We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3star but worth every penny”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here feburary 2012 food was excellent room adequate staff was good good ballroom music could be better taking our own music next time will be please to go back

Room Tip: all rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank del52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

I didn't know what to expect having seen mixed reviews online. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was lovely with magnificent views of the beach and ocean. Bathroom decor was a bit tired but everything worked fine, e.g. plumbing and shower.

The restaurant was elegant with wonderful views, and the (mostly foreign) waiters were very polite and obliging, even if the English language was not a strong point. The food was very good: although it was "standard British" fare it was very tasty and well cooked. Breakfast was the usual cereals and breakfast fruits (tinned) followed by a choice of full English breakfast, kippers (yum-yum) or boiled/poached/scrambled eggs. There was a three course dinner with a choice of starters, 4 or 5 maincourses and 3 desserts, followed by coffee. The wine was reasonably priced - in fact the whole weekend was bargain-priced for such a pleasant experience.

One cautionary point - parking is very limited and the (council-owned) roadside places are chargeable between April and October.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you very much for your fair comments about the Trouville Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you felt that you received value for money.
I agree that parking is quite limited along the seafront during the Winter months when it is free, however all of our guests have the option to use our car park situated behind the hotel should they prefer to use this rather than park on the esplanade.
Thanks again for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel we really appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Trouville you've done it again ! what a fabulous weekend of dance we had, hosted by Karen and supported by Emma, who exhausted us all with the dance lessons, and Neville the cabaret singer.
The hotel never disappoints and thoroughly deserve their newly won 3 star status. However the standard of food would compare with many 4 star hotels. The staff are unfailing friendly helpful and kind, nothing is too much trouble,from arrival you feel settled and comfortable.
Our thanks to all of staff for making our much looked forward break so good.

Karin- you did a great job and learnt what we wanted, dancers are a picky lot especially when there is a mix of experienced and beginners.The first night was a bit trial and error but still enjoyable The themed ball was excellent, everyone looked good and entered into the spirit of flappers and gangsters a sure sign that guests were happy. Neville (the singer) was very entertaining, great voice, lovely personality too. Hope you get a chance of a repeat performance

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Trouville Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the dance break. I will pass your comments on to Karen (who also thoroughly enjoyed the weekend!) and we hope to see you for our 2013 Social Dance Weekend (15-19 Feb) if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our third visit to the Trouville for a dance weekend. Previous visits have been run by our dance teacher but this was our first hotel organised dance weekend.Overall it was really enjoyable, and Karen was very receptive to ideas from dancers on how to improve her social dance organisational skills. Emma was a very competent teacher and we came home with lots of new dance steps. We are sure next year will prove to be even more successful. So much so that we and our friends have already booked to return next February.The themed evening was a great success and everyone participated and had a good time. Once again the Trouville provided excellent food, served by very efficient and polite restaurant staff. In fact all the staff were polite and helpful. Once again the rooms were very comfortable, super ballroom and we have no comlaints whatsoever, only good things to say.Looking forward to returning next year. Can thoroughtly recommend this weekend.Well done Karen and well done the Trouville.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the Social Dance Weekend and the services provided by the hotel. We are looking forward to next year's dance weekend and hope you are too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have been very satisfied patrons of this hotel for many years and the word that comes to mind is consistency. From our very first (casual) encounter some 10 or more years ago until our most recent visit this month we have never failed to be impressed by the consistantly high standards throughout. Staff are warm and friendly, hotel clean and comfortable whilst the variety and quality of food deserves a special mention. Our most recent foray was a social dance break hosted by Karen (taking time out from her day job in reception) and what a pleasure it was to be there. OK, i think it was her first time with this type of venture but I am sure she has taken on board lessons learnt and gained more power to her elbow; I sincerely hope she gets another one together soon. Well done Trouville, don't ever change

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieandjimDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

We are so glad that you enjoy coming to the Trouville Hotel and we appreciate you sharing this with others. Karen has taken any comments on board and we can't wait until the next Social Dance Weekend in February 2013....still undecided on a theme though! We hope that you will enjoy many more visits to the Isle of Wight and to the Trouville Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Dancing improved as Karen learnt from the dancers how to run and organise a social dance, which should include a mixture of dance types such as ballroom, latin, sequence and even some line dancing. The themed evening was excellent with everyone in fancy dress. The guest singer was good.We found the Trouville Hotel was an excellent choice for our weekend break and we found the staff helpful and pleasant, the ballroom excellent, and the food and choice of menu second to none.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay at the Trouville Hotel for our Ballroom and Latin Social Dance Weekend. We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves and we hope that you will visit the Trouville Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

we arrived at the hotel after a long coach trip for a reunion weekend with Lavers Holidays . Debbie the manager welcomed us and took us inside for a welcoming cup of tea whilst the luggage was taken up to the bedroom. The bedroom was comfortable but not very warm . The food was very good with plenty of choice with quick service . There was entertainment at night which was quite good , brilliant on the last night . The only downside was the windows which were covered with condensation at night soaking the curtains even though they were double glazed . It was a good holiday .

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Trouville Hotel.

I am sorry that you felt your room wasn't very warm and that your bedroom window had condensation on it. We would have been more than happy to increase the heating had you brought this to our attention.

We are glad that you had a good holiday and hope the rest of the reunion group did too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £56 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing