We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tarvic 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at the Tarvic 2 with my dad for 4 nights and have to say that the staff really do make this place. They are warm and welcoming, helpful and friendly. The food was good and the room more than adequate. The shower brilliant - powerful and easily regulated. The bar prices are surprisingly low for a hotel. I would willingly return. If you're travelling to Sandown, consider the Tarvic 2.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Tara side of the hotel seem to have been refurbished more recently than those on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fromme8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    90
    42
    28
    33
See reviews for
64
87
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was there for one single night. Room was very clean and spacious for one single person. I enjoyed the english breakfast. It was not a buffet one, you have to be seated. The hotel is well located in Sandown, buses stop are very close and you are in front of a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank al_dair999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

very friendly and helpful manager and staff,very clean but basic,reasonbly priced,very good value breakfast.perfectly located,close to beach and shops,would highly recommend and will definetly be booking in the future

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed there recently on a UK Breakaway holiday deal because it included the car ferry. The hotel looks tired from the outside. Although the meals were ok, meal times are strictly 8.30 breakfast and 6.30 dinner and the service can be a bit amateurish. There appears no flexibility with these meal times and to reduce costs guests are expected to share tables with strangers even though there are ample tables available.There is no off road parking (only parking on first come first serve basis along the outside wall of the hotel) due to building work that does not look as though it will be completed. The room was clean and functional and overlooked the rear yard dustbins that attracted the local wildlife. No evening entertainment even though the hotel appeared reasonably full. I will visit IOW again but have found several hotels in the area that offered better service at no extra cost

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are extra cost but face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Visited Isle of Wight for Easter break. I booked this place as I was looking for a sea facing room. From the outset the staff were so unprofessional, they sent me to the wrong room. The rooms themselves were pretty small and old style - as for sea view it was just a door with a glass facing the sea. I was aghast when the door to balcony failed to close, it took some serious engineering to close it and feel safe. The front office is mostly unstaffed and once a cleaner barged into the room without knocking. The walls are so thin conversations from the nearby rooms could be mostly heard - forget the privacy. Overall, I wouldn't recommend to anyone unless you're passing by and just want a bed for the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SurKan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

6 of us stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 'cheap and cheerful' coach trip. After reading some of the reviews, we were unsure what to expect. The rooms were clean and fresh; there was plenty of hot water; there were tea/coffee making facilities. The room was absolutely fine, no complaints whatsoever. I agree the beds were hard...harder than I am used to, but that is a matter of preference. The meals were typical of 'coach trip food', but perfectly acceptable, indeed enjoyable, with a choice of 3 starters, mains, and deserts. The waiting staff were lovely! Friendly, polite, and helpful as were all the staff we encountered during our stay. The location of the hotel on the sea front was just perfect. For a cheap break, it was ideal, and I would happily stay here again. All in all, a very pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marigoldBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and a friend stayed here as we were on a work experience at a nearby location.On our final day - as two 17 year old girls we experienced the most uncomfortable situation of our lives and a situation in which ruined our whole week. On several occasions we had spoken to the owner about leaving our things in our room whilst we went out for the day and returned at 4 to which he replied 'yes, we are a hotel, we can let you do that'. When we arrived back that day we were greeted by the owner and other staff all stood around staring at us before he began shouting at us saying we were in the wrong and told us that our stuff was in the dining area, so as we sat on the floor sorting out our cases he stood by the door giving us filthy looks. I felt that this was the worst way he could possibly deal with a simple misunderstanding, and he would have learnt that if he had simply spoken to us instead of attacking and intimidating us as soon as we were to step through the door. I would never stay here again after that and i would certainly not recommend it to anyone else. Also I had barley slept the whole week as the beds were extremely hard and mine in particular was very creaky. In the evenings there was little to do and it became fairly boring. There was another group of people at the hotel at the same time as us and the owner was particularly rude to them as well, when one simply asked for a glass of water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarvic 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarvic 2 Hotel

Property: Tarvic 2 Hotel
Address: 13-15 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarvic 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Tarvic 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarvic 2 Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing