We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Good Food, Entertainment, Rooms Clean and staff excellent.
Thanks For Making Me Welcome On My First Visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your review, look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    316
    121
    25
    19
See reviews for
78
405
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We went with Shearings to the Broadway Park Hotel. The hotel is clean and the room was comfortable, though in need of refurbishment. The tv in our room took 5 mins for the picture to appear and was still rather dark. The biggest problem was the shower. The water in the bathroom was scalding hot and it was impossible to get the shower to stay at a constant heat. It would suddenly run stone cold or much worse, boiling hot. After one attempt, we decided it was too dangerous and used the bath instead. The meals were good quality and there was a reasonable choice. The main problem was that they were usually only lukewarm. It was good food spoiled. All in all, for the amount we paid, the hotel was good value, but with just a few improvements could be so much better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambidextrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your review, I shall look into the issues raised, especially the hot water which is a great concern. We are always looking at ways of improving our service and appreciate any constructive feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the warm efficient welcome in reception to the porter taking down your luggage this hotel takes value for money to another level .Honest wholesome food served speedily by staff who cant do enough for you,bar staff who are quick and courteous and entertainment that relaxes>A big thank you to you all>Driver Darren was the icing on the cake

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank colinlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your excellent review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently returned from a 4 night break at the Bay Broadway Park Hotel in Sandown Isle of Wight with Shearings.

Although it was very cold in February and there wasn't much really to see or do at this time of year on the island, nevertheless we had a very enjoyable and relaxing break.

The hotel was very good. The room was spacious with comfortable bed and tea and coffee making facilities.

The food was excellent with a good choice and always well presented and enjoyable. We were also given a complimentary glass of red or white wine with dinner. Breakfasts were part serve yourself buffet and part waitress service breakfast (full English if desired) and always we were given more toast. We had a lovely waitress named Marta who was Polish and she made mealtimes extra special.

The entertainment was fair. We didn't play bingo but we joined in the quizzes and enjoyed the cabaret act on the last night. The bar was all inclusive from 7.30 - 10.30 and there were no quibbles about how much you have. All named branded drinks too.

Certainly for the money we paid, this was an excellent, value for money break and I would recommend it to anyone thinking of trying it out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindawba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Glad you enjoyed the good value for money that we offer. I shall pass your comments onto Marta who will be delighted with the praise. See you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Thankyou for a lovely weekend. From getting on the coach we had a lovely time. Our driver Simon had a great sense of humor and kept us entertained with his jokes! The Hotel was very clean, food was very good too a glass of wine with your meal as well! Couldn't fault the staff very pleasant,
Look forward to our next coach trip with National Holidays
Well done Broadway park!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your review, glad to enjoyed your weekend with us, come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Nicely situated, 10 minutes walk from the beach/centre, and deceptively large, building with a small glassed-in corridor on the ground floor (between reception and a wing) that could freeze a polar bear; you really need a coat for the 20 yards or so then it's lovely and warm either side of it.

This was a Shearings coach trip so it's difficult to quantify but 3 nights half-board with a free bar from 7:30 to 10:30 at night was an absolute bargain; all branded drinks except, sadly, J2O and Britvic. They had entertainment too although I never saw it as I was too tired, but apparently it was excellent. Looked forward to seeing the red squirrels until I remembered they hibernate, bugger it.

Room 338 was rather nice but the TV could have been better. IOW isn't yet digital and it doesn't get Channel 5 on analogue although I was told at reception that this is due to change in March. The room was warm yet neither my wife nor I could figure out why - there's no central heating that we could see and we didn't use the free-standing radiator, we even had the window/doors open this weekend when the temperature dropped below freezing overnight. Sadly, the fan in the bathroom was really noisy and it seems to go on for ages after you turn the light off.

Meals are really good. Breakfast is full English, or a choice of all sorts of stuff and very well made. The choice at dinner is more limited but everything is really nice and the service is brilliant, (the employee of the month when we were there was Marta). We never got to know our waiter's name but they all seem to be on castors; quick, unobtrusive but somehow always there when you need them or the table needs clearing.

The hotel does little things like national newspapers, packed lunches, room service, mostly with a smile and I am happy to say that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. We want to go to the IOW again next year for a week and we've decided to make this our hotel of choice for the duration of our stay.

Lovely.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank moggie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We could not fault the staff they were all excellent we were made to feel comfortable from the start, good choice of menu at each meal time food and service we could not fault all the staff work very hard and you never hear them complain.We enjoyed it so much we have now book two more trips with searings if their other bay hotels are like this one we will be more than happy, also Paul our driver was most helpful made the journey very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flower018r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your review glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and will be travelling with us to another Bay Hotel. I shall pass your comments onto the staff and driver. Many thanks and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing