We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
london
Level Contributor
267 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

You HAVE to bear in mind what you pay - and for £125 for the 3 day dinner, bed and breakfast rate, including the ferry crossing its great value for money. My tip is to book a larger room (and pay the supplement) so you get a larger room, which here was fine! despite the location by the kitchen ventilation (not noisy but you got the aroma!).The all inclusive bar deal meant you got a good atmosphere in the evening (slightly tipsy older people disco dancing - whoo hoo!). You can't argue that they have their customer base acknowledged and satisfied. Its not haute cuisine or boutique accommodation but then that's not what you pay for. All in all, we had a great time and would definitely come again!

Room Tip: if there's only 2 still go for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
All of the Bay Hotels offer good value for money and here on the Isle of Wight the price does include the car ferry, which can be very expensive. Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and may be back to visit us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    317
    121
    25
    19
See reviews for
78
406
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

the hotel sits in its own grounds about 10 mins walk from sandown high street.there is a spacious ballroom & the entertainment during our stay was very good.the decor is ok but carpets on stairs & landings could do with refreshing.service of staff in all departments was excellent.it has a very spacious dining room with excellent service the breakfast was plentiful &very good although the evening meal menu not so good & not very large portions.room was clean quiet & roomy with tea&coffee making facilities hair dryer tv& telephone i was on 2nd floor.overall a very pleasant stay just room for improvement on the evening meal.

Room Tip: rooms on 2nd&3rd floor quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frankie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your review I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have just recently changed our menus and we will look into your comments regarding the evening meal. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Although I'd booked a single room, as the hotel was not full, I was given a double. This was in a newer part of the hotel and was very spacious and included a walk-in wardrobe/dressing room. Bedroom decor was typical Bay/Shearings, minimalist 60's MFI. Although old, the bed was very comfortable and the sheets/bed covers were in good condition. The bathroom fittings were new, but being on the top floor, the hot water was at very low pressure.
Food was simple but good, with sufficient choice although portions could have been slightly more generous. The waiters were very efficient and friendly. A very spacious hotel with plenty of lounge seating.
I believe that none of the Bay/Shearings Hotels have entertainment on Sundays, which penalises those on weekend breaks.
The Hotel is a 15 minute walk uphill from the sea front.
Sandown is quite depressing out of season, but the island bus service is very efficient, making it easy to get to the other parts of the island.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Yessirhesaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you for your review we do endeavour to deliver a good service and a comfortable stay for a reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

If you are looking for a quiet intimate hotel with relaxed gourmand meals this is not the place for you.
We arrived at the hotel with a certain amount of trepidation having read the other reports on Tripadvisor. However the room we were allocated (in the newer part of the hotel) was clean, a reasonable sized bathroom and a shower that worked well with plenty of hot water. Yes, some of the public areas were shabby and in need of modernisation (I am sure Shearings have a planned maintenance programme for all their coaches so why not for their hotels?) but overall it was OK.
Next the restaurant. You are allocated a table for the duration of your stay. Tables are approximately 12 inches apart so if you want an intimate conversation with your partner, forget it. The food we had was adequate. There were some issues with the “roasted vegetables” for the curry and the “roast chicken” neither of which had seen the inside of an oven; a steamer perhaps; but generally the food was well cooked and there was enough of it. The exception to this was the coffee, this was appalling, and I am writing separately to Dowe Egberts to ask them if they are aware of what is being served under their name.
The other thing about the restaurant is the apparent bet the waiters have to see who can get rid of their customers the quickest. No sooner than you have sat down a bread basket is shoved under your nose (once again the frozen baguettes had not seen the inside of an oven. Note to Chef: if you have not got enough time or space to cook off the baguettes your supplier can supply a ready baked version that at least looks as though they have been cooked) You are asked what you want, one course at a time and this was produced within seconds, no cooking to order here. The plate was whisked away as soon as the last mouthful was taken and you were asked what you wanted for your next course (supplies of indigestion remedies are a must). Another tip, if you ask for a pot of tea always make sure it is for two. If one person asks for tea you get a very large teapot with one tea bag in, if two of you ask for tea you get the same size teapot but with three teabags in. Tarry in the restaurant after your meal at your peril.
The only other gripe we had was with the public rooms in the evenings. If bingo, dubious comedians and magicians are your thing you will be in heaven. If all you want is a comfortable chair, a drink and some peace and quiet so you can read a book; forget it.
What you have to keep in mind all the time is how much you paid for your holiday. Take out the cost of the ferry divide the remainder by the number of days you are staying and you soon realise that you are getting what you paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer parts of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rutland-Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us recently. We always read the reviews with interest and where possible we will act on any negative issues that we feel need addressing. We do offer a good service and excellent value for money at all of our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at the broadway park for a long weekend break, on arrival the hotel looked very grand from the outside, set in beautiful gardens, but was disappointed on entering as it is very dated inside. Our room was awful, stained carpets, damp/mould in the corners, a very dodgy window and overall smelled very musty. The bathroom was even worse, the oldest one o have ever seen in a hotel, dirty stained Lino on the floor and a shower that only trickled and refused to give us any hot water. I even tried after midnight when the water demand would be low but it made no difference. The food was basic but enjoyable and presented well, all staff were polite and helpful and the free drinks were much appreciated. Entertainment aimed at the elderly so we didn't really bother with this. A little far out of the centre for my liking but would be a nice stroll in the warm weather. Probably wouldn't go back to this hotel, but it does have a lot of potential if money were to be spent on it

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spongebob87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
The hotel is situated in lovely gardens and we are a 10/15 minute walk to the seafront. Some areas of the hotel are dated and certain bedrooms could do with being re-furbished. We are gradually working our way around the more dated bedrooms. The inclusive breaks are good value for money. I am glad that the staff made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed the meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Yes it's a pity - having read the reviews before booking I understood that the hotel was dated and it was. We drove 290 miles from N. Yorkshire and had a pleasant crossing on the ferry, arriving in time to freshen up and have a pre-dinner drink and look forward to dining. The battered cod could be used for battering - dreadful. The next day the so-called scampi was of the re-formed type. The starter of some sort of tart posed a problem - I didn't know whether to eat it or drink it or eat it ! My partner could not eat either of these meals so we had to dine out for our last two evenings and found a resturant serving proper food properly prepared. The Breakfasts were not too bad once we learnt not to have the scrambled-egg or the awful sausages or the potato waffles. The bedroom (No.311) was disappointing though clean but we never thought that an en-suite would have no shower especially for a customer with artificial knee and shoulder. Generally the Broadway Park was dated but clean and all the staff at reception and the dining room and bar were pleasant and helpful especially Marta who served us and was aware of our disappointment with the evening meals.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dinners with us. It is rare that we receive a negative comment regarding our meals, however we all have different tastes. We do try and cater for a variety of palates and offer various choices on our menu's, we would have been pleased to offer you an alternative if requested. Some areas of the hotel are dated and unfortunately not all of our bedrooms have a shower. I am glad that the staff were helpful and that Marta looked after you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was our second stay at one of the Bay Hotels and we are amazed how much you get for your money. Yes the room and especially the bathroom were in need of a refurb but were adequate and a good size and there was plenty of hot water. Our Polish waiter (Marcin?) couldn't do enough for us and the food provided was better than we had expected. As a vegetarian, the choice on offer for me is usually limited and very 'samey' but some thought had been put into the menu and I was pleasantly surprised - the soup especially was very good. We took our own cars and booked the ferry through Sheerings which was easy. There is a huge car park. We had a problem the first night as the person in the next room still had their TV on at 2.00 a.m. which kept us awake but a call to the night porter solved this and he dealt with it quickly and efficiently. We weren't bothered with evening entertainment as we were with friends and family and were quite happy sitting chatting, although on Sunday night we went to the nearby Castle Pub for a pub quiz which we would thoroughly recommend! We will definitely be visiting more Bay hotels in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SandraMarmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will recommend us to others !! All the Bay Hotels offer excellent value for money and many of the hotels are in stunning locations. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing