We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax & Regenerate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relax & Regenerate.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is very big, & some areas were very cold, despite there being electric radiators there. Our room was clean but tired looking, in need of decorating & upgrading. Bathroom in need of decoration, & it was very cold in there. Very small & compact.Dining room is very big, & was cold each time we went in there, food was good, staff very pleasant & helpful.
Reception & bar area nice to sit, was quite warm there.
The room where the entertainment took place, you had to make sure you were sitting in place where the columns weren't obstructing your view.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are gradually upgrading some of the bedrooms with our continuous refurbishment programme. I am glad that you enjoyed the meals and all the staff looked after you so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    329
    132
    28
    23
See reviews for
88
438
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed on a short break with Shearings coach holidays and were not disappointed. The room was clean and spacious though we were on ground floor due to request for disabled room. The hotel staff were very kind, friendly and helpful. meals were good and there was plenty to eat, we missed some because we could not cope with the amount of food to eat (small appetite). There was entertainment at night if we wanted to join in and the garden was lovely even at this time of year. Good point was that as a smoker plenty of exit doors and ash trays available outside for anyone to use away from non smokers. We would recommend to anyone and would love to be able to return in the future.

Room Tip: Ground floor is in quiet part of hotel, built on extension part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking time and posting a review on your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed all aspects of your holiday. We all hope that you make a return visit to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURY LANCS
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A lovely hotel in an excellent location in delieghtful surroundings. The food was excellent with a choice and very fast, efficient service.

Room was very confortable and well cleaned on a daily basis with the tea and coffee replenished.

Didn't reserve a car park space, but there was plenty of room even with three coaches in.

Beach and town just a few minutes away but a little hilly for those with walking difficulties.

Excellent bus service within five minutes walk of hotel and train station about ten minutes walk away.

Room Tip: An upper floor room is better location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COLINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, we all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the Broadway Park, travelling by coach with Shearings. It was actually our honeymoon and we were very pleased with the hotel and Sandown. The hotel is full of character with lovely gardens. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. A special mention should go to Agnes our waitress who should be promoted to Head of Catering, she was so efficient and charming, always got things right and worked at lightning speed! Oh, and the food was absolutely delicious too!!

It is an easy walk from the hotel to the bus stop, with a good choice of bus routes around the island. We went to Ryde and Newport. Disappointed not to see any red squirrels, I guess we will have to return again soon.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a little dated, but were clean and comfortable. Excellent value too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPinStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. I shall pass on your praise to the Chef and his team and also Agnes who looked after you so well in the dining room. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a most enjoyable stay in July 2013. Hotel room was very comfortable, Good choice at meal times. Staff friendly and helpful, This is our 3rd visit to this hotel, and we hope to return.The only grumble was having to pay £5 per day in the car park.Walking down to the beach was not a problem, but the uphill walk back left us much fitter at the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dupedBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay in July with us, I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable holiday. There is a £5.00 a day car-parking charge should you wish to reserve a priority parking space, this can be a benefit when the hotel is fully booked. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

exclent resturant service & waiters top class hotel in poor location not near to beach gardens verry well cared for parking spaces excelent the whole of this hotel needs redecerating &windows in need of reglazing

Room Tip: lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review,I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is located in its own grounds with a 10-15minute walk to the beach and the town. Some of the areas of the hotel do need to be upgraded which we are aware of and are gradually progressing with the refurbishment programme to combat these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our first trip to the Isle of Wight. We did a self drive. The party consisted of 3 adults 1child age 5 and 1 baby age 4 months. We arrived a little early at the hotel and were not sure if our rooms would be ready, we only had to wait a few minutes for the keys. We had reserved a parking space knowing it would be easier with the children, pushchair, toys!!! etc. We asked for rooms near to each other which we got. Our room looked a little tired and could have done with a lick of paint but our daughters room was lovely. The room was not always cleaned as well as I thought it should have been, mainly the bathroom. The food was superb, the staff in the dining room were absolutely fantastic, our waitress Katie (not her real name as I can't pronounce it) was so thoughtful, where the children were concerned nothing was too much trouble, there is a lovely lady there called Sarah, I do believe she has been working there for a while and really knew her stuff, when our grandson got upset and we took him out, she would ensure that our dinner/breakfast didn't come out until we returned, Our granddaughter was always made a fuss of and re-named princess!!!! Martin was another waiter, although not ours he went out of his way to make our granddaughter feel special. The hotel stands in lovely grounds, it has an outdoor pool and a grass area where you can sit and have a drink. The hotel had lots of information on local events and places of interest around the island. All in all we could not fault the hotel or staff and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueD713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the staff made you feel welcome and looked after all your needs. We all look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing