We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alton Dynamic dancers at the trouville Hotel IOW”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Alton Dynamic dancers at the trouville Hotel IOW”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Another successful dance at the Trouville Hotel, good food, great floor, all our rooms had a sea view, perfect, lifts to all floors so no struggling up the stairs after a night of dancing,Bar remained open till we collapsed, even better, tell me where you can get a good bottle of wine for under £15 in a Hotel, and they even stock wine from "Rare Vineyards" in France,

Room Tip: don't forget to ask for a room with a sea view,if you like to sound of the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ysanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Ysanne - it's so nice of you to review the Trouville following one of your many stays with your dance group! It's great that you keep returning and are always happy with the service, food, etc! We're looking forward to your next visit in March 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    148
    53
    7
    8
See reviews for
60
135
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our room was clean with wonderful views of the sea. The beds were comfortable and the staff were great. We were with a dance group and we all ate together but the service was good and n the whole the food was varied and very acceptable although sometimes it was not as hot as it should have been.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Trouville following your dance break - we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I was surprised to read that your food was not as hot as you would have liked but thank you for pointing this out as we will look to improve this. We hope this will not affect your decision to return to the Trouville Hotel - we would love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was a weekend away with a line dance group. All the double rooms have a sea view but I had a single room at the back of the hotel. In spite of this, the room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was good and included a nice big bath plus shower. There was always plenty of hot water and tea/coffee making facilities in my room. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was very good, plenty of choices and a buffet style breakfast was served each day plus a full English if you so required it. I would definitely stay there again if on the Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay for a Line dance weekend. We're pleased you had an enjoyable time and that you wouldn't hesitate to return. It's always nice to read complimentary reviews, particularly about the staff, so thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Have stopped here a number of times for Rock and Roll weekends, most of which have been organised by a friend, this one was put on by the Hotel.
Never been disappointed stopping here and nor were we this time. Since our last visit the rooms have been refurbished and they have done a pretty good job. They are never going to be luxurious given their size especially the bathrooms, but now look modern.
Food again was very good with plenty of choice and waitress service for breakfast and dinner.
Entertainment excellent, bands booked through liaison with DJ Dancing Dave who is well known on the Rock n Roll circuit.

It was good to see that Debbie the hard working Manager was still there, still ever present throughout the weekend to make sure everything runs smoothly. Some of the other staff have been there for quite a long time and all staff are friendly.

This weekend was sold out months in advance and a number of people have already booked for next year so I guess that pretty much says it all.
The only reason I knocked a star off was due to the duvet covers being a strange off white colour and didn't look very good quality, pillows weren't great either.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandalphCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We're overwhelmed by the positive reviews we've had following our first Rock 'n' Roll weekend for 8 years - thank you very much! We're glad you noticed the refurbishments in the rooms, improvements are continually being made to the hotel so hopefully on your next visit you will notice some more differences! Debbie will be delighted you have given her a special mention - I will pass your comments on to her. Our 2014 Rock 'n' Roll break is filling up fast so we do hope you will be re-booking!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just returned from a four day break, one of many return visits to the Trouville Hotel.

Everything there is of a consistent quality in terms of food,bedroom cleanliness and in particular

the helpful staff.Entertainment every evening is a useful benefit and enjoyed by the majority

of guests,would recommend,without hesitation to all prospective guests.

For information beware of parking wardens on the promenade who 'appear' from nowhere.

Room Tip: Essential to select a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We're so pleased that you find the quality of the service at the hotel consistent during your stays and that you would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others. We hope that you will return for another stay at the Trouville Hotel and we'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others after each visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great Hotel.
Receptionist very good, as was the rest of the front of house staff.
Food very good and a very good selection to choose from on the menu,
Housekeeping also very good, my chambermaid was so sweet and very good at her job.
Have booked to go again next year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Diana, thank you so much for a lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were impressed with the staff in all departments. We're really looking forward to the next Rock 'n' Roll weekend and pleased that you can join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Trouville in Sandown. It is a delighful, friendly place. The staff coiuld'nt be more helpful, the food is just marvalous. I had a twin bedded room, very clean, comfortable, mmm gorgious towels (my weakness). Only complaint which is not the fault of the Hotel, their car park which is some way away from the hotel, was full, there are restrictions and charges everywhere, so difficult to park. Have already booked to stay again in 2014. Thanks Trouville.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel and for sharing some of your pictures!! It's great to read that this was your forth visit to the hotel and you have booked for your fifth!! We're sorry that you were not able to utilise our complimentary car park, unfortunately the free parking along the seafront does not start until 01 November so you just missed out. We look forward to seeing you again for our 2014 Rock 'n' Roll weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
421 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,245 reviews
2.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Property: Trouville Hotel
Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing