We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel of old fashioned charm and hospitality.”
Review of Chester Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Lodge
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Holybourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hotel of old fashioned charm and hospitality.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My friend and I stayed just one night before Walking the Wight. Brian was very welcoming and made us feel at home straight away as he showed us our rooms. We had 2 ensuite singles which were beautifully laid out with everything you could need. As were needed to leave early the next morning we had to miss breakfast and were provided with a packed lunch instead which we were able to collect from the fridge in the morning. Our evening in Sandown was very enjoyable. The hotel is just a short walk from many good restaurants and bars. In the morning we had only a 2 minute walk to our bus stop. Just ideal! We want to spend more time at Chester Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    11
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we had a lovely time while staying there Debbie and Brian was the perfect hosts will be staying there again as it has been one of the best we have stayed in. we would recommend it to all our friends to stay there. Thank you all for what you done for us and for helping us feel at home in your hotel lots of love xxxx Sue

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My daughter and I have just spent a lovely weekend at the Chester Lodge Hotel (our 7th visit).
As always Debbie and Bryan (the owners) have bent over backwards to ensure our stay is a warm and welcome one.
The rooms are spotless. The beds are very comfy and re-made every day. You only need to request anything such as an extra clean towel, blanket etc & it is provided without delay & bother.
The cooked breakfast is fantastic with plenty on the plate & sets you up for the day. The sausages are the best we've tasted - don't know where Bryan gets them from!
In short, this is one of the nicest and certainly friendliest hotel we have stayed in. We cannot recommend it highly enough and look forward to returning very soon for our 8th visit!
Thank you Chester Lodge for another lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mariego1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I rate this hotel highly not only because I have stayed various times recently but because of the great people who run and put so much effort into making it a great family run business. Staying at the hotel is enjoyable as it is only a short walk from Sandown beach, and the small town. There is a lot to do on the Isle of Wight which is why we go as its a brilliant place! The Chester Lodge hotel tops the trip off as its such a great, reliable and clean place to stay! Definitely worth staying at!!! Will be back for another trip soon!!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy_181995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

i have never been welcomed so much by this family run hotel,my daughter was ill so they gave her breakfast in bed.the cleanliness was second to none.situation perfect for the beach.i have already booked my next visit,and i can not wait xxx thank you so much all xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is litterally like staying at what you think it would be like in the movie chainsaw massacre! Scary! Didn't clean our room!!!! Only once and only made one bed the other was left messy. Left wet towels on the floor when said they would be replaced. Was told that we would get discount in lots of local restaurants an a free glass of wine.. We went to one of the specific restaurants as did another family staying the same time as us and neither we did they get any discount. When asking the owners of the restaurant they said this deal was on two years ago! The owner/manager of the hotel said we caused a leak downstairs but was nowhere to be seen! Said that maids would clean rooms everyday- did not see one maid throughout entire stay... nor did our room!! 3 familys in the hotel.. Need i say more? Dirty facilities, beds were like sleeping on slats on wood, bedroom was dirty and duvet covers didnt even have buttons to secure duvet! Showers had mould around them! Smelly hotel smells like an old loft! Breakfast wasn't fresh country meat more like microwaved smart price meat! Not worth £75 a night by far! If owner is reading this please take this into consideration and think of it as constructive criticism. Nothing against you as a person... Needs to be condemned and rebuilt!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heylo123-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2015
in brief this gent arrived with two young ladies , claiming that they were his wife and daughter. both possibly in the twenties. booked into family room. all seemed well until water started to come thru the ceiling of the room below. when we went to their room to check we heard loud laughing .one of the ladies opened the door wrapped in a towel and she was dripping wet. we asked if she had maybe left the door open when showering causing the water leak. at this point the male and other lady appeared from the shower both dripping wet and were not happy with being disturbed. (whoops) the ONLY bed used was made every day. the 75.00 referred to was for all three, bed and breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Llanmartin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We rang about a week before, once other details had been planned and talked to Jackie who was able to answer all of our questions, with no pressure placed upon us.

After a long day that included the trip from Newport in Wales, ferry crossing and a lot of driving to see some of the many glorious coastal views we arrived about 4pm. Bryan greeted us and made us feel at home immediately, showed us our room and offered help to bring in our luggage. He is very knowledgeable about Sandown, Isle of Wight, and passionate about his hotel. This shows in how he talks about it. Everything was as Jackie had told us and we could not have wanted for more. If we had, I am sure Bryan and Debbie would have provided it for us!

We chose this hotel because we wanted to be near the centre of Sandown, close to friends, shops and with easy access to the main road. With plenty of parking and disabled spaces too Chester Lodge suited our needs exactly. Central town centre is not much more than 5 minutes away which means the Leisure Centre, Sandown Pier and the Conservative Club are all on easy walking distance. Regular services to all parts of the island pass the front door and the railway station is only 15 minutes or a short taxi ride from the hotel.

We had a really great break on the island and is is as much down to the care and attention we received at Chester Lodge as it was ti the fine weather that we enjoyed ourselves. We will certainly be returning and we cannot praise too highly the service we received from Jackie initially, then by Bryan, Debbie and Lee. They are worth their weight in gold, nothing is enough and you can be promised a warm welcome, good food and attentive hosts in a very comfortable family run hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor room because of my wife's disability. There are four downstairs, inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Llanmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chad Hill Hotel
Chad Hill Hotel
#16 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
8.0 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Lodge

Property: Chester Lodge
Address: 7 Beachfield Road, Sandown PO36 8NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest house near to sandown beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chester Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Lodge Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing