We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Trouville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trouville Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

In fact, I extended my stay!

Okay this one may look dated outside with paint work chipping off but inside it's nice and clean. It was very hot outside, but inside it wasn't too bad as the doors and windows were open allowing the seabreeze to flow in.

Manager, very nice and very helpful. Reception - very friendly, and very helpful too, but if you do have any concerns, ask during the daytime as night person wasn't particularly helpful. He won't even let you finish your statement and will just tell you to ask the day staff. Apart from that everyone else was very professional and helpful.

The room - very clean, comfortable beds. We stayed in a sea view room so even without the fan we slept comfortably. And it's very pleasant and relaxing waking up to the sound of the sea. Some reviews said their rooms were to hot, so I suggest you bring your own small fan which should help a lot.

The bathroom - I would say it's okay. If I have to be fussy then maybe it needs new sealant around the bath but really it wasn't a big deal. It's clean, very good water pressure, lots of toiletries and towels. Kids enjoyed their bath after playing on the beach.

Breakfast - the usual Full English Breakfast plus lots of nice toasts. You can also help yourself to unlimited cereals and fruit juice. Staff are very professional and friendly. Busy usually from 8:00am to 8:30.

Parking - There is secure parking offsite, about 3 minute walk... but you can also park on the esplanade for around £7.40 for the day. Parking restrictions from 10:00am to 6:00pm. I parked on the esplanade just in front of the hotel, which was very convenient because we can just leave the beach stuff like toys, tent, chairs in the car when we go in the hotel and just take them out again when we want to play on the beach.

Vicinity - Beach is just infront, just 10 steps away. Sandown Pier is literally a minute walk. Restaurants and cafe within two-minute walk. Sainsbury's local and cashpoint just round the corner - less than two minute walk. Two chinese restaurants, Indian restaurant, Turkish kebab, shops and more just two minutes walk.

There is a nice playroom where you can play bowls, table tennis, or snooker. A nice bar and the ballroom next to it with live entertainment most nights.

Overall, a very pleasant enjoyable stay. I would definitely recommend this to families or couples. Will I stay here again? Oh definitely yes yes yes! I've had a look around while I was there and also compared other hotels, but I will definitely choose this hotel everytime I visit IOW.

Hope this review helps.

Room Tip: This hotel is not airconditioned and there were no fans in the room... we stayed in a sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZacCIo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you very much for such a brilliant review! We're so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your break with us....and that you extended your stay! We're glad the weather was sunny for you during your stay so that you could make the most of the beach (on our doorstep!). We would love for you to return to stay with so please do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    144
    51
    6
    7
See reviews for
59
131
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Upon reaching the hotel we were surprised to find that the hotel had a large reception area, bar and lounge area ...Unfortunately that's as good as it got!
Considering how hot the day was we were surprised to find there were no fans nor air cons in the room, I even saw the staff were fanning themselves with the menu cards!
The Wifi which was meant to be available in the lounge area was hopeless and after several useless attempts we gave up!
The rooms were fairly average and didn't even contain a single bottle of water which is common at most basic hotels, when we asked for some cold water we were advised to drink tap water! We obviously had no choice but to open the one window that opened which allowed for some hungry mossies to come in and enjoy a bite or two.
The only positive part of our stay was the lovely woman who attended to us at breakfast and the food we were served!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Trouville Hotel, what a beautiful, sunny time you chose to come to the Isle of Wight! We're sorry you could not work our WIFI system, a member of staff would have been happy to assist you getting logged on if you'd have asked. Tap water is perfectly fine to drink on the Isle of Wight however, if you were unsure, bottles of water are also available to purchase from the bar which is open from 10.30am every morning. We're glad you enjoyed your breakfast and the manner in which is was served. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had to slept for a night in IOW 2 weeks ago and I booked this hotel after checking the reviews here. It seemed a nice decent little hotel by the seaside. After a long day's journey we arrived the hotel around 8pm. Upon checking in, as soon as the staff (a lady with harsh expression and tune) saw my 2 yrs old girl, she said there was a £15 surcharge for a child staying in the room with the parents. I explained we had own travel cot and did not need any extra from the hotel. We've stayed in other hotels (including independent hotels and Best Western chain) like this before without being charged extra. I did not book a family room because we did not need the extra bed in the room. For 2 yrs we've been booking a double and using own travel cot, never had any problem with any hotels in UK. Here the staff said it's due to some sort of fire regulation (never heard of it!) that they need to charge extra. I told her we've been travelling like this without ever being charged extra. She didn't care that it was late, I was heavily pregnant and my daughter was crying, she would not let us check in unless we paid the extra. She even said the room we booked was not suitable for parents and child anyway. We had to pay the £15 to end this misery in that situation so we did and got the key. When we finally entered the room we realised by paying that £15 we still got a very small double room (presumely the room she said "too small" for 3). She didn't even offer us a bigger room or bother to explain why the charge was taken and we still got a small room. We had to stay in the box room for the night as my daughter was tired and we need to let her sleep asap. We paid £95 for the room plus £15 surcharge for 2 yrs in the end. To be honest for this price we would have been better off staying in some chain hotel with better service and facilities if we got back to Southampton that night. It was very upsetting and disappointing experience for us. I will never go back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Trouville Hotel.
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the service upon arrival.
I believe you made your booking through Expedia. On this booking site it clearly states the maximum occupancy for a standard double room is 2 guests, therefore you have knowingly made a booking for 3 guests in a room that is only suitable for 2 guests.
I understand that you explained to the receptionist that when you made the booking online there was not an option for a family room, the reason for this was because we did not have any available for that particular night and hence the reason our receptionist could not move you to a bigger room.
The £15 charge was not due to the fire regulations but due to an extra guest in the room, having breakfast and using the hotel facilities. Despite this, we do need to know the exact number of guests in the hotel, which I would imagine all hotels do, so that in the unlikely event of a fire we can account for all guests.
Again, I apologise that the experience was upsetting for you and that you won’t be returning to the Trouville Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Have stayed at this hotel only once but I feel it deserves a good review because I found it to be a very clean hotel . The rooms were comfortable and everything changed every day. The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble, so helpful. The hotel was practically on the beach ( so close).. Really lovely, close to shops etc with easy access. Would recommend this hotel all the time..

Room Tip: We had a corner room with views over the beach , promonade and pier.. Good sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teifimiss435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Trouville Hotel, we're really glad you decided to share your view with others. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We hope we will see you again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from a week's holiday at Trouville - part of package with Cairngorm Travel. Every thing about this hotel was great. Location fantastic - right by the sea and easy access to shops etc. The staff were outstanding - nothing too much trouble.
Rooms clean and comfortable with tea/coffee replaced daily. Meals great - as a vegetarian I was particularly impressed as there were always 2 choices of main course (not often found!) and good choice of starter. It was nice to have friendly and efficient waitress service, especially these days when most package breaks are buffet-style. Breakfast equally enjoyable.
Perhaps the only (slight) minus is the very small lift - only holds 4 people, and hotel quite large. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again some time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DollieNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for the great review you have given us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and that you were impressed with our vegetarian options available at dinner. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you will return again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After a very sad time in our lives we decided at short notice to take a break on the Isle of Wight. After finding the Trouville on the internet and checking out the reviews on Tripadvisor we booked a four nights package, which included ferry cost, on the Saturday and by Sunday 11 a.m we were on the ferry. Hotel full, mainly with north country folk on coach tours and this made for a lively and friendly atmosphere. Understand that some had been to the hotel on several ocasions. We really enjoyed the food and good to see a good selection for vegetarians. Lovely to have linen table cloths and napkins and the staff were so courteous. Our sea view room was fine and nice and clean. A couple of areas of the hotel looked a little tired but guess there is a fair amount of wear and tear because so busy. Understand Hotel closes for the whole of January for maintenance.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view. View at back is not good. On four floors but there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are very sorry to read that you had just experienced a sad time prior to coming to the Trouville Hotel. We are pleased that you chose to come and stay with us and we hope it helped, in some way, to have a break. We are grateful that you appreciated the linen tablecloths and napkins, and also the vegetarian offering. Obviously we try and do as much maintenance as we can throughout the year, without causing any disruption to the guests, but you are correct in saying that we close in January to do any major refurbishments - we have a lot planned for January 2015! Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Trouville Hotel and for giving us a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were greeted by front of house manager, Lovely lady. bags were taken to our rooms by friendly young lads.Our room on 3rd floor was brilliant comfortable beds, very clean,and the view was to die for, Evening meal was great, a varied menu to please every taste, breakfast was also good. the staff were amazing, they couldn't do enough for you, (very busy weekend 3 bus trips). my daughter left some clothes there, no problem just rang being posted back as i write this review. BRILLIANT TIME . i would recommend this hotel to everyone,

Room Tip: Get room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us, we're glad you had a brilliant time. How wonderful to read that you thought the staff were amazing - they're a credit to the hotel! We hope your daughter has now received her clothes - it was not a problem posting them back. Thanks again for the great review, hopefully it means you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Property: Trouville Hotel
Address: 10-16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing