We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Matt bowls”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short Matt bowls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This is the second year we have done this. There was fifteen people in the group . The hotel is clean , the staff are very friendly and the food you could not fault . It is ideal for large group or family holiday . They also do weekend specials , dancing ect . Finally the view from front bedroom windows very nice right on the sea front .

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pwilliams1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
It's brilliant to read you enjoyed your return visit on a short mat bowls break. We hope the rest of your party enjoyed it as much as you did! We love entertaining a mix of people from short mat bowlers to scrabble players; and from ballroom dancers to zumba enthusiasts! Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    140
    48
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
122
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have visited the Isle of Wight many times, mostly in Sandown, but this was our first time at the Trouville. And what a lovely hotel it is. Lovely room facing the sea, spotlessly clean. The food was excellant, hot with little waiting, despite the number of people sat down. And most important of the staff were not only very helpful, but looked as though they enjoyed it.
Overall an excellant hotel, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phasmid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We're very grateful for the wonderful review you have given us! It's great that, on this visit to Sandown, you chose to stay at the Trouville Hotel and, even better, that you loved it! We're glad that you enjoyed the food and noticed the cleanliness of the hotel. We hope that on your next visit to Sandown you will choose to stay at the Trouville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orpington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We, too, went back at the beginning of November with a line-dance group. Having been there many times before over the last 7-8 years, it was good to see that a number of the staff who were orginally there are still there. This must be a good sign? Anyway, food & service always good, & staff very polite & helpful .Must mention Clare in the Restaurant , who looked after our table brilliantly. Also, Debbie ('Boss Lady'!) who can't seem to stand still - but can always find time to have a laugh with the guests. Hope we go back again!

Room Tip: Every time we've been here (approx. 8 times), we have ALWAYS been allocated a room on the 3rd. f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We were delighted to welcome you back at the Trouville Hotel, we're glad you had an enjoyable time! We are very lucky that we retain a high percentage of our staff (it's kind of you to notice) - we must be doing something right!! Claire is very appreciative of your kind comments, as is Debbie, so thank you for highlighting their good work. We also hope you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Another successful dance at the Trouville Hotel, good food, great floor, all our rooms had a sea view, perfect, lifts to all floors so no struggling up the stairs after a night of dancing,Bar remained open till we collapsed, even better, tell me where you can get a good bottle of wine for under £15 in a Hotel, and they even stock wine from "Rare Vineyards" in France,

Room Tip: don't forget to ask for a room with a sea view,if you like to sound of the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ysanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Ysanne - it's so nice of you to review the Trouville following one of your many stays with your dance group! It's great that you keep returning and are always happy with the service, food, etc! We're looking forward to your next visit in March 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our room was clean with wonderful views of the sea. The beds were comfortable and the staff were great. We were with a dance group and we all ate together but the service was good and n the whole the food was varied and very acceptable although sometimes it was not as hot as it should have been.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Trouville following your dance break - we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I was surprised to read that your food was not as hot as you would have liked but thank you for pointing this out as we will look to improve this. We hope this will not affect your decision to return to the Trouville Hotel - we would love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was a weekend away with a line dance group. All the double rooms have a sea view but I had a single room at the back of the hotel. In spite of this, the room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was good and included a nice big bath plus shower. There was always plenty of hot water and tea/coffee making facilities in my room. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was very good, plenty of choices and a buffet style breakfast was served each day plus a full English if you so required it. I would definitely stay there again if on the Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay for a Line dance weekend. We're pleased you had an enjoyable time and that you wouldn't hesitate to return. It's always nice to read complimentary reviews, particularly about the staff, so thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Have stopped here a number of times for Rock and Roll weekends, most of which have been organised by a friend, this one was put on by the Hotel.
Never been disappointed stopping here and nor were we this time. Since our last visit the rooms have been refurbished and they have done a pretty good job. They are never going to be luxurious given their size especially the bathrooms, but now look modern.
Food again was very good with plenty of choice and waitress service for breakfast and dinner.
Entertainment excellent, bands booked through liaison with DJ Dancing Dave who is well known on the Rock n Roll circuit.

It was good to see that Debbie the hard working Manager was still there, still ever present throughout the weekend to make sure everything runs smoothly. Some of the other staff have been there for quite a long time and all staff are friendly.

This weekend was sold out months in advance and a number of people have already booked for next year so I guess that pretty much says it all.
The only reason I knocked a star off was due to the duvet covers being a strange off white colour and didn't look very good quality, pillows weren't great either.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandalphCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We're overwhelmed by the positive reviews we've had following our first Rock 'n' Roll weekend for 8 years - thank you very much! We're glad you noticed the refurbishments in the rooms, improvements are continually being made to the hotel so hopefully on your next visit you will notice some more differences! Debbie will be delighted you have given her a special mention - I will pass your comments on to her. Our 2014 Rock 'n' Roll break is filling up fast so we do hope you will be re-booking!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Property: Trouville Hotel
Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing