We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thurrock & District Bowls Tourists”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Hotel Front of House Manager, Debbie, met us on arrival and offered us all complimentary tea or coffee while our luggage was taken to our rooms. Our rooms were all sparkling clean and comfortable. The meals were excellent with ample choice and generous portions. Debbie, was extremely helpful to our group and became involved with the banter and fun that we all had. The Evening Entertainment was very good with the Wednesday show by Dave Cannon particularly enjoyable.
On our departure day the staff led by Debbie were particularly good in organising the cases being picked up from outside our rooms and brought to the entrance for loading onto our coach.
Thanks to all of the staff for an excellent hoiiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay with us. We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Trouville Hotel for your bowls break and we hope you will return for your next tour! It is wonderful to hear that Debbie looked after you so well and that you were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the variety and quality of food that we offer. We really hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 night weekend with Country Link group.

Well fitted comfortable rooms
Friendly staff
Good food
Excellent service
Terrific value for money
Ideal location, right on the beach

What else is there to say?
Go & see for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjemje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we're so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the Trouville Hotel. We hope to see you again, either with the Country Link group or independently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family, with a very large group of friends (130ish Country Link members) stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, & I am so pleased this was the place chosen by our leaders.
"My parents are going to have to catch the 3am ferry, is a 4.15am check in OK?"...No problem. The night staff were as polite & efficient as if is was a normal check in time for my parents! Never come across a place so flexible.
The beds were perfect, our clean rooms overlooked the sea, & a paddle or a stroll on the sand was only over the road. The comfortable lounge & the dining room overlooked the sea too. The menu choices covered everyones tastes & it was a pleasant surprise to have so much to choose from, & a good helping too. The staff were more like friends, knew who you were, & were really nice people. Debbie really did work tirelessly to make sure we had a wonderful holiday, she never stopped!
We stayed an extra few nights, & every night of our stay there was really good entertainment. The dance floor was top rate, & if you are into 'serious' dancing, this hotel is well worth considering. Even the enterainers take the time to talk to you!
All in all, a brilliant stay at a friendly wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are so grateful for the brilliant review you have given us - thank you very much!! It is wonderful to read what a fantastic weekend was had by your group, and you enjoyed sunny weather too! I will pass your comments on to Debbie and the rest of the staff and we all hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We belong to a social group called Country Link that has two weekends a year in different locations in the country. We needed a hotel on the Isle of Wight that had the right location, facilities and the know how to satisfy our requirements. The Trouville fulfilled everything we needed and we have had a brilliant weekend.
Our group consisted of 127 folk and the hotel was able to accommodate us in clean comfortable rooms. The dining room was excellent with a wonderful view of the pier and beach and the numerous ships out in the bay.
The bar and lounge gave us a nice area to congregate and relax and the ballroom was so large everyone was able to fit on the floor to dance the night away.
The meals were terrific, well cooked, good portions and hot. The service team served the meals with expert skill and humour. The whole staff in the hotel added to our enjoyment.
Well done Trouville you completed our weekend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your weekend break at the Trouville Hotel. We're delighted that your group enjoyed their stay with us and that all your requirements were fulfilled. We would love to accommodate your party again should you return to the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April 2014 as part of a dance weekend break. It was a whole new experience; comfortable beds, friendly staff, excellent service. Helen, the Head Chef, accommodated my dietary requirements with ease, unlike every hotel we have stayed at previously. A refreshing, caring attitude which makes for a relaxing stay. Best hotel we've stayed in. Especially recommend it for those with special diets.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We were more than happy to accommodate your dietary requirements and would do so again if you returned! We're really pleased you enjoyed the dance weekend and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel has it all - all staff are so friendly with a great sense of humour, helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much. All with smiles on their faces. Food out of this world. Room with a view of the sea. Entertainment was great (I don't like C&W music but can't please everyone!) Comedian come musician from 60s group, 'Tornados' was excellent. It was great to use the ballroom and not bump into anyone. There is no way anyone could fault this hotel - if they do, see me! Hats off to the management team who are obviously lovely to work with. Hope to see you next year with the same Vale Coach duo - Lee and Brian

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. 4th floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Wow - thank you so much for the brilliant review you have given us! We're delighted that you enjoyed your Easter break with us. It's great to read that you found all the staff to be friendly and accommodating and that you enjoyed the entertainment. We would love to have you all back again next Easter, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just spent four days at this hotel with our dancers and cannot fault it. The rooms are pleasant and clean, lovely comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The restaurant and staff - wonderful. Food very good with good choice.

Ballroom excellent and enough room for all our dancers which was 90. Our group enjoyed the sea views from their bedrooms and to make our stay even more glorious was the weather!

One of our dancers had quite a varied dietry requirement but the head chef met with him and went over what he could and could not eat - he was amazed and has never had that treatment before.

Can't say enough about The Trouville. We shall be back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! It's great to see that your dance group enjoyed their weekend with us. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the variety of food on offer and it was our pleasure to assist one of your dancers with their dietary requirements - we hope he enjoyed the food too! We're looking forward to your return in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
451 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £55 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing