We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“An honest review”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the Broadway Park Hotel from 10th - 14th of March after booking a late deal with Shearings Coach Holidays.

When we arrived at this hotel we were impressed with the main building and 4 acres of gardens. Our check-in was speedy and because we wanted to walk into Sandown town and buy some water rather than spend £2 on a small bottle of water at the hotel, we found our own cases and took them to our room, which was at the very end of the 2nd floor in the main building.

It was a short walk into town, where there are 2 supermarkets, the Co-op and Sainsbury’s. The walk back to the hotel was uphill, but we didn’t find it difficult.

The room

We didn’t bother to upgrade our room and found it to be just as we expected after reading previous reviews. It was a reasonable size, tired, but functional and clean and we had very hot water throughout our stay. However, we found that the rooms weren’t adequately sound-proofed as we could hear our immediate neighbours in their rooms. Fortunately, this wasn’t a problem for us as we didn’t spend much time in our room.

The food

We were allocated a table on arrival and this was our table for the full duration of our holiday. The meals are waiter service (a special mention for our waiter Marcin who worked tirelessly), except for breakfast cereals, which you helped yourself to from a central table. Fresh fruit on the breakfast menu was a small bowl of prepared grapefruit and scrambled egg on toast tasted very odd and not as if fresh eggs had been used. However, the kippers and full English breakfast were exceptionally good. Dinner was basic but acceptable, but loved the starters and desserts.

At check-in, we were given a card each that allowed 4 free drinks a day, which included pints of draught beer, wine, soft drinks and spirits. Service at the bar was speedy.

The lounges were spacious with plenty of comfortable seats, free daily papers and The Cloud free Wi-Fi. The evening entertainment in the ballroom was excellent especially the comedy vocalist Simon Howard on Tuesday night. We never went to bed before 12 because the entertainment was so good.

The hotel is close to the local bus stops and we used our free bus passes to travel around the island. We caught the number 8 bus at the bus stop opposite the Rock Shop down the hill from the hotel, to Newport which was the hub bus station where you could catch a bus to most other parts of the Isle of Wight including bus number 7 to Alum Bay for the Needles.

Overall, we found the hotel good value for the money we paid. The plus points easily outnumber the negatives, especially if you can get a late deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank domidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and all the staff looked after you so well. We do offer excellent value for money. We all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    322
    124
    25
    19
See reviews for
80
417
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. For £89 bed, breakfast and evening meal, it can't be faulted. The room was a little dated but more than adequate, there was plenty of hot water, fresh towels every day if required and tea, milk and coffee were supplied in the room. The food was excellent as was the service which was quick and efficient.

The hotel is set in a beautiful garden.

The hotel also supplied at a small cost packed lunches if required

This is my 3rd visit to a Shearings hotel and they certainly know how to give good value

Room Tip: I was on the fourth floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186402Tallulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break with shearings. Cannot fault this hotel, one of shearings " better ones". Food excellent with plenty of choices. Rooms very spacious and clean. Staff excellent, very helpful, special mention for our waiter on table 16. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma90_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read you had a good stay with us and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just had 4 nights break here with a friend. Although the rooms were old and in need of updating, what I can say is that the rooms and bedding were clean with towels changed daily. Tea and coffee was provided daily, and as far as food was concerned, no one went hungry, and there was always something on the menu for everyone. For the money paid this hotel was excellent value.
Overall, well worth a trip to the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
thank you for posting a review on your stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the excellent value for money that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal cumbria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 day trip with Shearings, it was our 5th time as as before we really enjoyed it. The hotel is set in lovely gardens which even at this time of year were nice to see.We were in room 104 which was fine, although there were steps to the bathroom, this was not a problem for us but might be for anyone with mobility problems. The bed was comfy and had lovely pillows, bedding and towels spotless. If you look closely, yes the rooms could do with a bit of TLC, but they are clean. The meals are very good especially breakfast, good quality bacon, I enjoyed the liver and bacon , a real treat ( don't have at home, hubby doesn't like it ) and the waffle ice cream and blackcurrants was delicious. Compliments to the chef.
The drinks vouchers are a real bonus, we had 3 alcoholic drinks and a cappuccino before bed.
Enjoyed the Walzing waters, and Godshill was a nice place to visit.Ryde was bigger then expected, plenty of shops and nice cafes down at the pier.
The entertainment was the best we have seen on any tour we have done, especially the comedian who was on Tues night.
Usually I have nothing but praise for the Shearings drivers but this time we were very disappointed in our driver Stuart. We had no information from him at all, in fact the full day outing was done in silence, other then informing us of times to be back at the coach, We have always found the drivers to be very informative, but we went to the Isle of Wight knowing nothing and came back he same. To be fair to Stuart I understood it wasn't his normal tour, but do think he should have tried to find out a bit about the island to pass on.
This has not put us off booking again , and we are already talking abiut which to book next. Well done Shearings.
Forgot to mention our waitress, dont know her name table 59. She was an absolute joy to see in a morning, always cheerful and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nannymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and will be booking another Shearings holiday in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The problem with Tripavisor is a few can speak for all even if their views are not shared by all.
Most people who have enjoyed their holiday can't be bothered to make a comment.
You can have a room of 200 people plus with 75% enjoying the comedy and a few old fuddy duddies who don't like it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 277Clarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We provide varied entertainment throughout the week which is included in the good value breaks that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

First time with Shearings,3rd - 7th March what an excellent impression the Broadway Park made to us, (2 couples), nice location, 5 minutes walk from station, 10 minutes to beach. very clean rooms with tea/coffee, plenty of hot water for shower in afternoon but couldn`t get any in morning before breakfast, i don`t mind a cool wash though lol. enormous breakfast with plenty of choice,likewise dinner, loved the liver & bacon & the cod was succulent, i couldn`t belive the size of the Belgian waffle topped with ice cream & blackcurrants, and allways served by who we considered the star of the hotel, our table waitress Marta, what an incredible worker! nothing was to much for her and always smiling, (remember the kippers & full english) lol. 4 free top brand drinks every evening was marvelous. Entertainment on monday, tuesday & wednesday i loved, all varied. The 2 inclusive bus trips were worth going on, the waltzing waters were so relaxing that i did unfortunatly nod off a couple of minutes lol. The only poor thing was the packed lunch for the return journey home at £4.95, 2 nearly stale slices of bread,a bag of crisps that tasted oily, a small apple, small carton of juice and 3 tiny jammy dodgers, far better fayre at motorway services for that price! overall well done to Shearings and Broadway Park.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of your stay with us. I was delighted to read you all enjoyed your visit and that Marta looked after you all so well in the dining room. We do offer excellent value for money and friendly service as do all the Bay Hotels. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Property: Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Broadway Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Broadway Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing