We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alton Dynamic Dancers at the Mayfair Hotel”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Alton Dynamic Dancers at the Mayfair Hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

For all to see, the Trouville now has two dance floors, both are fantastic floors, the biggest floors on the Isle of wight,
we have just got back from a dancing break, doing ballroom, latin and Social sequence, was fantastic, staff are well informed, not the usual quick turnover of staff, have be going for 3 years now and staff are still the same, it's a family run hotel, and you can tell, they have you the customer as their priority not the dosh,will be going back again, lots of times,with all our dancing friends, the Alton Dynamic Dancers

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ysanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your views on the Trouville Hotel. We are always delighted to accommodate Alton Dynamic Dancers and we are looking forward to your return later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    143
    50
    5
    6
See reviews for
59
127
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I spent five nights at the hotel as part of a group of 50. There was another large group staying in the hotel at the same time so it is was nearly full. It is well situated on Sandown esplanade close to the pier but car parking is a distance from the main entrance in a side road so it is best to unload at the entrance before parking.

From the moment we arrived until we left we were well looked after by the friendly staff who were happy to attend to our needs however obscure. In particular, I want to mention Debbie at the front of the house always helpful, our waiter Adam, who looked after us well although our demands were diverse at times, and Cath who was always smiling.

Our room on the third floor was adequate for a short stay although I would not like to have had it any smaller. There was a double bed, hanging and drawer space, two chairs, a small desk and bedside table. There were tea/coffee making facilities and a small flat screen tv on a wall. It appeared a little tired, particularly the small bathroom, but was clean. The room had a sea view which was welcome and offered a beautiful sunrise if you were awake early enough.

I tended to walk up and down the narrow stairways with quite steep treads to the third floor although there was a lift that could squeeze in a maximum of four people.

The restaurant was well laid out and the meals were very good. Three course dinners were selected from a good menu that changed every day and they were always well cooked. Despite the hotel being full, the restaurant staff were very efficient and there were no delays in service that I was aware of.

The lounge was fairly large and there were few delays in getting served at the bar. This was the only area where the Internet could be accessed. Judging by the number of laptops, iPads and their equivalent around, I hope it is not long before access is available throughout the hotel.

As part of a large party, I cannot comment on the hotel's entertainment package as we had hired the ballroom on the second floor for the duration of our stay, and provided our own.

All in all a great hotel on the Isle of Wight and I have already initiated a return later in the year.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view so make sure you have one if those. Beware the small rooms that ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel following your stay for a dance break in March. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking to return later on this year. I will pass your comments on to Debbie, Adam and Cath. With regards to the complimentary WIFI facility, we are currently looking into offering this throughout the whole hotel, which may be available for your return stay. We look forward to seeing you again later on this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devizes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed for a three night jazz weekend Friday 22 feb 2013 till Monday morning ,very good hotel,most friendly staff, good choice for breakfast and evening meals all good quality.rooms clean and comfortable,very good value with ferry crossing included,look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the Trouville Hotel. The jazz weekend provided a great atmosphere and I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed the weekend. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the hotel in February. It was arranges by a local coach company in Northumberland. The theme was a world cruise. Each night we were at a different port and had food from that country. All the food was very good and the staff very pleasant and attentive. The rooms were excellent and the public rooms good. Entertainment each night was of a high standard. Although the weather was cold it was a very nice break and we would happily go to this hotel again. All rooms have a sea view.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Trouville Hotel following your trip on the S.S Trouville!! We're delighted you enjoyed the cuisine each night based on various cities around the world. We hope you will return to the Trouville Hotel and hopefully enjoy some warmer weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Attended the three night dance weekend in Feb. Very good value for money. Food was good and all the staff very friendly and helpful. My view was that the entertainment on the Friday night catered for all as it provided for social,sequence and some line dancing. The workshops provided by Emma were good but the Saturday evening failed to match Friday night in catering to everyone's taste. Peoples efforts with the theme night was wasted.The T dance on Sunday was a bonus and Deja Vue on Sunday night were very entertaining. Overall it was a fun packed weekend in a nice hotel ideally located on the sea front. Friendly and helpful staff with good food. Would I go again? DEFINITELY!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Trouville Hotel. We're glad that you found the break to be value for money and you enjoyed the food and service received. We have had mixed reviews about the Friday night entertainment and other aspects of the weekend. We will use all of these comments to ensure next year's break is even better! We would be delighted to accommodate you again at the Trouville for next year's Social Dance Weekend, if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Always a great holiday at the Trouville,food,service,bedrooms, first class
Entertainment enjoyable,particularly Dave Cannon with his video/audio presentation.
A special mention to Debbie who works so hard to ensure guests are made welcome.

Room Tip: first floor rooms with sea view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Trouville Hotel. It is lovely to hear that you always enjoy your visits to our hotel and I will pass your kind comments on to Debbie. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Agree with Irene I review. We attended a 3 night dance weekend in Feb. This was a 1st ballroom weekend as novice dancers. The Trouville hotel was good value with friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good quality food. Lovely location but sea view room spolied by the double galzed windows being fogged up (due to be replaced in March). Fridge in room would have been handy. Entertainment on Friday night was a little too old fashioned for our liking. Sat and Sun mornings we had a good workshops with Emma. Saturday evening was a themed Showboat "ball" and a lot of people had put in a real effort with their costumes but apart from pre dinner drinks & a few balloons on the tables it didn't feel particularly special. There was a T-dance on the Sun afternoon, open to non-residents which was good. We particularly enjoyed Deja Vu a keyboard & singer duet...they would have been good entertainment for Sat evening. Car parking was a at premium along the esplanade but free until March but the hotel has a compond for which you get a ticket from the hotel and code to access it. We were blessed with springlike weather and enjoyed our walk from Sandown to Shanklin (alternatively get the bus). Would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chachalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your break at the Trouville Hotel in February. We are pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay, however I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the Ball on the Saturday night - this is something that we will definitely improve on for next year. We are glad you enjoyed nice weather whilst you were on the Isle of Wight and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Property: Trouville Hotel
Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing