We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bowling Holiday”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Can't fault the hotel, food was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bedrooms very clean. Bathrooms clean but a bit dated. Would certainly stay there again. Location was brilliant. Bowling good well looked after by the staff. Hoping to return next year.

Room Tip: Has to be a sea view room every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddie2009Usk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

It is wonderful to read that you couldn't fault the hotel - thank you very much! We hope the rest of the Usk Short Mat Bowls Club enjoyed their stay as much as you did! We would love to see you all again next year - please do get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 night at the Trouville Hotel D.B&B the food was very nice and well varied and very good quick service with friendly staff. We had a sea front bedroom we would have liked a twin room but the double room was very comfortable, the bathroom was quite dated but we had plenty of hot water.As we were on the 4th floor we used the lift which only takes 4 people but didn't find we had to wait very long to use it. The evening entertainment was very enjoyable, We enjoyed our stay it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice_sturzaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It's very kind of you to say we are 'A hotel to recommend'. We're glad you experienced efficient service in the dining room and you found the staff to be friendly. We'd be delighted to accommodate you again next time you are on the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Would not visit again . Evening meals hit and miss. No Internet but claimed to have free wifi
Lift took 4 people at a time -very slow !
Staff friendly and helpful
Good location
Didn't quite make it I am afraid.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eileenharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

I was really disappointed to read your recent review. I'm sorry you felt the evening meals were 'hit and miss' - this is very surprising. We do have free wifi which is available on the ground floor only, perhaps you were trying to access this from your bedroom. We're sorry that you will not be returning but appreciate your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Went with Northants Ladies bowling club. Hotel very clean and modern. Food superb with lots of choice. All twin rooms overlooking beach and sea. We had a double and a single in room 403. Only fault I could say is that there is only 1 small lift that takes 4 people so a wait or walking up stairs if you are fit. Entertainment quite good. Best English hotel I have every stayed in. Osbourne House certainly worth a visit whilst you are in the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellaRushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel following your stay with the Northamptonshire Ladies Bowls Club. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the week, especially the choice and standard of food!! I agree - Osborne House is definitely worth a visit! We hope that next time you are bowling on the Isle of Wight you will return to the Trouville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights at this excellent hotel right on the seafront at Sandown. Rooms very clean and good superb food ! Excellent location right on the beach front. Staff very friendly - I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you very much for your second review of the Trouville Hotel! We're so pleased you enjoyed your return visit and we hope to see you many more times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here over the August Bank Holiday weekend as part of a Bowling Club group of around 50 people. The only negative comments are that the outside of the hotel looks a little tired and the proximity of the beach means that it gets quite noisy at night with young people frolicking on the beach and promenade just under the bedroom window (which had to be open because of the heat and lack of air conditioning.

Our deal included breakfast and evening meal, both of which were always well-cooked, hot and with a good range of menu options.

The room had clearly been freshened up fairly recently - the decor, while not being ultra modern was quite new and attractive. In an older hotel like this I was expecting dark wood and woodchip wallpaper!! Public areas were comfortable and large enough for the number of guests.

Staff and service were always efficient and friendly. Jemma in particular deserves a mention. She was our waitress for the whole weekend and was very helpful and friendly without being over-familiar.

Overall, we found the hotel met all our needs and expectations and I would certainly stay there again as a family should we return to the island.

Room Tip: Although the back of the hotel is quieter during the night, the view is very unattractive. Rooms fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you would return to the Trouville Hotel with your family - we would love to accommodate you all! We're sorry that you felt the outside of the hotel looked tired, but pleased that you were impressed with the bedroom decor. I will pass your comments on to Jemma and the rest of the staff and we look forward to seeing you and your family at the Trouville Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of August and it was boiling in the room. We opened the window as soon as we arrived, and it faced directly on to the sea, but nothing seemed to cool the room down much. We were only staying two days, but if it had been longer we would have been looking for a different hotel with aircon.

On the positive side though, the rooms were clean and pleasant. The bathroom was equally fine. The bar was not too noisy, there was a separate lounge for the caberet. The breakfast was good but not great.

The hotel is directly on the beach so is a good location for family holidays.

The car parking is a few streets away from the hotel. It is locked and so seems safe enough, but isn't too handy. Even using the lift there are stairs to get to some of the rooms, so if you are elderly you need to check just which rooms you are getting.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Trouville Hotel. I'm sorry that you found the room to be too hot whilst you were staying with us - you were fortunate enough to have very hot weather whilst you were on the Isle of Wight. We're glad you found the rooms to be clean and you appreciated the location of the hotel. With regards to stairs to the rooms, there are only 6 out of 82 bedrooms that require guests to use stairs so we only use this if really necessary. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £55 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing