We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as tripadvisor high marks suggest”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We arrived anticipating an exceptional hotel as The Trouville has won a tripadviser award.Our first impression was that I thought we had came to the wrong hotel as the outside of hotel looked in need of some restoration and the inside especially stairs and stairways are in desperate need of redecorating with peeling walls and threadbare carpets.We were given a room on the forth floor and once on the floor you then have 5 steps down and then another 5 steps up and with heavy suitcases it was something of a challenge! once inside our room we were dissapointed as it had a unpleasant smell and was in dire need of redecorating.We were then allocated another room which was much better and had a great seaview but a very dated bathroom.
The food was very good but the bad point about the dining experience was that the tables are too close tgether meaning you have to ask the next table to kindly move down but the next table were anything but kindly and we had to walk out and complain and the managment found us another table.Why they could not have put us there in the first place heaven knows, as it would have stopped some unpleasantness. from the other table.
The good points of the Trouville were ,The staff were on the whole lovely both in reception and dining,The second room we had was very clean, if in need of a new bathroom.We had a lovely seaview and the food was good.
The bad points were the first room was not nice,The place needs a refurbishment as too many threadbare carpets and paint peeling.The dining room chairs are too close together resulting in a very uncomfortable mealtime.The price of the drinks are high,so take plenty of cash and the hotel caters for mostly coach trips so the place is usually 95% full of pensioners and the entertainment reflects this fact.!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on forth floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budgieIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you for your review of the Trouville Hotel. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your room upon arrival. Unfortunately there are a handful of rooms on the 4th floor that are not directly accessible via the lift, however a member of staff would have been happy to help you with your luggage should you have needed it.
Unfortunately I was not aware of the situation in the dining room until the said evening at which point I immediately rectified the situation, had I known that you were unhappy before this I would have moved you to another table earlier.
On a positive note, I am glad that you found the staff lovely and that you enjoyed the food. I hope you enjoyed the sunny weather whilst you were here and had fun exploring the sights on the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

excellent location right on the beach...with lovely seaview
staffs were very helpful
not cheap but great for break except most of the people were not that young
breakfast was good
parking is not within the hotel....5 min walk to parking location near high street

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satishk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your break at the Trouville Hotel. Hopefully you enjoyed some sunny weather whilst you were here! We really appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

stayed at this hotel for 1 night on the weekend of the 4 august 2012. I booked this hotel purely because it was the hotel my husband use to stay at when he had family holidays on the iow during the 70's. The outside of this hotel looks very dated but once inside the friendly receptionist who greeted us with big smile more than made up for this. The rooms are also a bit dated but are cleaned to a very high standard and are light and airy with plenty of hot water and big white fluffy towels. The food was of an extremely good standard (both dinner and breakfast) and served by friendly efficient staff. I am sure that this hotel does well on repeat bookings because of the lovely atmosphere the staff create. If we visit the iow again we would certainly book this hotel again.

Room Tip: pay the bit extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachcomber190817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your recent review of the Trouville Hotel. It's lovely to hear that you returned to the Trouville after staying here in the 70s. I am pleased that the hotel exceeded your expectations for both service and food. I will pass your comments on to the staff who will look forward to seeing you again next time you are on the Isle of Wight (you will have to stay for more than 1 night next time!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed in room 208 lovley sea view on second floor. The room was very clean and all we would say is its abit dated carpet wise. Bathroom was clean but shower needs to be updated. Stayed three nights and room was kept clean by room service when we were out. No room service at night if you fancy a sandwich which we did.
Food was very good hot and a good choice. Adam our waiter was excellent. Entertainment was good and barstaff were very nice.Catherine and Debbie were really welcoming. They seem to cater for older folk lots of coach parties but we had fun and mixed in. The car parking facilities were excellent a real bonus.
We are looking forward to hearing about special offers as we will return as they run a lovley hotel. Thankyou to all your staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elainesmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Trouville Hotel. It's great to hear that you mixed in with the other guests whilst you were staying with us and had a good time. Sorry that you weren't able to order room service at the time when you wanted it. We felt that offering room service from 11:00 - 22:00 was adequate, however we will look into extending these times. We will keep you to up to date with our special offers and hope that you will take advantage of these and that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Staff were very helpful and allowed us to check in early for a shower after a long overnight journey. Bar, pool table and table tennis was good to have and no problems with room. Amazing location and great for a break but being 21 we didn't find many other people our age. Not cheap but definitely reasonable considering prices for other hotels in isle of wight. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireandCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your recent review of the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our location and leisure facilities. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are on the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

A hotel with lovely helpful staff. Waiters really good nothing was too much trouble for them, fantastic view from dining room, public rooms light, bright, clean and airy. Would have to say the sea view rooms are good would not have liked a room at the back. Room was modern and clean, comfy bed, basic furniture, refreshment tray, tv and hair dryer provided. I think comfortable chairs in the bedroom would have improved the overall stay. One very disapointing area was the very old bathroom complete with black mould, grotty tile grout and worn chrome on the fittings, nothing like the picture in the advert/publications, At the time of booking I was assured we would have a fully refurbished room, as I had seen previous comments on this site warning of the problem. Food was hot and choices were given, breakfast very well cooked. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Worth paying for sea view and check you get a new bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alparean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Trouville Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpful - I will share your comments with them. I am glad that you liked your sea view room and enjoyed our breakfast offering. Thank you for your feedback about the bedroom furniture - we are currently waiting on a delivery of bedroom chairs for the bedrooms. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your bathroom, although the majority of bathrooms have been refurbished, there are still a few left to do which are scheduled in for January. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you at the Trouville Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Warm welcome and thanks to all the staff for being so helpful. Rooms clean, beds very comfortable and a lovely sea view. Wonderful location right opposite beach and only a short walk (up steps) to catch local buses to other places on the island. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: sea view worth the extra !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisjt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Trouville Hotel. We are delighted that you really enjoyed your break on the Isle of Wight and that you made the most of the beautiful view from your room. I will pass your kind comments on to the staff and we all hope to see you again at the Trouville Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £55 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing