We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Channel View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Channel View Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
gateshead
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Just returned from a great trip to this hotel with National Coach Holidays. Although dated the hotel was very clean and staff very helpful. We had read some poor reviews concerning the food but we were mare than happy with the variety and standard. There was a good choice of main meal and although I'm quite picky about my food I always found something I liked. Our coach driver Nigel was great with nothing to much trouble. For the price we paid it was an avsolute bargain.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janandroly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    79
    59
    31
    51
See reviews for
48
105
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Clean and tidy room with nice service . Hotel management were very supportive in terms of service and hospitality. Would recommend anyone. Keep it up CHANNEL VIEW.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert_robo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel the last week in July, the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. the bathroom was basic, (however I understand that they are being refubished this winter). The dining room staff were brilliant and the meals were excellent.
The entertainment in the evening was very good and we didn't venture out of the hotel. The manangement couldn't do enough to help and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a lovely holiday and we will come and stay with you again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianeljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Not exactly the Hilton but we were nevertheless inpressed with our stay at the Channel View. The meals were very good, the staff friendly & helpful, I gather the evening entertainment was fun too, though as it catered for the more mature clientele, we gave it a miss & enjoyed evening strolls instead, as the hotel is well situated for the beach, pier & the high street. The room was fine too with complimentary tea & coffee, it could have perhaps done with sprucing up a bit, but considering what we paid, it would be unfair to complain too much. The only quibbles we had were that the curtains were thin, so the room was light at an early hour in the morning, & that when showering, the water temperature varied wildly presumably dictated by nearby guest flushing their loo, & the water pressure was rather low, so you were unable to have a power shower. Other than that, we left with a positive impression & would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: By showering when other guests were unlikely to be doing so, you can avoid the temperature fluctuato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newcastlebluestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

PLEASE NOTE THERE ARE TWO CHANNEL VIEW HOTELS IN I.O.W and very close to each other and very differant hotels. The hotel in Sandown is very much a two star hotel, and that is only just. The staff very helpful and did try thier best. The hotel is old and need of bringing up to date. The food quality dependend of which chief was on!!!!... The bedrooms are very basic, and dated. The bathroom was falling apart, the hot water was either too hot or cold..... The bed was a small double, not much fun (depending on your frame of mood!!) if your partner is 6ft tall and 18 stone... The biggest concern I have for this hotel is the total lack of facilitys for anyone with disability. I would question how they passed inspection. The hotel is situated half way up a very step hill and not suitable for anyone who has a mobility restriction. If you are looking for a cheap bargain and just want a base this hotel is fine. Hope you like early meals as breakfast is one sitting at 8.30 seven days a week. The evening meal is 6pm and again one sitting only.
If you have any requirements to aid you in your daily routine do not use this hotel, there arnt any...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ladybugme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We have just stayed for the weekend and had a brilliant break away. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable (not a wonderful view but we were having too much fun to spent very much time there), the food was very good (the best onion bharjis ever when we had curry), the staff were friendly and efficient and bar prices more than fair. We would be very happy to make a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackieweaver100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Due to unforseen circumstances our original hotel was cancelled and this hotel kindly accommodated us at 24 hours notice. There was a choice of different menus each day and the food was well cooked, adequate proportions and excellently served. Compliments to the chef. The ground floor room I occupied was pleasant, clean and tidy. The room was freshened up every day. Due to the small party I was with and the shortness of notice entertainment was on only 2 nights of the four but Angie the singer was excellent and the Nostalgia night was unique and made a perfect last night. The hotel is close to the main street, shops, buses and the train station is easily located within walking distance. The friendly and hel[ful staff ensured a very pleasant holiday. i would happily stay there again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellyf98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
1.5 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sandown
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 52 in Shanklin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel View Hotel

Property: Channel View Hotel
Address: 4-6 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Channel View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel View Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing