We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit to isle of wight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

no frills hotel but pretty grounds. loved the scenery. rooms basic after i read some reviews i took a pack of flash wipes so if I found the dirt i would of cleaned it. there was none i was please with 430 although basic . we found some hangers missing only the tops left i only reported this ad the lampshade because we wanted to cover ourselves. but the only thing spoilt the room was those awful bars at the windows. looked like a prison.
our first night we were served at dinner by a femail Basil Fawlty " what do want" in a harsh voice greeted us . many other of her covers were treated the same. We were dumbstruck and afraid to ask for different dinner to each other. next morning a lovely old man a dr had a quiet word and she changed her manner. we got the giggles nerves I think every time she came near. but honestly this lady did start to relax with the all of her tables as the week went by. Take your sense of humour along with you.. we all had a joke it helped to get through the week seeing as this was a respite week from our disabled daughter. folks it couldve spoilt our five days do not come with 5 star hotel ideas you will not get them. All other staff were cheerful and happy to help especially reception. I cannot give an opinion on our room attendant he told me "no english" but he left our room spotless the bed and bathroom were always clean , the grounds outside were lovely . and a ten minute walk took us to the pier in Sandown. but as we went out on many coach trips and Derek and Jim were the best. we loved the isle of wight and its people

Room Tip: we did hear the entertainment from our room lol but as it was music we liked we went to sleep with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your reveiw of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that the cleanliness of your room was satisfactory and that it was kept that way all week for you, all of the bedrooms in that block have the safety rails on the windows for health & safety reasons. I was sorry to read that you found one of the staff members in the dining room rather abrupt, but was glad this improved as the week went on. The hotel is situated in lovely peaceful grounds which can be enjoyed at this time of year. The Isle of Wight is a lovely destination to visit with many attractions and events happening throughout the year. We all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

The external appearance of the hotel is of slightly faded grandeur - with the hotel being a Victorian former mansion, some wear and tear is to be expected, but this wasn't reflected in the internal decor. The beautiful mature grounds are well landscaped and very pleasant to walk around. It's difficult to believe that the seafront with its pier and sands are just 15 minutes walk.
We stayed here over a busy Bank Holiday weekend, when staff would have been fully stretched, with many guests attending the International Scooter Rally. They coped beautifully. Arriving just before dinner, we were warmly welcomed at reception, and ushered straight in to our meal, without fuss.

Shown to our table we were attended to by the ever - smiling Natalia, who is the model of what an efficient, friendly waitress should be. We only found out the names of two members of the dining room staff, but both Marcin and Natalia were outstanding and do deserve special praise.
The food was wonderful - good, tempting meal choices with adequate portions and all was beautifully cooked. Portions are adequate, without being wasteful, we never left the table feeling hungry.

Having asked for a room suitable for a person with impaired mobility, we were delighted with the spacious ground floor room (Room 331) which contained an adjustable bed. The bathroom was clean and roomy with well -placed safety bars and crucially a low step-in bath, with a shower that worked well.

Do pack a swimming costume if the weather is at all warm and you are here between May and September. There is a small outdoor swimming pool, clean and pleasant to use. For those who didn't want to sit indoors on warmer evenings, sitting around the spacious pool surrounds was a pleasant , accessible alternative to sitting in the garden at the front of the hotel. This involves negotiating steps without rails so isn't suitable for anyone with mobility problems.
Generally the hotel is far more accessible than many older buildings, staff are alert and aware of needs.

Highly recommended, I'd like to stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DurhamAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us over the very busy Bank Holiday Weekend. I was pleased to read that Natalia & Marcin looked after you so well in the dining room, and that we managed to allocate you suitable accommodation. The hotel is situated in lovely grounds which can be enjoyed at its best when the sun is shining. I shall pass on you praise to all the staff. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for the first time on a three night weekend break. We had a lovely time. Our rooms were really nice. We were in a wing with large windows overlooking the gardens. Everything was very clean. The reception and bar areas were lovely. The food was nicely cooked and plentiful. There was a wide choice on the menu. Our waitress, Agnes, was delightful, efficient and always cheerful. We looked forward to her welcoming us at mealtimes. Our self drive package included the ferry crossing. It was great value for money and we will be back. The Isle of Wight has got loads to do. We visited Shanklin, Ventnor and had a trip on the Steam Railway. The cream tea by the sea at Gurnard Watersedge Beach Cafe was excellent. We were disappointed by the much-billed Chessel Pottery so won't be going there again. Their cream tea wasn't so nice either! Cowes is a nice town to wander around too. During the evening, the entertainment was good. The bingo was a bit lacking as they only played it once, which was disappointing as we only get to play this on these weekends for a laugh. All in all a great value long weekend. Top marks for the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SistersofSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your weekend break with us, I shall pass on your comments to Agnes and to all the staff who looked after you so well. The Self Drive Breaks are excellent value and the Island has so much to explore and visit at this time of year. Thank you for your excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here in August. Great value for money. On 5 day break with Caledonian Tours. Hotel good, surroundings lovely, food good, room clean and roomy. Bathroom a bit dated. Staff always smiling. About 15 minute walk from beach, just a bit hilly, but follow the road and take your time Worth the walk. Would recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for your excellent review, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and will recommend us to others !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Lovely setting for this hotel good value for what we paid on a special deal self drive with shearings inclusive of ferry in high season.Room was okay bit on the small side bathroom could of been cleaner especially skirting boards.Lovely grounds not far from Sandown,Shanklin and Ventnor by car Breakfast ok but evening meal disapointing therefore ate out after the first night
All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: would be worth upgrading room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your reveiw I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the excellent value for money that we offer. All of the Shearings hotels offer good value and many are situated in stunning locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here a week ago as part of a Shearings coach holiday, the hotel is set in its own beautiful grounds, the hotel itself has been a grand building in its time plenty of character, our room was in the new part of the hotel overlooking a small lawn and a little wood at the side of the hotel, a small set back was a railway runs past the hotel which starts at 6 am maybe it was more noticeable because we slept with the windows open but not unduly disturbing. The beds were comfortable there was plenty of hot water and fresh towels if required, the windows could have done with a good wash and there was dust around the lower ledges but nothing off putting. The meals were good and well cooked with a balanced choice, the restaurant staff although very busy were excellent, however they were let down by the bar staff who were very abrupt to the point of being rude. The entertainment was a bit of a let down the usual bingo and generic singer/ comedian but we did enjoy two of the nights. We were lucky with the weather and along with many others enjoyed a dip in the pool. For those that wish to explore there is the seafront at Sandown with a lovely beach, its about ten minutes walk from the hotel, a bit hilly for those people with mobility problems, finally I must mention our driver Paul who went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable and gave a 110% a credit to shearings, would we stay again yes.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new part of the hotel, our was 429.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlyfarly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

thank you for taking your time to post a review on your stay with us recently I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and would return to us again in the future. The hotel is set in its own grounds which can be enjoyed at this time of year weather permitting !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

after a bad experience at a previous Bay hotel we arrived with trepidatiion wondering what to expect. We were certainly not disappointed this time, the reception staff made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful at all times. The serving staff despite being extremely busy were extremely good and always had time for a chat to make you feel special. The rooms were clean, nothing fancy but for the price paid you don't expect absolute luxury, but the beds were comfy and the bathroom fine. The hotel was set in lovely gardens about 15 minutes walk from the beach. The food was good and had a varied choice each evening, with a dining room that was spacious so you didn't feel you were on top of other guests. There were several small lounges if you didn't want to be in the noisy bar with he entertainment. After Scotland I was pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRanGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and all the staff made you feel welcome. Thank you for your reveiw and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £61 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing