We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Channel View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
Caprera Hotel(Sandown)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The Wight(Sandown)
US$101
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wight Bay Hotel(Sandown)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
57
83
65
36
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
83
65
36
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of wightcoach holidayhaving read previous reviewsdavid urquhartover christmasexcellent value for moneytea coffee making facilitiesour waiterfood was lovelysea frontweekend breakharveyhairdryerpierstartersbingo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at your hotel from Friday 23rd September 2011 and left on Monday 26th September and we were part of a Just go holidays coach trip.
The food was of excellent quality and the portion size was very generous, the rooms had a cosy and welcoming feel, and our towels were changed daily. The hotel staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel is a very good location for the nearby pier, beach and local shop amenities. Would definitely stay here again, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Had an enjoyable stay at The Channel View hotel recently. The hotel was clean, food was nice with a good choice, staff where very friendly & helpful. Good entertainment, especially the reminicence evening. Bedrooms where clean as was the bedding & towels, however the bedrooms & bathroom were very small rooms [ stayed in rooms42 & 39 ]not much room to move around in.

Room Tip: request a room with a bay.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamond050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I have just returned from a 5 day stay at this hotel with my elderly mother and regretfully have more negatives than positives to say about the hotel. There are a lot of statirs which was awkward for my elderly mum. You expect stairs to the bedroom but there were two particularky steep stairs outside of our room that my mum struggled with and there were also stairs to the dining room. We didin't find out until we got home that there was an outside patio area as the staff gave us no information about facilites on our arrival and the patio was accessible from a side entrance that was not visible or accessible from the front of the hotel. I dont know if we were just unlicky and had the smallest room in the hotel but the bathroom was so tiny we had to sit on the toilet sideways and the cold tap in our room did not work so we had to clean our teeth with hot water and buy bottled water to fil the kettle. There were 2 set meal times 8.30am and 6.30pm and whilst I can see the benefits to the hotel for staffing purposes it was a bit like school dinners the way we were all herding into the dining room at set times. On the bright side the breakfasts were very nice, the best bit about the hotel. The evening meals were okay if you are happy with tinned and frozen food but there was a fair selection so we often opted for the salad or jacket potatoes. Staff were friendly when apporached but it would have been useful if they had given us a quick ten minute briefing on arrival and advised us about the available facilities, how to get to the beach, pier etc. Average at best but I wouldn't risk a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akaesmerelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

After 9 hours on the coach we arrived and were allocated room 4....carpet stained, toilet system hanging off the wall and needing holding on the wall in order to flush. Bedding clean. Door left unlocked after cleaning, open to all and sundry!
Food served cold and very little choice. Entertainment zero merely piped music. Proprietors professed to not speaking English and therefore any queries, complaints etc met with shrug of the shoulders.
Coach Driver not allocated a room in the hotel and therefore had to find accommodation in various hotels allocated but then had to go each day to Channelview for his meals.
Coach driver excellent making excursions very good.
We would unfortunately have to agree with others on our coach that this hotel was not satisfactory and did not live up to the specifications of the booking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We went on a coach trip from Mon to Fri, what a lovely Island, lovely people, the hotel spoilt the trip, breakfast was not too bad , but the evning meals were very bad, every thing was out of a deep freeze, frozen vegetables with each meal the fish and chips were even frozen ready made meals, i must say that the bedroom was small but clean, the trip was saved by the great coach driver from the I.O.W. coach company and the tour rep, if you are in Sandown pop into the Roxy restaurant just two mins from that hotel we had the mushroom pasta, cooked to order and fresh food, something you will not get at the Channel view

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KingsLynnPiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews