We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The staff were very good especially our waitress the room was dirty carpet needs replacing the bathroom was dirty no shower curtains and to fill the bath you had to run the water through the shower ( but there was no way I would use the bath!!! )its a shame the building is lovely but it needs a lot of work done.Also the fire doors were wedged open.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IMPORTANT186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we are gradually upgrading some of the bedrooms which will make a great improvement. I am glad that all the staff made you welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

This hotels rooms Are very dirty and need a complete makeover. The bath room was disgusting and filthy. Room 208. The beds were uncomfortable with ripped headboard. Car park too small had to park away from hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ADW1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

I was disppointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do not have any record of you reporting to reception that you were not satisfied with your accommodation, if you had we would have been able to offer to you an alternative room and address the issues regarding the cleanliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

just spent a weekend here and have to say I felt this hotel needs a little updating. In places it is shabby and just plain dirty in places. Our room could have done with redecorating and the bed wasn't the most comfortable. However, the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially our waitress. The food was good and the entertainment..... well interesting I should say! With a little bit of extra cleaning and a lick of paint it would be a lot better

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your review, we are gradually re-furbishing some of our bedrooms which is an ongoing process with 104 bderooms. I shall investigate the other matters that you raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Everything about our stay at BROADWAY PARK HOTEL was Excellent. We went with Shearings Coach Holidays on March 22nd to 25th .Everything was perfect , the drivers of the feeder coaches were polite and helpful.

The Hotel was a delight with warm friendly staff.Mealtimes provided a varied Menu catering for every dietary need.Meals were always served quickly and hot by excellent restaurant staff who attended to our needs ; making sure everything was satisfactory.

Our room was clean and nice and warm and situated on the ground floor, which was most appreciated as I had requested when booking to have a room near to a lift.

Included in our holiday package was a full days excursion around The Isle of Wight . Our driver Steve,was most informative with his knowledge of places of interest which he pointed out both on our journey from Warwick to the Isle of Wight and throughout the time he spent as our driver.Nothing was too much trouble for Steve ; he made sure that we were dropped off close to
the entrance of places we went to visit.Also, when some fellow passengers requested a visit to The Vineyard he was happy to comply but on making further inquiries found it to be closed on Sundays.

The Sunday excursion was not included in the package but was offered as an "extra ". Most of us took advantage of this half day tour which was meant to be to RYDE.However being out of season , we found on arrival, that being a Sunday , shops there were also closed.Steve then drove us back across the Island to Newport where we were dropped off for a couple of hours shopping.

Many thanks to all at the hotel who made our stay very enjoyable.But a special mention again to Steve .Being disabled due to Arthritis I was always slow and usually last off the coach .Thankyou Steve, for your patience , understanding and help and as promised we will be back when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEANETTE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review on your recent stay with us we all look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Just back from a weekend here with Shearing's Coach holidays , I cant fault anything from first stepping on the coach , The drivers from the feeder service to the main coach drivers were all amazing guys more so our bus driver Steve ( Hi Steve lol ) :-) who picked us up at Warwick services to continue our journey over and then drive us round and entertain us all for the whole weekend and then take us back again you did a great job ! , Steve is the perfect driver , the perfect gentleman and has the patience of a saint , just getting the coach off the hotel car park alone n staying sane was a challenge , Im glad to say he passed with flying colours and often got a round of applause ! , He patiently drove us all round the island for one and a half days, always giving a running commentary re the history of the island and making sure we were dropped off in the best location and even changing the destination of our trip on the sunday as most of Ryde was shut when we arrived ..so he drove us all over to Newport to spend a few hours there instead . The hotel is great as are all the staff , They checked in a whole coach load of us within just a few minutes, this despite us arriving a little late due to Fridays abysmal weather , we were then directed to our rooms and then to the restaurant for a lovely 3 course meal with tea or coffee , The room was clean and warm as was the whole hotel , The food was good and plentiful and always arrived quickly and was always fresh and hot , the staff were always cheerful and polite my only complaint would be the TV ( C4 only or just a fuzzy screen , I didnt say at the time as i dont really watch TV but i think investing in modern TVs with a few more channels would be much appreciated by those who do )..Overall very well done to Shearings and to their drivers and all the staff at the Broadway park hotel and most of all to Steve you really made the whole holiday a great weekend..and lastly thank you to the passengers on the coach you were all a great bunch which made it so much more enjoyable Thank you all . Will most definitely return one day !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your reveiw, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and may return to us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Just come back from 3 nights at broadway park we usually have a spring break with shearings
on a coach trip but found out this they did not pick up now from our area (big disapointment) so
chose to drive ourselves we had a good trip and found ourselves there midday so had more time to visit a few places.On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by very friendly staff who showed us where to park the car and that our rooms would be ready soon,they were very busy as they had 2 coaches and alot of independant travellers. The rooms were very clean and large with endless supply of tea and coffee, the meals were very good with good choices to please everyone our waiter (Akos) was brilliant so friendly and attentive so well done him!!!. The weather was very cold but at least we didnt get the snow and did alot of sightseeing around
the island.A trip to the garlic farm well worth a visit although it can cost you a fortune! Overall
a very good weekend and a great hotel. Good staff make a good holiday!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodhards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw on your stay with us, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed yourselves, and were looked after so well by all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Just back from what was a great weekend break with shearings everything thing was good hotel was clean and warm staff so very attentive and friendly food good Marta our waitress was a Treasure quick and friendly ,All coach drivers were pleasant and helpful On the IOW STEVE our(BUS DRIVER hi Steve lol) was excellent on our two trips out even coping with trying to manoever on a crowded car park at the hotel he was an informed tour guide we enjoyed the hotel broadway park iow the island was much better than we thought ferry crossing good all on coach were friendly and made new friends ken&dor room 132

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cripsteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and all the staff made you feel so welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,264 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £68 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing