We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Male Voice Choir - Autumn Tour”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our party of 66 choir members (including wives and friends), visited the Isle of Wight to perform three concerts between 28th Sept and 3rd October. Everyone was delighted with the atmosphere and friendly staff throughout the hotel.The rooms were immaculate and serviced whilst we were at breakfast most days. All twins and double rooms had sea views. The restaurant was very professionally managed. Even when full the service was of the highest standard. The menu options were superb, the quality of food and service at dinner and breakfast was excellent. The management and staff were extremely pleasant and flexible, providing sandwiches on the concert nights for our late return.
The location of the hotel is magnificent, just a few steps away from the beach, making it easy for the less mobile to enjoy.
In conclusion, a brilliant hotel, with lovely staff, great food and value for money.
My wife and I will certainly revisit this hotel in the future and recommend it to friends.
Graham Steen

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you very much for your review of the Trouville Hotel, following your choirs visit to the hotel. We are so pleased that your group enjoyed their stay, it was a pleasure to accommodate you all. I hope that next time you are performing on the Isle of Wight you will come and stay at the Trouville Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

Paid late room price of 85 pounds thought that was a little steep nice clean hotel good service . Brrakfast nice but could do with better quality sausage hotel a little dated ,only fizzy beers on draught no real ales

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Trouville Hotel. I am sorry that you felt £85 per room was a little steep, however we're glad that you were pleased with the service and the cleanliness of the hotel. Unfortunately, because of the short date on draught real ales we only stock bottles. Thanks again for your review and we hope that you will visit us again next time you are on the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Just had 5 nights at the trouville hotel i.o.w.I must say, it was one of the best hotels I have stayed at in UKfor a long time.
The hotel itself is bright and cheerful,staff well mannered and very effecient,rooms were clean well equipped and had a beautiful view of the sea.
Restaurant menus were varied,and portions were very generous.
Over all a most enjoyable and inexpensive break.
The thirty members of our mail voice choir and our familys wre very well looked after.
Phil Ridgewell.

Room Tip: Sea view 3rd floor room317
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Trouville Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break and that you were impressed with all aspects of your stay. We hope that you and the choir will return to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I arranged a weekend away for 41 people and from the moment we arrived I have nothing but praise for the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble even when one of our party was taken ill they aranged for a doctor to call and also arranged for us to catch an earlier ferry. The menu's were very varied and the food was excellent. Would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Trouville Hotel. We were delighted that you chose to bring your group to the Trouville and so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. It was a shame that one of your party was taken ill and hope they have now made a full recovery. We hope that we will see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This hotel is in a great location; opposite the beach. We had a room with a sea view which was kept clean to a good standard. The food was excellent and the waiters/waitresses were very efficient and helpful, especially Paulina and Adam. Parking was available in a secure car park a short walk from the hotel. We were booked for three nights, two adults and two 15 year olds and the only downside was that the entertainment was targeted for the senior citizens; who made up the majority of the guests. Would return to this hotel, but minus the 15 year olds!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for your kind words about the Trouville Hotel, and for taking the time to share your views with others. We are glad that you found the service to be efficient and enjoyed the food. I am sorry that the entertainment was not to your liking, unfortunately it is hard to find something to suit everybody's taste, however, despite this we hope you will return to the hotel next time you are on the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Had an enjoyable stay at the Truville Hotel in August. Excellent room with great views at a very good price. Good choice of food for vegetarians as well as meat eaters. Staff were friendly and helpful. We appreciated the secure car parking. Will definately recommend this hotel to family and friends and would return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marywales_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you were pleased with your room and enjoyed the variety of choice on our menus. Thank you for recommending the Trouville - we would be delighted to welcome your family and friends to the hotel and, of course, you on your next visit to the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just spent 6 days at the Trouville with a coach party from the North West. I have to agree with the great majority of reviews that this is a lovely hotel, wonderful position ( definitely get a sea view room - if only for the sunrises!), good food and friendly helpful staff. The entertainment was what you would expect - except for "Solent Sounds " ( I think that is what it was called) Very different evening and very enjoyable.
Parts of the hotel are tired and in need of some refurbishment but that did not detract from the general pleasant ambience.
There is a very gentle walk to Shanklin along the sea front with coffee stops on the way.
Being with a coach party I think we covered most of the island & of course, Osborne House. All in all a very enjoyable stay on the I.O.W especially the Trouville!

Room Tip: The views from our sea view room was excellent - try one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyBLythamStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for your review of the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you (and hopefully the rest of your coach party!) enjoyed your stay, particularly the seafront location of the hotel. I agree that some of the public areas of the hotel need some attention, which they will definitely get in January when we undertake some refurbishment work. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £55 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing