We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Tarvic 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a lovely time in the Isle of Wight, but, when we choose to return, we will not likely be staying at the Tarvic 2 Hotel again.

The food was very average, ranging from a poor 1st meal to a lovely last meal (all of which are perfectly designed for the older customer e.g. soft veg and deserts such as rice pudding or ice cream). So if you are young couple (with a full set of teeth!) you may find the food a little bland, although we are not too fussy and so found most of it fairly enjoyable. We did feel a little "2nd best" to the large party who arrived on the coach and had full use of the large restaurant. We were kept with 3 other separate couples in a smaller restaurant, with limited view to the sea. Breakfast was served in our restaurant at 8:30am and dinner at 6:30pm.

The 1st room we were put in (I'll come to why we had a 2nd later...) was on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel. We had a view across the bins and general refuse area to the countryside and the room was quite small. On our 2nd afternoon, as my husband (who weighs 14 stone) sat down onto the bed, it broke. We informed reception who arranged for the maintenance worker to fix it, which he did during our evening meal. That night it broke again at 3:30am. We had no choice but to re-arrange the room and drag the mattress onto the floor where we tried to sleep for the rest of the night. It was fixed again in the day whilst we were out, and, on our return we were offered a new room, which we accepted. This room was on the 2nd floor at the front with a gorgeous sea view (normally an extra £5 per night). It was more spacious and generally better, (e.g. the towels in this room had no holes in them unlike those in the cheaper room). When we later saw the manager the next morning she apologised for the trouble with the bed and offered us a bottle of wine from the bar, which we again accepted.

I must say the rooms were clean and the hotel was in an amazing location in between the pier and the local Zoo (which we visited twice). Sandown on the whole seemed a little run down but this may have been due to the time of year we visited (mid October). The overall quality of the hotel did not affect our time in the Isle of Wight too much and we were not put of returning to the island, which we hope to do soon.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilmissyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed at he tarvic 2 hotel first week in october could not fault the place food was good rooms small but adequate staff where brilliant , my wife twisted her knee getting out of the car as we arrived i enquired at reception about hiring a wheel chair 2 minutes later the hotel wheeled one out free of charge for the rest of our stay,. entertainment was provided each night [the rest of sandown appears to close down at the end of september ] whist its not sunday night at the Palladium it was better than nothing

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

we have just come back from here is was great staff including manuel (manager)was polite and helpful the meals were lovely and you had a choice of food the rooms were small but spotless we had lovely company that we met there luggage was taken and fetched from our room also asked for ground floor and got it sorry but i cant find fault with any thing and would certainly come again mrs bouquet

Room Tip: rooms small but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at the Tarvic 2 13th sept for 3 nights. Yes as you approach Hotel it does look weathered !! it is seafront after all. We were Greeted inside by pleasant Recption Staff. Shown to our Rooms Spacious and Bright even though they were all Ground floor in our party of 7. Bathroom was nice and clean shower cubicle clean too. Bed as loads of Reviews have said were hard, But i can honestly say i suffer with my Back and myself and my Husband had a great 3 nights sleep, Breakfast was served between 8-30 to 9-00 but there was a variety of choices available service may be quick but who wants to sit around for a couple of hours waiting to eat, food was hot evening meals also, a Good variety. I also heard other people ask for coffee instead of Tea and there wasn't a problem extra toast etc wasn't a problem either, No complaints at all if you want the Ritz then you have to pay Ritz prices. I've read a lot of Reviews and each to their own opinion. But i can honestly say for what we paid for the weekend, coach, ferry Bed Breakfast & Evening meal i have no complaints. The manager commented when we asked for a pot of tea outside meal hours and that it would be free to have one in our rooms and save us money, but £1.20 for a pot if had in bar area, well i've been to a few cafes on the island and £1-20 was a bargain.Entertainment was my only complaint, basically i could sing better myself. It was also only offered on a saturday Night too. I'd like to say Thank you to all staff they worked really hard. Next time we visit it would be nice to see more snacks behind bar and some Fruit ciders more variety more money taken Behind Bar. Location excellent i paid more to stay last time i visited in another Hotel and my only view front and back of the Hotel was houses. So walking out the front Door and crossing the road straight to the Beach has got to be a Bonus. My opinion is Read the Reviews then make your own conscious decision to visit. Some who stayed while we were there i think like to complain for the sake of it, yet not one of them complained to the manager directly. Would i go and stay there Again yes i would. Previous Reviews didn't put me off i'll decide for myself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jewls38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

the negative points about this hotel are that you have to eat your breakfast between half 8 and half 9 which is a short amount of time and also considering the food which was a small hash brown, a small egg, one slice of bacon , beans, tomato and some kind of toast made in oil which was really weird. Also the dust under the bed was about a centimetre high. there was only soap in the bathroom (unlike premier inn) and the mattress was so hard it was a chore to go to sleep. also outside were 18 degrees at night and in the room were 29 and with the windows open. so small you couldn't fit your head out. and also when I requested more toilet paper from the cleaners she was sayi9ng she doesn't speak English which was very helpful. the good things were the furniture which was solid wood and antique but that's about it. also at the reception there is a note saying please press doorbell if no one is at the reception but unfortunately after searching for 5 minutes I still couldn't find it . a lot to be improved tarvic 2 hotel !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Recently returned from this hotel which was obtained from a bargain holiday site. Was quite impressed with things when first entering, very clean, tidy and compact. Was however very disappointed with the single room offered. It was big enough but was dull and depressing. Wait, there is a large window, I'll open it and get some fresh air. Big mistake, the window does not open and is facing, 4 feet away, a brick wall and what appears to be a war zone, rubble and bricks, on the ground. I dare say you get what you pay for and in general terms everything else was reasonably acceptable. Food was ok with a fair choice of menu. Car parking was very limited, 3 spaces at the side of the building, never empty. On the plus side the hotel is right on the seafront with good views from the small front garden which has benches for relaxing. Quite pleasant after breakfast on a sunny morning. As with most things these days the staff appeared to be mostly foreign, but did their best and were courteous when they could be in the mad rush at meal times. I might stay there again in the future because of it's location but would definitely press for a more suitable room next time.

Room Tip: Single travellers beware of room V001
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Djangology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

just back from this hotel stayed 4 nights went with 2 of my family members on a travelstyle holiday, hotel was very dated, beds very hard, no entertaiment even though advertised, poor choice of menu, not given a choice of tea or coffee on the morning just a pot of tea put on the table. Good location friendly staff but would not recommed anyone to stay here not worth the money we payed for it, much better at the carlton hotel where we spent most evenings.

Room Tip: don't think there is one .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarvic 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarvic 2 Hotel

Address: 13-15 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £40 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarvic 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tarvic 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarvic 2 Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing