We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerfull”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Lovely setting for this hotel good value for what we paid on a special deal self drive with shearings inclusive of ferry in high season.Room was okay bit on the small side bathroom could of been cleaner especially skirting boards.Lovely grounds not far from Sandown,Shanklin and Ventnor by car Breakfast ok but evening meal disapointing therefore ate out after the first night
All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: would be worth upgrading room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your reveiw I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the excellent value for money that we offer. All of the Shearings hotels offer good value and many are situated in stunning locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    327
    132
    28
    22
See reviews for
85
435
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here a week ago as part of a Shearings coach holiday, the hotel is set in its own beautiful grounds, the hotel itself has been a grand building in its time plenty of character, our room was in the new part of the hotel overlooking a small lawn and a little wood at the side of the hotel, a small set back was a railway runs past the hotel which starts at 6 am maybe it was more noticeable because we slept with the windows open but not unduly disturbing. The beds were comfortable there was plenty of hot water and fresh towels if required, the windows could have done with a good wash and there was dust around the lower ledges but nothing off putting. The meals were good and well cooked with a balanced choice, the restaurant staff although very busy were excellent, however they were let down by the bar staff who were very abrupt to the point of being rude. The entertainment was a bit of a let down the usual bingo and generic singer/ comedian but we did enjoy two of the nights. We were lucky with the weather and along with many others enjoyed a dip in the pool. For those that wish to explore there is the seafront at Sandown with a lovely beach, its about ten minutes walk from the hotel, a bit hilly for those people with mobility problems, finally I must mention our driver Paul who went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable and gave a 110% a credit to shearings, would we stay again yes.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new part of the hotel, our was 429.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlyfarly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
thank you for taking your time to post a review on your stay with us recently I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and would return to us again in the future. The hotel is set in its own grounds which can be enjoyed at this time of year weather permitting !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

after a bad experience at a previous Bay hotel we arrived with trepidatiion wondering what to expect. We were certainly not disappointed this time, the reception staff made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful at all times. The serving staff despite being extremely busy were extremely good and always had time for a chat to make you feel special. The rooms were clean, nothing fancy but for the price paid you don't expect absolute luxury, but the beds were comfy and the bathroom fine. The hotel was set in lovely gardens about 15 minutes walk from the beach. The food was good and had a varied choice each evening, with a dining room that was spacious so you didn't feel you were on top of other guests. There were several small lounges if you didn't want to be in the noisy bar with he entertainment. After Scotland I was pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRanGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and all the staff made you feel welcome. Thank you for your reveiw and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

stayed here recently on a caledonian holiday.while hotel is nice and comfortable,first impressions of the dirty,grey net curtains are very off putting.our room was in main building which gave lots of space but when we opened the windows the dirt and muck was engrained on them.think they need a good team of polish cleaners to sort this out.meals were good,as were the very pleasant staff,especially waitress natalyia,who is constantly smiling.this hotel could be a lot better if for the sake of cleaning it up more.entertainment was okay,but dont miss simon the comedian,he,s brill.

Room Tip: if you like spacious room ask for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bahnjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that your windows were not clean, our maintenance team do try and keep up with the general cleaning of the windows but unfortunately with a building this size this is an ongoing procedure and it looks like yours may have been missed. I was pleased that you enjoyed your meals and Natalia looked after you so well. Simon the entertainer always receives excellent feedback he is a first class act. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We went as part of shearings coach holiday on the 20th of July and found the hotel clean comfortable and the meals good and sarah are waitress was very pleasant and helpful. The grounds of the hotel where beautiful and we sat in are hotel room a couple of nights watching the badgers and fox

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franchesca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday. I shall pass on your comments to all the staff and especially Sarah who looked after you so well. I am glad that the badgers and foxs made an appearance for you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Hull
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We went there early July room 426. First impression, looked ok. However, we then noticed that we could hardly see through the window, so I cleaned it, inside and out. It looks like it was only the flat tops of usable areas were dusted. The rest was encrusted in muck, we did'nt use the drawers, too dirty. This is not just a missed clean, it is YEARS of engrained muck. The drawer fronts (white) looked like they had black edging to the pattern on the front, no...muck. The area where you leave your case was white with dust, god knows when this was last cleaned. The bathroom, well, underneath the toilet rim it was BLACK, the toilet lid would not stay up, the toilet roll holder was wedged in place with a bit of cardboard. The usable "work top" had lifted away from the chipboard. The bath plug was red with rust. The general appearance of the "hotel" was that it could do with a good clean, cobwebs everywhere, filthy door frames and not a clean window anywhere.
The staff are obviously cleaning to the managers requirements, therefore the state of cleanliness is therefore DELIBERATE act to save money. The hotel caters for the elderly end of the market (hence blankets on the bed !), who probably don't like to complain.

I expect cleanliness, and to charge £580 (2) to live in filth is disgusting. This is deliberate, and I believe insulting to people who go on holiday EXPECTING to enjoy themselves. No doubt, the "hotel" will claim this a "one off", or no one else complains.

Disgusted....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happysnapper41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your 4 night break with us at the beginning of July, and that your stay did not come upto your expectations. I have noted your comments and will deal with them accordingly, however it would have been more beneficial if you had mentioned your comments to us directly at the hotel whilst you were staying with us as we may have been able to rectify some of the issues raised at the time to avoid your disappointment during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We went as part of a Shearings coach holiday, arriving on Saturday at 6.15 so more or less straight down for the meal. The room was more than adequate, spotlessly clean and well maintained throughout the stay. The meals were beautifully cooked and plenty of it, the waiter, Colin, couldn't do enough for us. The entertainment was good on the whole, with Ann the dancer and Simon, the comedian/singer being very good. The grounds were phenomenal, set in four acres and beautifully maintained. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable holiday and that Colin looked after you so well in the dining room. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,237 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing