We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Sept 2012”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Letterston, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Sept 2012”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I were in much need of a break and we decided to have a coack trip were neither of us had to drive. We were so pleased when we arrived at the hotel at how close we were to the beach, also we were greeted by a member of staff explaining that we would be having tea or coffee in the lounge and then would be allocated our room keys etc. We had a lovely sea view and the room was as we expected. Food was lovely and room service was good and if we required any extras we only had to go to reception and our needs were met. We would highly recommend this hotel and waitor/waitress service was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you and your husband chose the Trouville for your much needed break and that you both enjoyed it. We hope you will return to the Trouville Hotel next time you come to the Isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    144
    51
    6
    7
See reviews for
59
131
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The Trouville hotel is situated on the seafront at Sandown on the Isle of Wight. There is no parking available at the hotel, however, secure coded entry free parking was available nearby.
We were greeted by a cheerful receptionist. The hotel has a lift to all floors. Our room was clean and comfortable, with en-suite facilities, an excellent sea view, telephone, television with some freeview chanels, text and EPG; room service and Wifi was also available.
The staff were helpful and friendly, great breakfast, comfortable dining room, nightly entertainment, large games room with Indoor bowls, table tennis and darts. We will be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your views of the Trouville Hotel with others. We are glad that you enjoyed your first visit to the Trouville and hope it will be the first of many!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel with fantastic sea views, a lot of the rooms outlook over the sea. The accomodation was clean and the maid service was excellent. The food was good and plentiful with plenty of choice and the staff always helpful. There was musical entertainment provided every night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Trouville Hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including the room, food and entertainment. We hope that you and your family will visit the Trouville Hotel again to take advantage of the fantastic sea views we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My family and I are full of admiration for the wonderful care and attention we received over our one week stay . The food was varied and of excellent quality and the staff always cheerful and helpful. We'll be back

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience at the Trouville Hotel with others. We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the choice of food to be varied and service was always with a smile! We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is our second stay at this Hotel and we were quite suprised that they had a seaview room available, as we booked later that normal for the scooter rally.
We decided to stay for the week and once again were not disappointed.
A lovely welcome and all our bags and belongings were taken to our fourth floor room by a lovely young man who's name I cannot remember (Tony, Sorry if that's wrong). He also served us drinks and chatted about the island and many other things!
Our room was very clean and was kept very clean every day.
The food once again was very good and it was not repeated at all during our stay, apart from breakfast where you can either have the full English, veggie version or anything else you want if you ask. Not to mention a very good selection of cereals, fruit and yogurts.
Evening meal was always very nice, served hot and quickly by our attentive waiter Adam??
It is a very quiet and calm hotel which does have a lot of touring pensioners, but that is great.........no rowdy goings on and no kiddywinks running riot!
Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff here and that is evident in the relationships they have with the clients that return regulary.
Great value for money at approx £55 per person for BBEM and my parents have said that they will be going in the near future.
We had great weather and it was great to see a British seaside with a beautiful sandy
beach and clear waters enjoyed by so many people. Saying that, it is still a relaxing place to go, the far side of Sandown beach,heading towards Shanklin is very quiet, perfect for a lovely morning or evening stroll.
We love the Island and until we finally decide to relocate there- Trouville will be our choice of hotel.

The only negatives: as a whole a lot of Isle Of Wight hotels and BB are looking tired, as well as some of the resorts. The pier at Sandown needs a revamp and its signage letters put back on. Come on whoever is responsible, get things spruced up this winter!
Look forward to seeing you soon........

Room Tip: Get a seaview room- i could spend hours watching the ships, birds and just the view from the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northernerwisoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your week break at the Trouville Hotel. We are so glad you made a return visit and enjoyed your second stay. I will pass your kind comments on to Dan (nearly Tony!!) and Adam. We look forward to seeing you again at the Trouville, when we hope you will enjoy the same sunny weather as you did during your recent break. We also look forward to welcoming your parents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Visited this hotel many times and it offers consistant quality in terms of food and bedroom quality.

Best to book a sea view room and essential to use the hotel's private car park located 5 minutes

walk up the hill.Entertainment is offered every evening and with one exception (female singer

Thursday night).is very enjoyable,.particularly Dave Cannon (Wednesday nights).

Service in the dining room was first rate with a wide choice menu.

Room Tip: 1st floor sea view best if not dependent on lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Trouville Hotel. We're glad that you frequently return to the hotel, enjoying the quality of food, the service and the standard of accommodation. We hope you will continue to stay at the Trouville Hotel on your future visits to the Isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Nice cosy hotel with excellent, professional and caring staff located in an excellent position. It was a perfect choice for a little peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle of London. Entertainment at night is quite interesting. We were on the bed and breakfast basis and food was tasty and the hotel is very accommodating in case of special dietary requirements. if I have to mention one thing to improve upon will be maybe to include some nice pastries at breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms are in a very clean and tidy state. Seaviews are fantastic and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raksha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you had a peaceful break and that we were able to offer alternatives for your special dietary requirements. We are currently looking into changing the breakfast offering and pastries is something we are looking to include. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Property: Trouville Hotel
Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing