We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek breaks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Midweek breaks”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Broadway park Sandown is well situated and although a little tired in some areas the staff do a splendid job providing excellent service and really good food. The entertainment is good and it is worth paying for an upgraded room.

Room Tip: Go for upgraded room on low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRED L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    329
    132
    28
    23
See reviews for
88
438
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kensal Rise, London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I (sound like The Queen) have just come back from a 5 day break at this hotel, starting in London at Victoria on February 24th.
The hotel was superb in every way with great appearance on arrival of a cared for property (the gardens were beautiful, even in Winter). The hotel was cosy and our room 130 was good overlooking the back lawn; it had everything we needed which was spotless linen (glad to have duvets), heaters which were easy to adjust, a comfortable bed and nice double glazing. The TV was a bit ancient, but suited us fine; it would have been nice to have “Freeview” to give us red button texts on the screen but of course not a problem really. The bathroom was a bit “tired” – sort of 70’s era – but had all we needed; excellent hot water always there but we were not over keen on the shower curtain instead of a screen.
The corridors were bright and airy and decorated well. The dining room was good too with a nice appearance and food just superb with many choices at all 3 courses (I liked every choice, of every course, every night-but didn’t have it of course!) Our waitress, Maggie, was top class in fact all the staff looked happy as if they enjoyed doing their jobs and being in the hotel.
The “4 a day” drinks offer was much appreciated and there was a great range available. We stayed in for the evening entertainment every night and it was really good on the first 3 nights, especially “The Reflections” (Karen and Steve) who we could have listened to all night and the only word to describe them was “excellent”. Not quite sure what happened on the last night as the standard was very poor with the gentleman not seeming to get his act together at all. He sang a couple of songs here and there (quite a nice voice) but seemed so disorganised with him disappearing on and off several times as if he was looking for something. A comedian (announced as being from Lancashire) was just not funny and quite dirty and offensive – not that I am a miserable old xxxx but just not suitable for a coach load of mostly “old dears” like us. (even if I was 20, I would not have liked him).
The outings were good and varied especially the (extra) 3 hours trip around The Solent and Portsmouth. Our driver, Gary, was top class being a very good driver and just giving us the right amount of information, where and when needed. He was reliable and organised.
The whole hotel is a great reflection of the management and staff team at The Broadway Park Hotel. The logistics of running this place must be an enormous task but everything is superb. Having Wi-fi in the lounge areas was much appreciated to keep in touch with family. The lovely weather was a great bonus as the sun shone most of the week.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to post a review of your stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and shall pass on your comments to all the staff that made you feel so welcome. The hotel is situated in its own peaceful grounds, our gardener works tirelessly to keep it tidy for everyone to enjoy and relax. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We went 24th Feb for 5 days , met with friends who decided to book when they knew we were going.(Their first time with shearing's) Had a really good time, cant speak highly enough of the staff, every single one of them was so friendly. Katrina our waitress was smiling all the time and served us very quickly .Our room was 236, plenty of hot water, room very pleasant overlooked a part of the garden. the train never bothered us as it was quiet.
The entertainment was just first class for the first 3 nights. Joe Scott was amazing and had us on our feet with a standing ovation we didn't leave the ballroom until 11.30 he was that good. The last night was dire the comedian has no place at the bay hotel he brought the whole tone down, not nice at all. We came out and sat in the lounge. there are loads to see & lots to do even in winter, we like walking so only did half day tour . the free drinks 4 each just put the top hat on it all our friends were impressed. mattresses could do with replacing but didn't stop me sleeping. Danny the coach driver was a star mustn't forget him lovely guy. Thanks Danny.

Room Tip: We had 236 we were more than satisfied there was plenty of hot water you can use the lift as you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojoLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay with us. I shall pass on your praise to all the staff mentioned. The Island has a lot to offer even out of season. We all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We went for a four night, five day stay at the Broadway Park Hotel, as a Shearing's short break coach holiday..
The food was excellent with ample choice to pick from and restaurant staff very good and willing to please. We had 2 young children with us who were well catered for.
The rooms were of a very good standard and contained everything you need.
Our holiday included 4 drinks per day which is better than when it used to have to be taken in the evening. Entertainment was ok.
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel and would be happy to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We requested 1st floor rooms on both our stays, and would do so again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tempo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your second visit to us and that you would recommend us to others. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

just got back from a 3 day stay at this hotel.
Very enjoyable.
The accommodation was very good and rooms are nice and warm all day.

I don't comment about the food because its basically the same at all Shearings, well cooked, good variety especially if you are a vegetarian.

Entertainment exceptionally good especially Alan and Sue who were on the last night.
Pity the weather was so bad, however this hotel has a superb lounge if you just want to laze around or a nice garden to explore for more active residents .
Bet its great in the summer.

The reception and dining area staff were also very helpful.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: if you have walking difficulties choose a ground floor room as even though they have a lift there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay despite the terrible weather ! We look forward to seeing you in the future in the summer months when you can sit in the peaceful gardens and relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

For some years now, we have traveled around the UK and noticed Shearings Coaches disgorging holiday makers, by the ton, in to hotels seemingly owned by the coach company. Quite frankly we were put off by the sheer numbers. A friend of ours went with his wife on his first Shearings holiday and was quite impressed. We decided, with another couple to give it a try - only to eventually find out that our first friend was booked on the same holiday to The Broadway Park Hotel in Sandown on the Isle of Weight! We have only just returned this Friday the 14th February (St. Valentine's).
Admittedly we were attracted by the price of £149.00 pp for a 5 day half-board holiday. The hotel was extremely well looked after. Very clean and, although an old hotel, is was extremely well decorated. Absolutely loads to choose from at breakfast (I always had the full Monty English breakfast)! The evening meal was very adequate - with loads of vegetables in separate trays (as it should be). There were 3 or 4 choices of main courses every night (my favorite was liver & bacon with all the trimmings). To top it all we had entertainment every night and each one of us had vouchers for free 4 drinks every night, Transport from and to our home town (inc ferry crossing) and free day trips out around the island. There was never too much trouble for the staff. The rooms were very cosy and, again, well decorated (not like some hotels where signs of scruffiness abound). I had thought about taking my own pillow as hotel pillows tend to be too soft and sink down in to nothingness - but the hotel pillows (yes you had a choice) were just the right firmness for a good nights sleep! The best bit was not having to buy a round of drinks for 8 people as we all had our own vouchers. If my wife wanted to forgo one of her drinks I obliged and drank it for her (clever me)! Hardly spent a penny - all very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of your recent 4 night break with us. We do offer good value for money breaks especially at this time of year when the drinks vouchers are included. I shall pass on your positive comments to all the staff and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Hotel is in splendid grounds would love to go back in the summer. Room nice and spacious. Food delicious, staff friendly. Entertainment could be better but overall a lovely place to stay although very hilly to get to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sassysan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your weekend break with us. We are located in our own grounds which are stunning in the summer. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
426 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing