We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing no worries happy short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
lichfield
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“relaxing no worries happy short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

The Hotel was very nice,clean well located,ten minute walk to the beach and front although a small incline on the way back.very friendly and helpful staff,good varied food,if you are mobile take a walk along the coast road to Shanklin,plenty of room for the guests and two bars,cant wait to go again a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynesimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    320
    122
    25
    19
See reviews for
78
414
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

Just back from a 5 day/4 night trip to the Broadway Park Hotel with Shearings Coach holidays. The hotel, whilst a little dated, was excellent and warn, with fresh fluffy white towels changed regularly, the staff were very friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. There was a choice of at least four different starters, main courses and desserts, including vegetarian options for all. The evening entertainment was OK, with bingo, a free quiz and entertainment and the three all-inclusive drinks (including beer such as John's Smith's) made evenings very reasonable. A highlight is the regular appearance of red squirrels in the garden. With two free excursions and an optional cruise back to Portsmouth which cost only £15 including coach with a very informative guide, you cannot beat this holiday for being great value for money. John was our coach driver from London Gateway - he was absolutely great and as an Isle of Wight resident, was very helpful. The weather was kind to us and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Isle was extremely clean with no litter to be found.

Anyone with mobility problems might experience difficulty getting from the hotel to the car park as the road is very steep and continues in this manner down to the beach, which is only a 15 minute stroll away.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank white_fairy_barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olu deniz
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Hotel stands in it's own grounds about a 8 minute walk into Sandown. Hotel clean but a little tired in places and the main lounge is freezing during the day as they probably expect guests to be out. Bedroom was clean and fresh towels every day. Meals were fine and quite a good choice with something for everyone. Entertainment was OK with bingo and a quiz every night except for the last night when there was a singer comedian who was very good. Generally older people made up the clientelle, but there was a few younger people and some children. Would I go again? Probably not to Sandown in the winter as it is a very shabby town out of season and most of the IOW caters for the summer season with a lot of the villages closed for the winter!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Food very good, staff very obliging. Our bedroom was 202 which needed decorating and the carpet shampooing. Bedroom warm and had plenty hot water but a shower would have been very useful.

The entertainment was rubbish and a real let down for the week-end. Was woken at 2.40 am Monday morning by the noise of the night watchman collecting cases left outside some rooms for collection. Banging corridor doors and the lift going up and down. Not good when you have to be up and ready for breakfast at 7.00 am.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dodo046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

We booked a Friday - Monday trip at the end of January. I was looking forward to going to the Isle of Wight as I had been a few times before, always with the family in summer. We set off on coach no 19 as there was another coach, the driver advised us that this was not his normal run so would not know the area. It's just as well really as he wouldnt have got a word in on the coach with all going on. Firstly we had the dancers from around Northwich and Middlewich area, the leader we knocknamed MC as he seemed to be doing all the organising, it started with a pound each, winner takes all, had to guess ETA at Hotel with the engine switched off, it was great fun and got everyone mixing. My friend Ann won it. We then had the Penketh walkers, all 5 of them 3 being sisters, they were fabulous really entertaining and got on great with them. The hotel yes it is a bit tired but what do you expect for £89. The room was clean and really quiet, breakfast was really nice, I wasnt keen on the evening meals, but everyone else seemed ok so it must just be me being picky. The entertainment was good, got people mixing and the free bar on the Saturday night went down very well. The trip out was very good and we booked the additional half day which was well worth it, only wished we had got off the coach in Sandown and had a look around, maybe next time. Would strongly recommend this holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieBarwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

This was our first break with shearings but the friends we travelled with are regular users.The gardens as previously described were a bit drab but it is only feb just what do people expect.We found the hotel warm and friendly and the staff very efficient . Our room no342 was right at the end of the building and was much larger than we expected with 1 double and a single.We had a bath with shower and toilet all clean and in good condition.Yes the television was old but you got five channels personally we didnt care,we dont go on holiday to watch television.The food was superb with a much bigger choice than we expected and the bar was free for most drinks from 19-30 TO 22-30 with choice brands costing 50p and even after 22-30 a whikey and a brandy only cost £4.
Our only complaint would be our room could have done with a new mattress on the bed ( you could feel the springs).Overall our stay was fantastic value for money and we look forward to going back. Just one thing Shearings---sort the changeovers out at Coventry.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveStaffordEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Have just returned from a Friday - Monday break with Shearings staying at the Broadway Park Hotel, and have had a fabulous time! Apart from a wait from our feeder coach to main coach at Exhall all travel went smoothly. Hotel may be in need of a lick of paint in places, but is generally ok, especially when cost was taken into account. Check in was smooth, cases taken up to room. All staff were lovely, really helpful. The rooms were a fairly good size, our room only had a bath, a shower would have been good, but apart from this was ok. The food in the restaurant was good, the service was very good, and the staff were extremely obliging. The hotel is situated on a hill, and it is quite hilly when walking from the beach, especially at the start. The drinks were all inclusive from 7.30 - 10.30pm on all the nights (with some exceptions) so very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiedaycare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing