We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandown Hotel(Sandown)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Wight(Sandown)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Caprera Hotel(Sandown)
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
243
161
63
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
161
63
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdance weekendsea viewline danceindoor bowlsisle of wightlarge ballroomfourth floorrock and rollsea frontsmall liftbowling clubcoach partiesthe staff were extremely helpfuldance floorgenerous portionslovely hotelcoach load
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Would not visit again . Evening meals hit and miss. No Internet but claimed to have free wifi
Lift took 4 people at a time -very slow !
Staff friendly and helpful
Good location
Didn't quite make it I am afraid.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eileenharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

I was really disappointed to read your recent review. I'm sorry you felt the evening meals were 'hit and miss' - this is very surprising. We do have free wifi which is available on the ground floor only, perhaps you were trying to access this from your bedroom. We're sorry that you will not be returning but appreciate your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Went with Northants Ladies bowling club. Hotel very clean and modern. Food superb with lots of choice. All twin rooms overlooking beach and sea. We had a double and a single in room 403. Only fault I could say is that there is only 1 small lift that takes 4 people so a wait or walking up stairs if you are fit. Entertainment quite good. Best English hotel I have every stayed in. Osbourne House certainly worth a visit whilst you are in the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellaRushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel following your stay with the Northamptonshire Ladies Bowls Club. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the week, especially the choice and standard of food!! I agree - Osborne House is definitely worth a visit! We hope that next time you are bowling on the Isle of Wight you will return to the Trouville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights at this excellent hotel right on the seafront at Sandown. Rooms very clean and good superb food ! Excellent location right on the beach front. Staff very friendly - I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you very much for your second review of the Trouville Hotel! We're so pleased you enjoyed your return visit and we hope to see you many more times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here over the August Bank Holiday weekend as part of a Bowling Club group of around 50 people. The only negative comments are that the outside of the hotel looks a little tired and the proximity of the beach means that it gets quite noisy at night with young people frolicking on the beach and promenade just under the bedroom window (which had to be open because of the heat and lack of air conditioning.

Our deal included breakfast and evening meal, both of which were always well-cooked, hot and with a good range of menu options.

The room had clearly been freshened up fairly recently - the decor, while not being ultra modern was quite new and attractive. In an older hotel like this I was expecting dark wood and woodchip wallpaper!! Public areas were comfortable and large enough for the number of guests.

Staff and service were always efficient and friendly. Jemma in particular deserves a mention. She was our waitress for the whole weekend and was very helpful and friendly without being over-familiar.

Overall, we found the hotel met all our needs and expectations and I would certainly stay there again as a family should we return to the island.

Room Tip: Although the back of the hotel is quieter during the night, the view is very unattractive. Rooms further away from the central staircase involve several firedoors to be negotiated - which is not easy with luggage.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you would return to the Trouville Hotel with your family - we would love to accommodate you all! We're sorry that you felt the outside of the hotel looked tired, but pleased that you were impressed with the bedroom decor. I will pass your comments on to Jemma and the rest of the staff and we look forward to seeing you and your family at the Trouville Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of August and it was boiling in the room. We opened the window as soon as we arrived, and it faced directly on to the sea, but nothing seemed to cool the room down much. We were only staying two days, but if it had been longer we would have been looking for a different hotel with aircon.

On the positive side though, the rooms were clean and pleasant. The bathroom was equally fine. The bar was not too noisy, there was a separate lounge for the caberet. The breakfast was good but not great.

The hotel is directly on the beach so is a good location for family holidays.

The car parking is a few streets away from the hotel. It is locked and so seems safe enough, but isn't too handy. Even using the lift there are stairs to get to some of the rooms, so if you are elderly you need to check just which rooms you are getting.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Trouville Hotel. I'm sorry that you found the room to be too hot whilst you were staying with us - you were fortunate enough to have very hot weather whilst you were on the Isle of Wight. We're glad you found the rooms to be clean and you appreciated the location of the hotel. With regards to stairs to the rooms, there are only 6 out of 82 bedrooms that require guests to use stairs so we only use this if really necessary. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews