We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“iow delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
berwick-upon-tweed
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“iow delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Room spotless,service first class and food excellent.All in all good value for money.I have travelled all over the world,and very extensively in the united kingdom.and this hotel ranks very highly in my estimation.Pricewise i would recommend it and my only dissapointment was that i could only stay for four nights.Will definitely be returning only this time for longer.

Room Tip: Second floor easy to access,as a single traveller you could ask for a room with a sea view but i was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gerald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
WOW - what a lovely review you have given us, thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the cleanliness of the hotel to the attractive price. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Trouville....we look forward to it! Thank you again for a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    139
    48
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
121
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I was booked into another hotel that was unable to accommodate me and they transferred me to The Trouville. I was not disappointed. As a single traveller I am almost always given a back room somewhere but at The Trouville I was given a lovely room overlooking the ocean which was spotless and comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful. At breakfast there was something for everyone and dinner was delicious. I have no reservation is recommending this hotel and would stay there again. I was sorry to leave.

Room Tip: I stayed off-season and had a first floor room. I did not experience any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
We were delighted to be able to accommodate you, and we are glad you were not disappointed!

It is lovely to read that you found all the staff friendly and helpful and that there was sufficient choice for you on the breakfast and evening meal menus.

Don't be sorry to leave.....you will just have to book another stay - we look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

My wife and myself took advantage of The Trouville's offer of four nights dinner, bed and breakfast for the price of two nights for the last four days in April. It was excellent value for money. The hotel is situated in an ideal location and our room overlooking the sea was excellent. The hotel itself, the rooms, the indoor bowls arena, the lounge and dining room were spacious and clean. The meals were top notch and for both meal occasions there was a satisfactory selection. Most people at the hotel during our stay were part of coach parties and approximately a dozen were present under their own steam. The car par -- a short walk from the hotel -- was OK but one imagines that, in the summer when the hotel is full with individual guests, the limited spaces on offer could be a problem. Tony Hurren

Room Tip: Go for one overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loramskiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
It is great to hear that you took advantage of our special offer during April - I agree it is excellent value for money!

We're glad that you enjoyed the seafront location and that you were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. As you quite rightly mention, the hotel car park cannot accommodate all the cars, should the hotel be full with individual guests, however this doesn't occur very often and therefore does not pose a problem for the majority of the time that we are open.

Thank you so much for your kind comments, and for adding a photo! Keep an eye out for our special offers so you can, again, enjoy excellent value for money!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have just come back from a dance weekend at this hotel. The plus points were, friendly helpful staff, whole hotel was spotless throughout, well appointed bedrooms and the food was very pleasant and well presented. The minus points were, there were two ballrooms one on ground floor the other upstairs, the lower one was much larger and had ceiling fans, the upper one had low ceilings no fans it was stifling hot and the accoustics were dreadful, we also had to go up and down stairs to the bar if we wanted a drink although the staff did offer to do this for us.
The main minus point was the car parking, we did have a space in the car park which was a good 5 minutes walk away up steep steps or steep hill. The rest of the guests had to pay £17 to park for the week- end and were then afraid to take car out in case they could not re-park it.

Room Tip: All the double rooms have sea view, but be beware of dredger cleaning the beach at 6am on a Sunday m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
We are so pleased that you found the staff at the Trouville Hotel friendly and that you noticed, and were impressed by, the cleanliness of the hotel.

I'm sorry you were not wholly satisfied with our Function Room. The room was decorated and the dance floor laid in January and we still have a lot of finishing off to do, however I'm sure you can appreciate that this is difficult when the hotel is open and the room is in use. We were unsure of how popular the room would be for dancers and therefore have delayed the installation of a 'mini bar', evening lighting, fans etc. However, we are receiving several bookings for the Function Room from dance groups so we will be looking into these improvements as soon as it is feasible to do so.

I'm glad that you were able to park in our complimentary car park. The weekend of your visit saw 130 guests travel by car, and unfortunately, we were unable to accommodate all of these cars in our car park. We were fortunate enough to be able to order some car parking permits through the Isle of Wight Council, prior to your arrival, which enabled guests to park a long the sea front at a discounted rate (instead of feeding the meter).

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Trouville Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Isle of Wight
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

i have to say how unimpressed i was with our stay at this hotel. we got turned away from the hotel restaurant as apparently we hadnt pre booked although we were told nothing about having to pre book by the reception when we checked in. i felt so embarressed to be turned out of the hotel restaurant in which we were guests at. we then got told there was a chinese round the corner and that we could eat there. i had a briused foot at the time so walking was very painful yet if we wanted to eat we had to walk elsewhere. the staff were rude and the service was terrible . the room was very basic and dated with hardly any amenities. i was so upset by how they made me feel that i wanted to go home . we stayed and in the morning at breakfast we were led to a table which was the only table without jams ect. we werent asked if we wanted any . i have stayed at plenty of hotels but have never been made to feel as uncomfortable and embarressed as i did there. im not one to usually moan or complain but i wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Abim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your review. Firstly I would like to apologise for your experience during your recent stay. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and we are truly sorry if you did not receive this.

I will write to you shortly with the intention of making it up to you, and redeem our otherwise good reputation we are so proud of.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. It is only with guest comments that we can ensure the highest level of customer service is provided at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Nice clean hotel.Great location. Good sized rooms. Food good, generous portions. Would have given it more stars except only one lift 4 people maximum, and pricey bar tariff £2.80 for a pint of Lemonade.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room. Well worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
We're delighted that you enjoyed the sea view from your bedroom window - it's beautiful to watch the sunrise!

I'm sorry that you felt the bar prices were too high - we are currently looking into these and hopefully you will find them more reasonable when you next visit the Trouville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

What a brilliant weekend (Friday - Monday) I had at this hotel. I travelled with a group of 90 line dancers and I didn't hear anyone complain about anything except the bar prices (I paid £4.25 for a white wine spritzer and then £3.80 for two teeny bottles of diet pepsi which was a bit of a shock!).
The hotel is right on the front at Sandown, literally a few steps across the road to the beach. The room I shared with a friend was spacious and clean and we had a small flat screen TV, tea making facilities, a hairdryer and an amazing view of the sea. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and there was always plenty of hot water.
We were on half board basis and the food was excellent, various choices on each course every night, and the staff were all pleasant and helpful. Plenty of cereals etc for breakfast and a choice of items for the 'Full English'.
The ballroom was the perfect size for us all to dance and there was a separate large lounge area which was very relaxing.
Overall this was a great place to stay - handy for the shops and pier at Sandown and with good bus services to other towns on the island. We walked (slowly) along the shoreline to Shanklin which took about 40 minutes. A few of us wanted to visit Osborne House and the receptionist organised a mini bus which cost £70 return, so with 13 of us going, it worked out at £6 each, which was much cheaper than local buses and much quicker too!
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, friendly place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivngeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
What a lovely review you have written about the Trouville Hotel - thank you very much. It's great to read that you had an enjoyable weekend line dancing and that you would recommend the hotel. Thank you for your feedback about the drinks prices, we are currently looking into re-pricing our drinks.

We're glad that you were able to visit Osborne House during your stay, it's definitely worth a visit!

Thanks again for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel and we hope to see you all again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Property: Trouville Hotel
Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing