We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review”
Review of Tarvic 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at the Tarvic 2 13th sept for 3 nights. Yes as you approach Hotel it does look weathered !! it is seafront after all. We were Greeted inside by pleasant Recption Staff. Shown to our Rooms Spacious and Bright even though they were all Ground floor in our party of 7. Bathroom was nice and clean shower cubicle clean too. Bed as loads of Reviews have said were hard, But i can honestly say i suffer with my Back and myself and my Husband had a great 3 nights sleep, Breakfast was served between 8-30 to 9-00 but there was a variety of choices available service may be quick but who wants to sit around for a couple of hours waiting to eat, food was hot evening meals also, a Good variety. I also heard other people ask for coffee instead of Tea and there wasn't a problem extra toast etc wasn't a problem either, No complaints at all if you want the Ritz then you have to pay Ritz prices. I've read a lot of Reviews and each to their own opinion. But i can honestly say for what we paid for the weekend, coach, ferry Bed Breakfast & Evening meal i have no complaints. The manager commented when we asked for a pot of tea outside meal hours and that it would be free to have one in our rooms and save us money, but £1.20 for a pot if had in bar area, well i've been to a few cafes on the island and £1-20 was a bargain.Entertainment was my only complaint, basically i could sing better myself. It was also only offered on a saturday Night too. I'd like to say Thank you to all staff they worked really hard. Next time we visit it would be nice to see more snacks behind bar and some Fruit ciders more variety more money taken Behind Bar. Location excellent i paid more to stay last time i visited in another Hotel and my only view front and back of the Hotel was houses. So walking out the front Door and crossing the road straight to the Beach has got to be a Bonus. My opinion is Read the Reviews then make your own conscious decision to visit. Some who stayed while we were there i think like to complain for the sake of it, yet not one of them complained to the manager directly. Would i go and stay there Again yes i would. Previous Reviews didn't put me off i'll decide for myself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jewls38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Tarvic 2 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

the negative points about this hotel are that you have to eat your breakfast between half 8 and half 9 which is a short amount of time and also considering the food which was a small hash brown, a small egg, one slice of bacon , beans, tomato and some kind of toast made in oil which was really weird. Also the dust under the bed was about a centimetre high. there was only soap in the bathroom (unlike premier inn) and the mattress was so hard it was a chore to go to sleep. also outside were 18 degrees at night and in the room were 29 and with the windows open. so small you couldn't fit your head out. and also when I requested more toilet paper from the cleaners she was sayi9ng she doesn't speak English which was very helpful. the good things were the furniture which was solid wood and antique but that's about it. also at the reception there is a note saying please press doorbell if no one is at the reception but unfortunately after searching for 5 minutes I still couldn't find it . a lot to be improved tarvic 2 hotel !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Recently returned from this hotel which was obtained from a bargain holiday site. Was quite impressed with things when first entering, very clean, tidy and compact. Was however very disappointed with the single room offered. It was big enough but was dull and depressing. Wait, there is a large window, I'll open it and get some fresh air. Big mistake, the window does not open and is facing, 4 feet away, a brick wall and what appears to be a war zone, rubble and bricks, on the ground. I dare say you get what you pay for and in general terms everything else was reasonably acceptable. Food was ok with a fair choice of menu. Car parking was very limited, 3 spaces at the side of the building, never empty. On the plus side the hotel is right on the seafront with good views from the small front garden which has benches for relaxing. Quite pleasant after breakfast on a sunny morning. As with most things these days the staff appeared to be mostly foreign, but did their best and were courteous when they could be in the mad rush at meal times. I might stay there again in the future because of it's location but would definitely press for a more suitable room next time.

Room Tip: Single travellers beware of room V001
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Djangology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

just back from this hotel stayed 4 nights went with 2 of my family members on a travelstyle holiday, hotel was very dated, beds very hard, no entertaiment even though advertised, poor choice of menu, not given a choice of tea or coffee on the morning just a pot of tea put on the table. Good location friendly staff but would not recommed anyone to stay here not worth the money we payed for it, much better at the carlton hotel where we spent most evenings.

Room Tip: don't think there is one .
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Well, where to start. When my wife booked this hotel I was dubious. It sounded more like something from star wars than a hotel by the sea front. On arrival there was no receptionist. Once someone finally realised after searching for a staff member for 10 mins that we wanted to book in we were met by "Manuel", who was in fact the bar man. Nothing to do with main reception. The room was ok at best. The bed was more like a camp bed and the toilet was so close to the shower I could almost do both at the same time! Needless to say we didn't have dinner there.
From the reviews I read on here I was expecting a lot more for £70 a night. We have stayed in various budget travel lodges for cheaper and you get a receptionist, a warm greeting, and a room that is air conditioned with bath and shower and a bed that doesn't leave you feeling stiff in the morning.
Following morning we waited 15 mins to be seated at breakfast, once again comparing to say a premier inn or such like, there is someone waiting to greet u and take your name and you can help yourself to as much as you like and also have a 2 hour time slot for breakfast. Here you get half an hour! breakfast served between 8:30 and 9am somewhat takes the mickey a bit. Then you have the situation where the serving staff are running around looking flustered because all the guests come at once. Some common sense needs to be found with that one.
We were quite happy to see that back of the Tarvic 2. This review may seem very critical of the place but you expect some sort of service regardless of how much you pay to stay and in no way was this worth £70 for the standard of the service we received.
Back to travel lodges for us and if anyone from the Tarvic reads this, please go and stay at one and recognise that its not difficult to exercise some customer service standards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just been here on holiday. The hotel looks a bit shabby from the out side. But when we entered found out it was nice and clean floors gleamed and polished furniture the same. We was welcomed by the owner who came out to our coach. we was given our keys we went down to our room what again was clean enough room to move around the bed bed hard but was good for my back. Towels where clean and soft these are changed if you need them changed you put them in the shower (If you need them changing every day there is a small cost) . Toilet was small but was easy to move in I would say if you had a disability may be would be hard to move around in and shower was of a standard size again nice and clean easy to use water was hot in shower and tap. Kettle and the usual tea and coffee but kettle was to big to fit under the tap but used the cup to fill so that was soon sorted. Food was very good and normal what was good and when you asked for more we got it. So for a cheap holiday and with out trumpets etc this was good. Our coach company was a Tamworth coach company and they provided a excellent services as well .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wulfencrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in sunny July.Hotel is in need of exterior refurbishment,but the inside is ok.However,on the one rainy evening the ceiling in the bar leaked.Staff were friendly and helpful.We didn't eat there as plenty of places to eat in Sandown. Rooms at the front overlook the sea.Our room was at the back with sun on the room most of the day,so it was too hot to sleep in the evening.No fans were available.Rooms are ok generally, but beds very firm and old.Wifi doesn't work. Many hotels have closed near to this hotel so it must be difficult for business. We paid around £60 a night for 2 people in a double room and this was about fair,but no more. Tip limited parking at the hotel but parking on the seafront is free after 6pm to 10 am

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekwozthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sandown
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarvic 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarvic 2 Hotel

Address: 13-15 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £42 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarvic 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Tarvic 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarvic 2 Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing