checking in if we want to settle our bill is unusual when you are on a break from Friday to Monday!

On the Saturday we were waiting to be seated for breakfast when the manager asked when we were paying! my fiancee said we were staying until monday to which he replied that he wanted his money that day! We didn’t have breakfast there that day, as we felt uncomfortable

We decided to eat there Sunday morning. We were up early and waited to be seated, there were only a few couples around, and as we went to sit down were told by other guests that the tables were taken, people were filing in around us and we walked from one end of the dining area to the other before a waitress escorted us from the main dining area to a dining room at the side by the staircase to our room!

This room was empty and had no heating or lights on! My fiancée had to switch on the light when the waitress left! My fiancée and I ordered a full english he ate his breakfast and as the waitress came in to clear his plate I asked if I was getting mine she said “oh did you want one too”!

Another younger couple with 2 children were then escorted to this room and the mother actually complained to the manager that she was cold to which he said he was hot he'd be five minutes then walked out! The OAP coach holiday who stayed were treated really well whilst us younger people were treated appallingly. I will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emagenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarvic 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarvic 2 Hotel

Address: 13-15 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £35 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarvic 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Tarvic 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarvic 2 Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing