We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel”
Review of Channel View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Channel View Hotel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Fab clean rooms clean sheets and towels food was lovely people that moan all the time should stay at home your on holiday not moving in to live when on holiday you should out and about if you stay in your room I wouldn't bother coming away you can do that at home

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliowales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    81
    60
    31
    53
See reviews for
49
108
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ebbw vale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at the channel view as part of a coach trip in july .on arrival coach was helped to be unloaded and all cases teken to ou rooms. staff realy friendly and polite .Alex our waiter was fantistic and did stop also kept as in fits of laughter .Fodd was very nice Great choice on menu evry night. would deffinetly stay ther again .rooms very clean and included tea/coffee making facilities and a hair dryer.
keran and mike

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank keran c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel and found the owners and our waiter Alex most friendly and helpful. I had my mother, niece and nephews with me and they were most obliging with the childrens "picky eating"! Menu was varied and food great! Rooms were clean, beds made and towels changed and evenings entertainment very good. We would definitely return. Thanks for Dominic's pop and crisps. Very kind of you. Clair (Auntie), Birmingham. XX

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairmusticone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just got back from a 4 day holiday with leisure time. On arrival no welcome just given your keys. Hotel was clean staff were friendly and helpful. Roo. S are quite small with tiny showers. Our only moan was we were on. Ground floor. Views of my sisters room no 51 were absolutely disgusting. There was all sorts of things on floor mattresses old suitcases bags of rubbish. All she could see was rubbish. Opp her Windows was a concrete shed which we were appalled to discover our waitress sleeping In . with an extension lead running to it for electric Couldn't believe what we were seeing. The waitress was our waitress who was lovely she was either polish or Czech and she didn't stop. She worked her socks off. All in all good holiday. Would stay again but whatever you do under no circumstances stay in rm 51. P's good entertainment

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorrainewookcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed for 4 nights as part of a coach trip. The food was very spicy, I dont know how different you can cook a cottage pie, but being brought up in this country with tradition food the cottage pie served to me was something other than a cottage pie. The steamed cod was terrible, ive not seen a smaller piece of cod in my travels and I couldnt identify the soup served on the first night, words defeat me! Crockery was clean. Breakfast was good, I asked for an extra egg and thats what I got (good). All in all, I wouldnt stay here again just because of the food, DEAR ME if an english dish is cooked then use an english recipe! The room we were given was just OK but! how can hotels expect you to shower in a shower that measures only just over 2foot square, the best of that was that the shower cubicle was brand new. Compliment coffee's good. Room service was very poor I had to seek my own loo roll from the reception because they hadnt been replaced and a towel hadnt been replaced when the dirty one was taken away. I witnessed a waitress in the restaurant serving food, turning round, sneezing into her hands and then promptly picking up someones plate for the main course without any wiping of her nose/hands whatever, what did I think seeing that? HELP!! But may I say that our waitress (Polish/Cech) was fantastic ( I am really sorry but I didnt get your name!). The Island was as expected - fantastic. Alum bay is a must see.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

came to the hotel over the bank holiday had real nice time the staff was very friendly food was great. Had live entertainment singers that preformed oldies music had great show at the end of the holiday showing clips of oldies music clips on big screen first time to isle of wight had real nice time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Not the best hotel....but for the price paid it was ok. Meals were fine, no problems, our waitress Charlie was very helpful and obliging. Rooms a bit shabby and dated, need a facelift, however this did not spoil my holiday. Bed linen and towels very clean. Peter our driver was excellent- knows everything about the IOW. Met some lovely people on the coach. An enjoyable time, weather brilliant which makes a difference!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
1.5 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sandown
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sandown
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel View Hotel

Property: Channel View Hotel
Address: 4-6 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Channel View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel View Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing