We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Trip”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just to say Thank you to all of the Staff at this hotel. Just back from 5 day break the Staff could not do enough for us. Had room 113 the only down side is the BATHROOM NEEDS REFURBISHMENT BADLY

Room Tip: ASK for a room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that the staff looked after you so well. We are aware that some of the bathrooms need refurbishment and we are gradually working our way through them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    327
    132
    28
    22
See reviews for
86
435
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Recently spent three nights at the Broadway Park and had a great time. I travelled with some friends and from the minute we arrived we had a thoroughly good time and found the hotel itself, food and entertainment excellent. The hotel staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us and we were never kept waiting for meals. We were staying in the new part of the hotel and the room was very clean, comfortable bed and tea and coffee facilities.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Penylan237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your excellent review. It is always good to get such great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just back from a shearings weekend break in Sandown first time at the Broadway Park and must say it was better than expected We where in room 132 at the far end of the newer part of hotel so no problems with noise, room was ok you know what you are getting with shearings. Hotel is being decorated so starting to look smarter .We found the food to be very good when we stayed plenty of choice and really good fast service by all the staff and very friendly to.Plenty of places to sit if you want to get away from bingo or cabaret acts.One word of warning if you go with shearings from Stretton you need to leave your cases outside you room on your last night or take them to your driver by 6-15 am then its a 7-15 am breakfast and away by 8-00

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zigzag74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Whilst we had a splendid weekend with Shearings once again, in another of their faded glory hotels, we do feel quite cheated over their All Inclusive drinks policy. When we booked we paid £20 per head extra for the all inclusive package which advertised a free bar from 7.30 -10.30pm. In the week preceding the trip we received a letter saying that this had changed and that they now offered a much better idea of giving all inclusive clients 4 free drinks per day to be taken at any time during the day. I called was reassured that this was not a cheat nor cost cutting excercise but had been done in response to customer feedback, and how good was it that the drinks could also be tea and coffee, which actually is available in the rooms.
The next problem came with what the drinks tokens could be used to buy, only drinks from the optics which, certainly in the case of the gin, was much watered down, or one type of lager, one type of beer. Soft drinks were also included from the pump, but a pint of coke or lemondade cost two tokens!! Indeen what a rip off the coke etc was, should we have bought it would have been £3.20 per pint dearer that the spirits. If you wanted to drink cider etc that was not included. We found this very limiting. The weekend was as usual excellent value for money, but avoid the all inclusive drinks package it was not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mags0703_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with you inclusive package we have recieved both positive and negative responses from the changes put in place by shearings. The breaks are still very good value for money and provide more flexibility to our guests during their stay. We are constantly reviewing our packages in order to give the best possible service and value for money. We have taken on board your comments - the Gordons gin is not watered down and we are currently looking into the soft drink sizes. If you had been on one of the breaks before you would definately have appreciated the shorter queuing times at the bar and the more relaxed experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A 5 day coach holiday was based here and very good it was, rooms clean and tidy with kettle and hot drink facilities and TV, food very good (breakfast and evening meal) staff very frieindly and efficient, and grounds to stroll in

Room Tip: We had room 241 in the add on part, rooms A1 lifts available to all floors but a little walk from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenaspect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Why not visit us again in the summer when you can appreciate the grounds at their best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We really enjoyed our trip to the Isle of Wight. The hotel is about half a mile downhill to the prom and therefore, the same back but uphill. That didn't suit a lot of people, eg. elderly/overwieght who presumably sat about for 2 days looking for things to critisise. We stayed in room 235 with a view of the woods. The room was warm, comfortable with tea and coffee-making facilities. The hot water was very hot as the signs warned; better that then tepid. The TV was ancient and still in analogue mode - but who goes to IOW to watch telly? Having said that, the TV in the main lounge was a big wall-mounted flat screen with a very good picture - we even watched the Carling Cup Final (on SKY) before our evening meal.
There was plenty of choice at breakfast regarding cereals and juices, followed by a full English, with toast and jams. There was a vegetarian option, which we enjoyed. The evening meals were varied in order to cater for differing tastes. We particularly enjoyed the red pepper and goat's cheese one night and the salad another night.
The meals were all served promptly by an army of waiters with an assigned section. We were very impressed by our waiter, Ryan, who was thoroughly pleasant and professional. All the staff that we met from the receptionists to the bar staff to the bedroom staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sonia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your review, I shall pass on your comments to the staff and especially Ryan. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funchal
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

would like to say had great time, staff very freindly and polite, nothing to much trouble. rooms very clean, food good did a 4 day break with national travel 24- 27 feb 2012.. left my camera and phoned hotel returned it right away, recived it 2 march. cant thank staff enough. stayed in other bay hotels but this one far out ranks the others. jean whitehead

Room Tip: we stayed in the annex room 442 and liked it very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claredavies83, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you received your camera in good time ! Do come back and visit us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,239 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
716 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing