We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dizzy bedfordshire”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Dizzy - I am not sure how you found the breakfast, food or service at this hotel not up to standard. Our group of 8 at the same weekend as you were impressed with the food, rooms, lounge, dance floor and the friendly service of the staff. Considering the price of the trip the whole weekend was an exceptionally good deal. The weather certainly didn't keep us in and we had no interest in the Grand Prix. Well done to the Trouville Hotel. Lets hope we are allowed back and we hope Dizzy will stay at home!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay during a dance break in November. We are delighted that you were impressed with all aspects of the hotel and the service.We are glad that you weren't put off by the rain but we hope that when your group returns the sun will be shining for you. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

Late booking so did not know what to expect. Discovered a typical British seaside hotel, great location overlooking beach.
Well organised and friendly hotel.

My lasting memory will be a hotel in which the staff seemed to enjoy their jobs and aimed to give them the best holiday they could.

Hopefully will return at a warmer time of year to see more of IoW

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your New Year's break. We are glad that you found the hotel to be friendly and well organised and that you are looking to return to the Trouville......We will try to arrange some warmer weather for you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This was by far the BEST square dance venue we have been to. Unlike most others it was not run by a square dancer, but by the hotel itself. From the moment we arrived, quite early as it happens, we were treated like honoured guests, and had hot home-made mince pies and coffee in the lounge area, totally free of charge. We were lucky enough to get our rooms very quickly, and they were fresh , clean and warm. The evening meals were served speedily, and with a good choice to suit everyone i would have thought, extra bread was no problem whatsoever, or extra coffee at the end of the meal. Fresh milk was freely given for taking up to the bedrooms. Breakfast, which is not a main meal for us, was fine, freshly made scrambled or poached eggs for me were always hot and tasty. Morning coffee was again free during our morning dance workshops, and the afternoon free to roam around, or play bowls as we did, again free of charge.
The saturday evening Xmas meal started with free wine and a visit and present for everyone from Santa Claus and his helper Debbie, you were a star all through the weekend, thank you! The dining tables were very festive, with every single person having a little box of fun, which we made good use of, blowing and throwing long balloons, popping poppers and blowing paper trumpets, what a racket, what a mess, but what fun! Sorry to the cleaners though! All in all it was a fabulous weekend, thank you james Wyatt for the superb calling. We have already booked our places for next december, cannot give a better recommendation than that. The price was good in comparison to other dance weekends, and included the ferry crossing. looking forward to next year, thanks to ALL the staff at trouville, and a very Happy christmas to you all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your festive break at the Trouville Hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the Square Dance break as this is the first one that we have organised ourselves and we are delighted that it was a success. We are glad that you appreciated the efficient service in the restaurant and the variety of choices available. We are all very much looking forward to the 2013 Festive Square Dance break which we hope will be as successful as last year's (if not more!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This is a dated hotel on Sandown seafront. The rooms are ok, meals are very nice, but the staff are the key point to this location. The bar staff are fantastic! Dan and Catherine especially, they are so good with the customers and are fun to be around.

It needs more doing to it, especially in the entertainment area. The stage is boring looking and needs adequate and relevant lighting for those who perfom there.

Entertainment is good especially the Tuesday night duo - Deja Vu. Funny, entertaining, and sound great!

There is no car parking for this hotel, it is mainly a coaching holiday hotel unless you want to park your car a distance away and walk. There is payable parking outside the hotel but never guaranteed during season time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeThomasIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The Christmas atmosphere created was excellent, I even sat on Santa's knee and received a present because I'd been a good boy.
The caller James Wyatt called and sang to his usual high standard. There were 80 plus dancers in our group.
The food was very welll cooked and presented. The menue was presented with an excellent choice.
There was adequate space in the rooms with sea views.
This was our second visit and we have booked for next year as have a large number of our friends.
The staff in all departmenst were very friendly and helpful.
A very worth while and value for money holiday before the hectic start of the Christmas celebrations. The ferry price is included in the pirce for two travelling.

Room Tip: Request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Thank you for your recent review of your stay over our Festive Square Dance Weekend. I am pleased to hear that you have been a good boy this year and Santa rewarded you with a present! I am also delighted to read your comments about how much you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning next year - we look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We have just returned from the Trouville after a weekend square dancing break with James Wyatt,one of the top British callers. Dancers had travelled from as far as Yorkshire and Cornwall and all hope to come again next year. The hotel coped brilliantly with over 70 dancers and made us all feel really welcome from arrival on Friday afternoon, when we were greeted with home-baked mince pies, until we left after breakfast on Monday. We had a complimentary glass of wine and a visit from Santa on Saturday before dinner and the meals and service were all very good. Almost all rooms have a panoramic sea view and we were lucky to enjoy reasonable weather so we could make the most of our free time between dance sessions. Many thanks to both James and the Trouville for an excellent weekend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Trouville Hotel. I am glad that you felt welcome during the Square Dance weekend and that you enjoyed the evening meals, including the efficient service. We hope that you will return to our next Festive Square Dance Weekend in December 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed with a group of 50 from the 3rd to 7th December. The staff were very friendly and efficient. All double and twin rooms had an unbroken sea view, very clean with all the usual amenities. The food was of a high standard with waiter(ress) service in a very comfortable dining room laid out in tables of mostly fours and sixes with some twos (tables can be arranged to suit). The bar and ballroom are excellent, huge dance floor with tables all around and at the rear where the bar is. There is also a comfortable lounge area away from the ballroom. We had entertainment every evening of good quality and evidently this is the norm all year round. The hotel also has four short mat bowls lanes, table tennis, pool table and darts all in a separate area. The lovely sandy beach is about twenty yards away across the road. Having travelled with the same group for about fifteen years both home and abroad I can honestly say this is probably the best venue to date and looking forward to returning early July.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinstonPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Nicola Amy, Operations Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Trouville Hotel. We are glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us and that you are looking forward to returning in 2013. We look forward to seeing you in July when we hope you will have the same, if not better, experience as in December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £56 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing