We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have just returned from a five day break to this hotel with Shearings. The hotel is well managed, staff are very friendly and most efficient, excellent choice of food at meal times and waitress was really very good.
All the requests we made at time of booking were made available to us, and our room was spacious and comfortable. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel it is in a lovely location, with nice grounds next to a park, there are Red Squirrels there but we were not fortunate enough to spot any, next time perhaps.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for posting an excellent review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed all the aspects of your break, we all look forward to your return visit. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    325
    131
    26
    21
See reviews for
83
430
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A terrific break with ferry costs included. The rooms were nicely decorated and spacious. The entertainment was reasonable, parking very adequate.
Meals were served very promptly, and the food was hot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rupert529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review we all look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have just had 3 nights at this hotel on a shearings coach holiday . Our room 208 was clean and warm but dated ,we had a double bed and a single ,so the room was larger than some of the others !! The walls are thin and you can hear T.Vs and snoring, also to close the doors you have to really pull them ,and they tend to bang shut !! Some parts of the hotel are COLD ! so take a cardi! The food was good and varied ,and a special mention to our waitress ,Agnes from Poland, she worked hard and efficiently and was so pleasant and helpful ,she made meal times a pleasure always a cheery smile on her face !!!!! Friday nights entertainment was the best Simon Howard was amazing and had the room in stitches!!! Good food ,Good company all made this break a good one , but I don't think we will return to the Isle of Wight !! the journey there took 9 hours and our return journey 11 hours 40 min , a lorry overturned on the M40 and in 3hrs 30 mins we went just 10 miles, it had happened in the early hours and been on the 7 o,clock news , but for some reason we still went that way !!!!

Room Tip: The new block may be more modern .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunqueenNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
thank you for your review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I shall pass on your praise to Agnes who looked after you so well in the dining room. It is a shame that you had such a long journey home after your stay on the Island, we do offer a Self Drive Break which is equally excellent value for money which may be worth considering for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

spent weekend break at the broadway hotel at a bargain price,once a Victorian mansion set in four acres of ground,a short walk to the sea front
of approx. 15minutes.the spacious sitting room and tv room has been refurbished and the walls have the original Victorian wood panellingthe ballroom has also had a refurbishment and very spacious,the food was excellent and the staff very friendly,entertainment was first class with simon howard singer and comedian I had tears in my eyes through laughing at him,the second night we had showtime with dancing girls who were superb,on the Saturday we had a gala dinner night with free
drinks,
the rooms were clean but need a fresh coat of paint in places .
will certainly go again as the weekend was a bargain and a good laugh

Room Tip: if you want a spacious room go for the twin beds the rooms are larger than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fred c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your weekend break with us and will hopefully return in the future. We do offer excellent value for money. Thank you for posting such a positive review look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

On a Shearings holiday with a group of walking friends. The rooms were by far the best we have experienced, clean modern and roomy! The hotel staff were without exception friendly courteous and attentive. The meals were very good and portion size was excellent. Exceptional value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dobby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review, I was pleased to read that all the staff looked after you so well and that you enjoyed all your meals. We offer excellent value for money, as do all the Shearings Bay Hotels. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a Shearings coach holiday. Staff were helpful, friendly and efficient, and my single room was clean,comfortable and spacious. The dining room was big and cold but the waiting staff were very efficient and the food was good and plentiful. The entertainment on Saturday night was nice. It was only a short walk to the high street and sea front. Good value for money and I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondie2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to post a review on your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and all the staff looked after you so well. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nice hotel, relaxing break but why oh why do British employers insist on employing Eastern European barstaff, don't get me wrong they are effiecient and everything but there was one in particular with mousey blond hair and a pony tail who was very abrupt, the others were ok but there's no rapport with the customers.
Entertainment very good, especially the dance troupe on Saturday night.
All in all good value, just sort the bar staff out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robbo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the good value breaks that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing