We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Caprera Hotel(Sandown)
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wight(Sandown)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Sandown Hotel(Sandown)
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
243
161
63
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
161
63
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdance weekendsea viewline danceindoor bowlsisle of wightlarge ballroomfourth floorrock and rollsea frontsmall liftbowling clubcoach partiesthe staff were extremely helpfuldance floorgenerous portionslovely hotelcoach load
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Trouville in Sandown. It is a delighful, friendly place. The staff coiuld'nt be more helpful, the food is just marvalous. I had a twin bedded room, very clean, comfortable, mmm gorgious towels (my weakness). Only complaint which is not the fault of the Hotel, their car park which is some way away from the hotel, was full, there are restrictions and charges everywhere, so difficult to park. Have already booked to stay again in 2014. Thanks Trouville.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel and for sharing some of your pictures!! It's great to read that this was your forth visit to the hotel and you have booked for your fifth!! We're sorry that you were not able to utilise our complimentary car park, unfortunately the free parking along the seafront does not start until 01 November so you just missed out. We look forward to seeing you again for our 2014 Rock 'n' Roll weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Have just returned from an excellent weekend in this hotel, organised by the hotel but run by the outstanding Dancing Dave Wall.
The food was very good, the staff were extremely helpful and the hotel has a very good ballroom.
Dancing Dave works very hard to please everyone and I cannot recommend this event highly enough for anyone who loves rock and roll music.
We have already booked again for next year.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammy697375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you very much for the fantastic review you have given us following your stay at our Rock 'n' Roll weekend. We're so pleased that you had an enjoyable time and that you have booked for next year - we can't wait!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Last weekend we spent 3 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself organised local bowling teams to compete with our teams which was well organised with free refreshments at half time. Also, the bowling rink was available to us 24/7 with no extra cost. The food and service were excellent as were the other facilities. I was particularly impressed with the availability of a gluten free diet which I need. In total 23 of our short mat bowling club members attended and they were all of the same opinion as me. The majority of the rooms had fine sea views.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for your great review of the Trouville Hotel, we're so pleased that you and the rest of Yeovil Marsh SMBC enjoyed their weekend stay. We're glad you took advantage of the gluten free options available and that you were impressed with the service. We hope it was a winning weekend for your team and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Realistically, the accommodation price paid was very reasonable, but I would have preferred to pay more and go somewhere nicer. I felt this hotel was a little 'dingy' and needed a good decorate throughout. Beds were cheap and nasty - so if you go - take your own pillows at the least. In all honesty the whole area of Sandown looked like it should be in the 1960's - it all needs a face lift an its not an area I would rush back to.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - they are all the same....
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

After responding to so many positive reviews of the Trouville Hotel it was disappointing to read yours, although we do appreciate you taking the time as this can help us improve our service/product. All the bedrooms have been decorated to a modern standard and they are well maintained. I agree that the corridors could do with modernising - we are currently considering a suitable colour scheme which will enable work to start on this in January 2014. I am surprised at your comment that the beds are cheap and nasty - throughout 2012 we replaced all of the beds and I can assure you they were not cheap!! Again, thank you for giving us feedback on your stay and hopefully you will give Sandown and the Trouville Hotel another chance sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have just returned from a 5 day break at the Trouville Hotel in the lovely Isle of Wight, which my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed. We originally spent Christmas 2012 there and liked it so much that we returned for another visit this autumn and we were not disappointed. Our spotlessly clean room had large windows which looked directly over the sea so we had a wonderful view and went to sleep to the sound of the waves breaking on the sand - magic!.
The hotel itself is warm and spacious with a large ballroom, where the nightly entertainment took place, a well stocked bar and attractive lounge and dining room. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food was generous and well presented, although the variety of vegetables was limited. We were part of a coach party and enjoyed daily excursions in good weather to various places of interest, including Island Pearl, Waltzing Waters ( absolutely beautiful!) Godshill Village and the Needles.
The only drawback in this hotel, in my opinion, is the lift system. There is only one small lift, carrying 4 passengers at a time. For such a large hotel as this, which must have well over 200 guests over 4 floors, it is woefully inadequate, especially on change-over days when it is used to move luggage around and necessitates long waits for the many guests with limited mobility.
However, It is a lovely hotel in a prime position, which makes it's guests feel very welcome and I would not hesitate to recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Double and twin rooms all have sea views but single rooms are at the back.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we're delighted that you've made a return visit after enjoying Christmas at the Trouville Hotel last year. It sounds like you had a busy week visiting lots of places on the island but I'm glad you were able to take advantage of your sea view room when you returned each day. It is so lovely to read that you were made to feel welcome by the friendly staff - we would all love for you to return for a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews