We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a most enjoyable stay in July 2013. Hotel room was very comfortable, Good choice at meal times. Staff friendly and helpful, This is our 3rd visit to this hotel, and we hope to return.The only grumble was having to pay £5 per day in the car park.Walking down to the beach was not a problem, but the uphill walk back left us much fitter at the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dupedBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your review on your stay in July with us, I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable holiday. There is a £5.00 a day car-parking charge should you wish to reserve a priority parking space, this can be a benefit when the hotel is fully booked. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

exclent resturant service & waiters top class hotel in poor location not near to beach gardens verry well cared for parking spaces excelent the whole of this hotel needs redecerating &windows in need of reglazing

Room Tip: lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your review,I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is located in its own grounds with a 10-15minute walk to the beach and the town. Some of the areas of the hotel do need to be upgraded which we are aware of and are gradually progressing with the refurbishment programme to combat these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our first trip to the Isle of Wight. We did a self drive. The party consisted of 3 adults 1child age 5 and 1 baby age 4 months. We arrived a little early at the hotel and were not sure if our rooms would be ready, we only had to wait a few minutes for the keys. We had reserved a parking space knowing it would be easier with the children, pushchair, toys!!! etc. We asked for rooms near to each other which we got. Our room looked a little tired and could have done with a lick of paint but our daughters room was lovely. The room was not always cleaned as well as I thought it should have been, mainly the bathroom. The food was superb, the staff in the dining room were absolutely fantastic, our waitress Katie (not her real name as I can't pronounce it) was so thoughtful, where the children were concerned nothing was too much trouble, there is a lovely lady there called Sarah, I do believe she has been working there for a while and really knew her stuff, when our grandson got upset and we took him out, she would ensure that our dinner/breakfast didn't come out until we returned, Our granddaughter was always made a fuss of and re-named princess!!!! Martin was another waiter, although not ours he went out of his way to make our granddaughter feel special. The hotel stands in lovely grounds, it has an outdoor pool and a grass area where you can sit and have a drink. The hotel had lots of information on local events and places of interest around the island. All in all we could not fault the hotel or staff and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueD713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your excellent review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the staff made you feel welcome and looked after all your needs. We all look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

just returned from 5 day break with national hoidays lovely hotel staff pleasant on reception we didn t like our 1 st room no shower just bath and decided to upgrade the 2nd room was lovely nice patio doors leading to grassy area with trees were you could sit and have coffee room was clean serviced every day the food was lovely nice waitress thank you marta for all your hard work the grounds of the hotel are beautiful very well kept the outdoor swimming pool looked inviting but it was too cold to go in so will have to go back in the summer the train station is a very short walk away from this hotel i noticed some people were saying the bus stop was difficult so the train might be a good alternative we used the train and it was 2 quid cheaper than the bus to go to ryde we didn t see any entertainment so can t comment on that but overall nice hotel would definately return

Room Tip: pay the 10 quid a night for an upgrade its well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oswald9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your reveiw, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass on your comments to Marta who looked after you so well in the dining room. The upgraded bedrooms are very well located with patio doors and allows you to sit outside and enjoy the wonderful peace and quite in the surrounding grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

everything about the hotel was perfect,,the food was superb,,excellent value for the money,,all the staff were brilliant ,,the national driver was brilliant ,,sooo helpful ,,BUT my mum uses a wheelchair ,,inside the hotel was quite adequate,,but the location was horrendous,,2 really big hills to climb to get on the grounds and it was virtually impossible to get on to the main bus route ,,i dont usually moan but if it wasnt for the 2 additional trips we would have been stranded,,im sure if they had a bus to take people to the town or next village at a charge it would be frequenly used ,,also it wasnt lit very well at night,,i wouldnt leave the hotel on my own as it was too frightening in the dark,,over all a wonderfull hotel ,,,xxx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane190734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your excellent review on your recent stay with us, I am pleased you and your Mum enjoyed the excellent value for money that we offer. As you state we are located 10-15 minute walk into the main High Street and Seafront of Sandown, and it is up and down hills, however there is a very good taxi service which costs approximately £4.00, which we can arrange at reception if required. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I would like to begin with the staff who were very good and very pleasant.the accommodation we had was very disappointing , carpet dirty and well worn, beds old with springs sticking in your back, and dirty brown pillows with no protectors on either,bathroom was dated and toilet needed some bleaching ,very disappointed .we booked a celebration pack which consisted of a plate of fruit, small box of roses and a bottle of bubbly not even put in ice .the food was pleasant , although evening meal was also rushed,. We did enjoy our four days on the Isle of Wight , but sadly not our hotel. This is a lovely Hotel and well worth having some money spent on refurbishing ,

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I will investigate the issues that you have raised, if you had mentioned some of the points during your stay we may have been able to rectify them for you so that it would have enchanced your break with us. Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed the Isle of Wight and all it has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was booked as a "value for money" last minute break on the Isle of Wight and the hotel did not disappoint. Located in a peaceful location on a hilly walk into Sandown town centre the garden areas are well laid out and pleasant to sit in when the sun shines!

The structure of the hotel and rooms seems to be a bit topsy turvey - with extensions and floors added on as an afterthought. Don't expect to take a lift (elevator for our US cousins!) to the top floor without one change and a fairly lengthy corridor walk. The lifts themselves can just about hold one person with luggage - so at peak times there may be a lengthy wait! The rooms are basic with no frills but comfortable - the plumbing is another story. Our first room (305 - avoid like the plague!) had no hot water and no TV reception! Luckily we only had to endure this for one night before Jamie at reception had us moved to a room where everything worked - but NO Sky TV! Evidently many rooms on the extremities of the hotel have hot water/plumbing problems as the antiquated systems can't cope!

The restaurant was a bit manic with tables allocated for the duration of your stay - unfortunately many people were allocated the same table number! The head waiter spent a lot of time running around trying to sort out some semblance of order to the chaos. The food made up for this with plenty of choice for both breakfast and dinner. The restaurant staff were cheerful and very helpful and mainly Polish - the only surly waiter happened to be English!! Meal times tend to be a bit inflexible with breakfast finishing at 0915 - I was told that this was to allow the Shearings coach day trippers time to get to their coach for a 1000 departure - evening dinner tended to be a bit rushed - but this ensured that there was very little waiting time between courses!

The planned entertainment was, to say the least diabolical. The almost compulsory "Bingo" followed by a comedian or dancer was the regular theme - with Sunday being a "quiet" night where there was no entertainment!

Room Tip: Check your allocated room for running hot water and tv reception before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jockinafrock69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your review on you 3 night stay with us recently. I shall investigate the issues that you have raised, and was glad that we were able to offer you an alternative room which was satisfactory, however unfortunately we do not have Sky TV throughout the hotel. The entertainment is always a very personal choice and can be difficult to please all tastes. The entertainers as with all the staff within the hotel work very hard to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
422 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing