We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inglewood Guest House
Ranked #6 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire, Uk
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Clean and welcoming”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I spent a w/e walking the south coast of the IoW and was based in Sandown.
I always prefer to stay in B&Bs and managed - by chance - to find the Inglewood.
It turned out to be perfect for my needs. centrally based is very closed to the seafront, shops, restaurants and buses.
My room was very clean and so was the washing facilities.
The Owner was very welcoming and helpful in giving useful information on where to eat and how to get to him from the ferry in Ryde (bus stops few steps away from the B&B front door).
Perfect for my needs.

Room Tip: don't have a room at the front if you are used to quiet country lanes and have a light sleep as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaHertfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    2
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I spent a week end walking in the IoW, and was based in Sandown.
Although not advertised a lot ( not on the usual websites when you look for B&Bs) I was lucky and I managed to find this one by chance.
It is a very clean place and it fitted perfectly with my needs.
Situated very close to the shorefront and to shops, restaurants and bus routes it was the perfect base for my three days walking.
The owner was very welcoming (especially as I arrived very late on a Friday eve due to delays in London) and helpful in giving me suggestions of where to eat.

Room Tip: If you are used to quiet country lanes and/or have a light sleep, make sure you don't get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraftsoftheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have stayed at the Inglewood on 2 occasions, the last being from 23rd to 30th July 2012, and on both occasions have found the accommodation very satisfactory. Jeff & Theresa are a very warm and friendly host and hostess. The food is excellent, and the rooms well kept. The only thing about my last visit was that there had been a family bereavement, and no evening meals were available. However, I received a partial refund to compensate for this, and my room was upgraded from a single to a double en-suite. I would recommend this establishment to anyone. The location is within close proximity to the High Street shops and beach and just around the corner from a bus stop into Ryde.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James22Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I would not stay here again or recommend this B & B, the place is very dated like anold peoples home but clean. There was a funny smell in our bedroom, when I turned over to face the wall it was down the side of my single bed, maybe damp, we could not swing a cat in this room, we had to go out and buy new towels as the ones in our room were so hard, sand paper would be softer and very grey, we paid £7.00 for bath sheets they should do the same, our beds were never made just the duvet pulled up, the sheets and pillows just left, we had to wash the kettle out as there was hair at the bottom, the electic equipment had testing dates on it from 2002 and had not been tested since, the food was the cheapest beans you could buy and the bread, I asked for scrambled egg one morning, its was over cooked in the microwave and was like rubber, the coffee was awful cheap and nasty, the only good side, the couple running it are very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatForrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I can't understand the last person to review Inglewood in Sandown, as I was there for a week in July 2011 with my wife and 16 year old daughter we had a very enjoyable time.
The rooms were comfortable and clean the food was very enjoyable and plentiful.
Jeff & Theresa could not have been more polite and helpful. If we decide to go back to the Isle of Wight we would definitly rebook at Inglewood.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff190784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Me and my husband stayed in this b&b for 2 nights and believe me this is worst b&b i have ever seen. we were given the double bedroom and the moment i entered in the room there was a foul smell like the room was never opened earlier. Bedsheet were smelling as it was used over and over, also the towels were old.
We spent the first night and left the room in the morning thinking of tht the lady will clean the rooms, but when we came back, the room was still smelling and then when i entered the bathroom i was shocked......... she didnt even changed the towels. The towels were still wet and smelling and when i asked her to change the towels the lady give me weird look like i have asked for something special.
I am sorry but i wont recommend this b&b to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fashionista13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Guest House

Property: Inglewood Guest House
Address: 15 Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inglewood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inglewood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Guest House Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing