We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas @ the Trouville”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Spent Christmas at the Trouville via Woods Travel of Bognor Regis. Very warm welcome on arrival, room spotlessly clean. Superb food throughot the 5 days. Friendly and very helpful staff. Plenty of entertainment if you wanted it.
Rooms a little too warm but it was very mild outside: understand each room is to be fitted with its own thermostat shortly. Whilst I accept many hotels don't want the bother of keeping real ales was a little surprised that they had no bottled real ale like Old Speckled Hen or Black Sheep etc.

Room Tip: Go as a couple and get a seaviw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed Christmas at the Trouville Hotel. I am sorry that you found your room a little warm, most of our rooms do have the facility to turn the radiators down or off, however we still have a small number of rooms left to do.

Thank you for your comment about bottled real ale, we will look at the feasibility of stocking real ale and see if this is something we can offer to our guests in the future.

Happy New Year to you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

HI TO ALL FUTURE GUESTS,I have just returned home having spent Xmas at the Trouville Hotel with my wife ,daughter and her partner, our ages range from thirty to sixty three, and having had my own hotel for twenty five years and this being my first xmas away since my retirment we all had very high expectations and I am happy to say that the hotel, staff food and service truly deserve my five star rating, so many thanks for a great Xmas and we cant wait to return.R.STEWART & FAMILY.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roderick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your stay at the Trouville Hotel with others. We are really glad that you all enjoyed your Christmas break with us and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Just returned from a long weekend, American Square Dancing which was held at this hotel.On arrival we were advised to sit in the lounge bar as our rooms were not quite ready,this is a comfortable place to sit and look out across the water which faces East.

We were then allocated our rooms which were very good and had obviously been heated long before our arrival.Phew!!

We had dinner which was very good and hot,a good wine list and prices are quite acceptable,not being over-priced for an excellent Merlot wine.The cost of beverages in the bar are comparable to any pub.

Your stay here should certainly be an experience if you have not visited this hotel before.The staff are extremely helpful and the waiting staff in the restaurant could not be faulted.

The full English breakfast in the morning is cooked to order, if like me you hate cold food, this is the meal of the day served HOT.

There is only ONE fault I could find with the Trouville,and that is the temperature of the hotel,they do like to turn up the heat and can be overpowering,but just turn off the heat,throw open the windows and enjoy. This point maybe because of the elderly people who were present at this visit.

Another tip take ear plugs as the waves breaking on the sure could keep light sleepers awake,but not me!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELLER343Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words about the Trouville Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the Square Dancing weekend. I am sorry that you felt the hotel was too hot at times, unfortunately it is difficult to keep the heating at a temperature that suits everyone but as you say, you can always turn it off in the bedrooms.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will stay with us again, either for a Square Dance weekend or leisure break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Lovely weekend with the Montana C/W group. First time with this hotel, and I was very impreessed. Great Staff and hotel. Rooms lovely and very welcoming.
Nothing too much trouble.
Thanks
Bob and Jan

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReigateBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Trouville Hotel, it looked like you were all having great fun! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Trouville. My parents live on the Isle of Wight so we use this hotel as a base when visiting them. I have stayed in several other places on the Island but The Trouville is without doubt the best of them all. The hotel is clean and bright, the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and well equiped.
It is wonderful to be so close to the beach and to be able to sit and watch the sea. We shan't be looking for anywhere else to stay for my next family visit as this hotel is lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sobrano29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thank you for you kind comments about the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your second visit to the hotel and hope that you will enjoy many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Recently returned from another excellent stay at the Trouville. This time we were part of a dancing break, and thanks must go to Tony,Doreen and Jane for organising a great time.

The Trouville never fails, lovely welcome from pleasant staff, many have been with the hotel for years. Special thanks to the barman who is part of the fixture and sadly we have for forgotton his name. but he has a cute puppy named Riley !

Our updated room very and clean comfortable with a seaview(304), the chambermaid looked after us beautifully.

This hotel really scores over other hotels with the food, we have never been disappointed, the menu is varied, balanced and a really delight. We believe it to be in with the very best hotel food available, and we stay in many, for a 3* hotel the food is 5*

Cant wait for another visit inFeb 2012.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Trouville Hotel with others. We are delighted that you enjoyed Tony & Doreen's social weekend. I have passed your comments on to Dan (the barman with a puppy called Riley!) and the rest of the staff.

We look forward to seeing you again in February when we hope you will enjoy your stay just as much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Just returned from 4 nights in sunny Sandown with a group of U3A friends and the hotel was excellent, rooms very good and the food superb, plent of choice. All the staff made our stay perfect and the weather was the icing on the cake and Patryck looked after us with such speed and always with a smile for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: We had room 103 and it was overlooking the sea and very quiet, but I believe everone else found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

We really appreciate you taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel. We are delighted that you, and hopefully the rest of your group, enjoyed your stay on the sunny Isle of Wight. I will pass your comments on to Patryck and we hope to welcome you back to the Trouville Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £55 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing