We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not stay here again.”
Review of Tarvic 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and a friend stayed here as we were on a work experience at a nearby location.On our final day - as two 17 year old girls we experienced the most uncomfortable situation of our lives and a situation in which ruined our whole week. On several occasions we had spoken to the owner about leaving our things in our room whilst we went out for the day and returned at 4 to which he replied 'yes, we are a hotel, we can let you do that'. When we arrived back that day we were greeted by the owner and other staff all stood around staring at us before he began shouting at us saying we were in the wrong and told us that our stuff was in the dining area, so as we sat on the floor sorting out our cases he stood by the door giving us filthy looks. I felt that this was the worst way he could possibly deal with a simple misunderstanding, and he would have learnt that if he had simply spoken to us instead of attacking and intimidating us as soon as we were to step through the door. I would never stay here again after that and i would certainly not recommend it to anyone else. Also I had barley slept the whole week as the beds were extremely hard and mine in particular was very creaky. In the evenings there was little to do and it became fairly boring. There was another group of people at the hotel at the same time as us and the owner was particularly rude to them as well, when one simply asked for a glass of water.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carmel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

my husband, son and myself stayed for 2 nights, we stayed in a family room with a sea view, the room was very clean and big, the beds were comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and willing to help, I would love to stay again one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurajane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a lovely time at the Tarvic for our New Year break. The staff were very friendly and helpful and also very polite. Rooms were very clean and food good. They really made us feel welcome. Entertainment was very good, and on New Year's Eve a lovely buffet was laid out during the evening. Well done everyone at the Tarvic for a very enjoyable stay

Val and Terry T005.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor, which suited us very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Six of us travelled with David Urquart Coach holidays to Sandown on the I.O.W. The weather was dreadful, it rained with high winds for most of our stay, it had all the makings for being a really bad holiday, however, the hotel and its staff went the extra mile to ensure that we had a great time. Each evening they had good entertainers, the food was good, and the new year eve celebrations were exceptional, not only was the dinner excellent, they laid on a buffet and supplied party poppers and champagne to take us into the small hours. This Hotel and its staff deserve recognition for showing the larger hotel groups how to look after there guests and going the extra mile. Thanks

Room Tip: May and September would be the time to visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridgeman918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at the Tarvic2 on the Weekend Friday 29th November to Sunday 1st December on a Room only Basis booked through Late Rooms .com. £80.00 for 2 people for 2 nights.
Parking was free.
We asked for a Ground floor room and were shown to a Small but adequate room, we found it Clean, well decorated, Plenty of Tea and Coffee, if i had a complaint it would be the Mattress was a bit hard,
Breakfast can be obtained by paying £4.00 per person extra and this was good value for money, Cereals, Full English or Eggs on toast, Toast and Marmalade, Tea or Coffee. well cooked and served quickly.
We were visiting friends and came in late but there was always someone on duty to let us in.
We would have no hsitation in recommending this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a lovely time in the Isle of Wight, but, when we choose to return, we will not likely be staying at the Tarvic 2 Hotel again.

The food was very average, ranging from a poor 1st meal to a lovely last meal (all of which are perfectly designed for the older customer e.g. soft veg and deserts such as rice pudding or ice cream). So if you are young couple (with a full set of teeth!) you may find the food a little bland, although we are not too fussy and so found most of it fairly enjoyable. We did feel a little "2nd best" to the large party who arrived on the coach and had full use of the large restaurant. We were kept with 3 other separate couples in a smaller restaurant, with limited view to the sea. Breakfast was served in our restaurant at 8:30am and dinner at 6:30pm.

The 1st room we were put in (I'll come to why we had a 2nd later...) was on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel. We had a view across the bins and general refuse area to the countryside and the room was quite small. On our 2nd afternoon, as my husband (who weighs 14 stone) sat down onto the bed, it broke. We informed reception who arranged for the maintenance worker to fix it, which he did during our evening meal. That night it broke again at 3:30am. We had no choice but to re-arrange the room and drag the mattress onto the floor where we tried to sleep for the rest of the night. It was fixed again in the day whilst we were out, and, on our return we were offered a new room, which we accepted. This room was on the 2nd floor at the front with a gorgeous sea view (normally an extra £5 per night). It was more spacious and generally better, (e.g. the towels in this room had no holes in them unlike those in the cheaper room). When we later saw the manager the next morning she apologised for the trouble with the bed and offered us a bottle of wine from the bar, which we again accepted.

I must say the rooms were clean and the hotel was in an amazing location in between the pier and the local Zoo (which we visited twice). Sandown on the whole seemed a little run down but this may have been due to the time of year we visited (mid October). The overall quality of the hotel did not affect our time in the Isle of Wight too much and we were not put of returning to the island, which we hope to do soon.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilmissyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed at he tarvic 2 hotel first week in october could not fault the place food was good rooms small but adequate staff where brilliant , my wife twisted her knee getting out of the car as we arrived i enquired at reception about hiring a wheel chair 2 minutes later the hotel wheeled one out free of charge for the rest of our stay,. entertainment was provided each night [the rest of sandown appears to close down at the end of september ] whist its not sunday night at the Palladium it was better than nothing

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarvic 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarvic 2 Hotel

Address: 13-15 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £39 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarvic 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Tarvic 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarvic 2 Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing